We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel el Moro

Hotel website
Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel el Moro
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable room with everything we needed. We got a suite with a kitchen and cooked a few meals easily. It was cleaned spotless each day and the staff were wonderful. Grounds were terrific - with garden sitting area, pool and rooftop. It is one block from a great public beach and they have a beach club. There is an american... More 

Helpful?
Thank kindkitchen
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear kindkitchen: Thanks for your review and time to write it. We are happy when our guests find our service up to their expectations. We wait for your next visit when we hope that you can also take advantage of our transportation and tour services to plan and enjoy your vacation in the Riviera Maya. Again, thanks for your time... More 

Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Interesting little hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Morelos, close to the town square, the beachfront, and many, many, many restaurants, including the excellent one in the hotel itself. Our room was more like a suite, large, with a living/kitchen area, and a separate large bedroom. There was a full sized refrigerator, a tiny little stove, sink, plates, etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank darylqu
Karben, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Our flight was delayed. Therefore, we arrived at the hotel at around 5 o’clock in the morning instead of at around 9:30 pm. Even though we had written an email prior to our arrival informing the hotel that we were going to come in late, we found ourselves in front of locked doors. The reception was closed despite the fact... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Felix F
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Felix F: We feel very sorry for your waiting for service and our miscommunication with you and your travel agent. After a long journey, we all look forward to a warm shower and bed to rest. Again, I apologize for this miscommunication. I sincerely hope that you had a better experience with our service during the rest of your... More 

Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

This hotel is small gem in the heart of the town. Staff is very friendly, most of them speak good English. Rooms are big and clean. Ours was on the second floor with a king bed, an AC, fridge, sofa, and a roomy cloths closet . Property has a small pool but the hotel is only a block from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anne_valta
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear anne_valta: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your visit and time to write your review of our services. We are glad when our guest find our rooms comfortable, clean and appropriate to have a good vacation. I am sorry that ceiling and floor fans were not on when you had breakfast. Because we live in an... More 

Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Great front desk guy, Allen. From there down hill. Had Master Suite because everything else was booked. Small, cramped and the smell of Raid bug spray and mustiness was awful. Did not feel comfortable and felt toxic. Very little sleep due to smell. Great location. Not for us.

Helpful?
Thank nevera
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear nevera: First an apology for your bad experience which should have not happened. We recently installed a high pressure water system so we equalized hot and cold water pressure specially in the suites. Problem solved, but all of a sudden we had a water leak which affected the upper suites. We had instructed not to rent such suite until... More 

Newbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

We found this hotel by chance when we were unhappy with the B&B we had actually booked. They offered us a room for 3 nights at what we considered to be a very reasonable price. Our room was well sized and equipped. We found the sofa particularly comfortable. Staff were very friendly, and we really fell for the baby Freda!... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuperDad1
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Superdad1: We all at Hotel El Moro thank you for both your staying with us and your time to write this review. We are glad that by chance you find us and have a nice end for your vacation. Indeed Puerto Morelos is a great place to have a relaxing time surrounded by nature and friendly people. We hope... More 

jac8724
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We made a reservation over the phone to stay at this hotel this past Saturday. We arrived around 9pm that night to find out our reservation was never put into the computer and our room was given to someone else. This was bad news considering many hotels in our budget were booked that night. The chauffeur was nice enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jac8724
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear jac8724: First, I am sorry and embarrassed that we lost your reservation, and second thanks for returning to us after that bad experience. We just updated our web page and added new functions such as reservation and payment on line. We are getting used to new procedures and we are training our staff to handle it properly. This is... More 

Vista
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights awesome place it has a home feel close to everything our room service lady ( Juanita ) was the best food was good everybody at the hotel very friendly snorkeling everyday our guide was Noel took us to the best spots

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear James G: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your preference and staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed not only our hospitality but also the nature beauties that surrounds Puerto Morelos. A swim in the ocean water around the reef and fresh water in the cenotes is really a pleasure. We thank you for... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We have stayed here many times. The attractiveness of the property, the cleanliness of the rooms, accommodating staff, always make for an enjoyable visit. We were there in May of 2015. They have added a restaurant that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. This makes it even more convenient. AND the food is great. Previously they only served breakfast. We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lilcookie
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Lilcookie: First, many thanks for your repeated visit to Hotel El Moro. Our dear customers that year after year visit us motivate us to continue and improve the quality service that they are used to with us. In our restaurant Dona Lilia and Dona Socorro, our cooks, prepare all dishes form scratch and the best local ingredients and with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

My wife and I stayed five nights in September in a room called a single deluxe and we paid £264 through the online travel agency Travel Republic. We requested a top floor room facing the back rather than the street - which we got. Although the street wasn't noisy, as some have reported. Check-in was smooth, although the front desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MattBayleaf
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear MattBayleaf: Thanks for your staying with us at Hotel El Moro! We are happy to know that we met your expectations and had a nice time with us.I like your appreciation of our" mural on the floor". We decided to have a simple and different approach in our rooms with this kind of decoration. We think that they go... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#24 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#3 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 stars 9,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay