We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Machangulo Beach Lodge

4.0 of 5 Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria/Inhaca Region, Machangulo, Mozambique
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Machangulo Beach Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Machangulo Beach Lodge
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Edenvale, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW

What a beautiful lodge with wonderful management and service.We stayed in one of the villas for five great nights.We had our own personal waiter(who made sure we never had an empty glass) and a personal chef(who cooked the scrumptious fish we caught and served us fresh fish and chips and salad whenever we wanted it.)We all drank and ate too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Once we got onto the transfer boat to Machangulo it was relaxation all the way, we experienced the most beautiful sunset on the speed boat. Once we arrived at the lodge staff was amazingly welcoming and helpful to offload our luggage and assist to get us settled into our room. The rooms where lovely and the view from our deck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous location.....only viable travel from maputo is helicopter ......1400 dollars!!...or speedboat...300 dollars return...so we opted for this ...try and get a morning transfer as the sea crossing is usually calm...its a one and half hour crossing!!.......views from the lodges are great...AS LONG AS YOU ARE STANDING UP,!......there are 83 steps from the beach to the accommodation lodges so make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Casavaledelrei, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am sorry that you feel that the bush was overgrown in some areas. The natural dune forests that surround the lodge are extremely healthy and at their fastest growing phase during these summer months. We have also been extremely busy, which does not give us much time to... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me, my wife and 2 children stayed at Machangulo Lodge between 31st January and 3rd of February. Great place to go to the beach, but very disappointing regarding the installations: 1 st night at Machangulo we found rats in our son`s bedroom, hence all 4 of us had to sleep in a 1 bed. Fortunately, the next day the Manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lstock, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am glad that you feel Machangulo Beach Lodge is a great lodge and that you enjoyed your stay, it is unfortunate that nature interfered with your weekend away. As I mentioned in the email you sent, the mouse in the room is certainly not a common problem and... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place itself and the staff make this a place a secret you want to keep to yourself. I hope the owners pay them well because they create memories for life and they take care of you from the minute you come until you leave with the boat. Don't forget to ask for the lovely chefs chocolate :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CNafrica, Owner at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anders, Thank you so much! You were such a guest and our staff miss you dearly! We really appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon! Kindest Regards, Christiaan More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

6 fantastic days in a really nice house. the place is perfect to enjoy yourself. nice rooms, nice places for bar, lounge and meals. excellent wines, food very good, sometimes a litte cold. beach perfect, but towels should be renewed and some more sun lounges required. nice trips für snorkeling and fishing. we could eat for dinner then our own... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I discovered what royalty live like. The resort is amazing in all aspects. From arrival to departure we were pampered by ALL the staff. The lodges are spacious and clean and very private from each other. Food was excellent. We will visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am so glad to hear that our staff were one of the highlights of your stay. We certainly cherish them, we are lucky to have each and every one of them. I will pass on your kind words to the team, Thanks again, Christiaan More 

Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The location is stunning and in good weather can be a lot of fun, although we felt more activities could be offered. The main hosts and staff with which we had most contact were nice. The food was generally disappointing, sadly. Breakfast was very poor, lunch modest and dinner varied from ok to good, but there were few meals that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We visited Machangulo Beach Lodge for a week on our honeymoon. It was the ideal place to spend it. We flew in to Maputo from Johannesburg (which is an easy 50 minute flight) and were greeted at the airport by a driver, who took us straight to the dock. We hopped on a speedboat and an hour and 20 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tania, Thank you for your kind words in your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. We certainly appreciate your kind words and I want to thank you again for staying with us. Regards, Christiaan More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Truly awesome place to stay. We were there for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. The staff were fabulous, family villa was perfect for our family of 5, breakfast and dinner plentiful however lunch could be better. Would go back tomorrow. Lots for the children to do and the staff made us feel as if we were very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Machangulo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machangulo Beach Lodge

Address: Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria/Inhaca Region, Machangulo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Machangulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Machangulo Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Machangulo Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay