We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Colchester

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Colchester
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night, the room was a good size and clean, there was a double bed, a couch, desk and table and en-suite bathroom with a shower over the bath. The room had air con which worked fine and we were able to keep the room at a good temperature. When we checked in we could hear noise from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy E
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We stayed with friends for a New Year's Eve function and my review is split between the hotel and the function. Hotel- Basically as I would expect from a large chain. The rooms had recently been refurbished and were fine. The bed was very comfortable. On New Year's Day morning my wife said that the general Ladies toilets had clearly... More 

Helpful?
Thank colchesterblue
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Booked back in october for 4 night stay over Christmas break for my elderly parents. Checking in really easy - unfortunately my mum had recently prolapsed discs in her back but the hotel had no lift so she had to negotiate stairs which at least weren't too steep. Room was clean as was bathroom. All good and extra pillows brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shags64tracey
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

This place is what it is. A hotel that is tired serves pub grub The staff try hard but most of them are obviously not trained. Room was a family one and was ok although the double bed was so small it was ludicrous We stayed for two nights and for some reason it was booked by the hotel as... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonbecker
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear jonbecker, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next... More 

Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We were in room 232 opposite cleaning room. The checking in was simple and quick,that's where in ends, on arrival to the room dirty plates glasses and bottles left out side door,on our way out that eveing told reception,they said it would be moved,got back some hours later still there,made a call was told it would be removed. We checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank 484adventures
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear 484adventures, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like you were disappointed by the room cleanliness, poor housekeeping and noise disturbance. Please accept my sincere apologies... More 

London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Booked this hotel using IHG points to stay after meeting friends for lunch nearby. Parking was easy,and the room(124) was comfortable as expected but close to the A12 and the railway and thus rather noisy.Double or secondary glazing is needed. Information about the hotel e.g restaurant and bar hours and menus was lacking in the room,and no laundry bag was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonChrisP
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We were staying in this hotel during the Halloween break mainly visiting to Colchester Zoo. It wasn't a nice experience at all. We booked a family room (2 adults & 2 kids) and when we enter to the room we felt like its not properly cleaned. Bathroom was very poor and kids refused to use it. Hotel desperately need some... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue J
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear sue J, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure and comfortable environment. However, we regret if we... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Overall the hotel was very nice. The reception and communal areas are clean, look nice and the staff are really friendly. Spa- clean, good size pool (nice temperature) and access to steam room/ sauna/ jacuzzi. Overall we were really happy with the spa facilities and it was really relaxing. No complaints here. Room- we stayed in room 239, which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray B
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Ray B, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that your overall stay was very nice. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the level of noise during your visit and for falling short of... More 

Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

We had great expectations - we were looking for a venue that could provide food, dancing and round tables and the holiday inn offered it all! on arrival there was a glass of prosecco for each guest and the tables had been dressed beautifully to capture the Christmas spirit - and I congratulate who ever was responsible for this. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alison N
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Alison N, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the food selection and customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

My hotel experience was lovely. This has since been ruined since my return home when I found that the hotel had taken £50 from my account, without explaining this to me or letting me know beforehand. My hotel reservation was prepaid and to find such an amount taken without my knowledge came as a shock. When I phoned to ask... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
Gemma E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca S Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that communication was not clear on check in and this will be addressed internally with our team. All guests wishing to charge incidentals and settling their own incidentals are asked if they wish to have their card pre authorised. A pre-authorisation is a temporary hold of a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay