We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Machangulo Beach Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria/Inhaca Region, Machangulo, Mozambique
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Machangulo Beach Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Machangulo Beach Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I spent a week at Machangulo with my son, we did a PADI Open Water dive course with them. The beaches were stunning, the PADI course was excelllent, as was the diving. The staff were very friendly, the accommodation and food were of a very high standard and there were lots of activities including fishing, snorkelling, kayaking and more and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We are here for our honeymoon and it has been fantastic! Greg, Racquel, Conrad and all the staff have been so friendly and helpful from the start. All are incredibly knowledgeable about the local area, tides, fishing, birdlife etc. They genuinely want their visitors to enjoy their time here. We are in room 4 which is amazeballs. The room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My husband and I spent our 10 year aniversary at Machangulo lodge, it was so amazing with the best views of the sea . We had such a lovely time enjoying the activities like fishing , hiking and relaxing with spa treatments. The food was very tastefull and well presented . Rooms was lovely !! Thanks to all the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edenvale, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

What a beautiful lodge with wonderful management and service.We stayed in one of the villas for five great nights.We had our own personal waiter(who made sure we never had an empty glass) and a personal chef(who cooked the scrumptious fish we caught and served us fresh fish and chips and salad whenever we wanted it.)We all drank and ate too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Once we got onto the transfer boat to Machangulo it was relaxation all the way, we experienced the most beautiful sunset on the speed boat. Once we arrived at the lodge staff was amazingly welcoming and helpful to offload our luggage and assist to get us settled into our room. The rooms where lovely and the view from our deck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Fabulous location.....only viable travel from maputo is helicopter ......1400 dollars!!...or speedboat...300 dollars return...so we opted for this ...try and get a morning transfer as the sea crossing is usually calm...its a one and half hour crossing!!.......views from the lodges are great...AS LONG AS YOU ARE STANDING UP,!......there are 83 steps from the beach to the accommodation lodges so make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Casavaledelrei, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am sorry that you feel that the bush was overgrown in some areas. The natural dune forests that surround the lodge are extremely healthy and at their fastest growing phase during these summer months. We have also been extremely busy, which does not give us much time to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Me, my wife and 2 children stayed at Machangulo Lodge between 31st January and 3rd of February. Great place to go to the beach, but very disappointing regarding the installations: 1 st night at Machangulo we found rats in our son`s bedroom, hence all 4 of us had to sleep in a 1 bed. Fortunately, the next day the Manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lstock, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am glad that you feel Machangulo Beach Lodge is a great lodge and that you enjoyed your stay, it is unfortunate that nature interfered with your weekend away. As I mentioned in the email you sent, the mouse in the room is certainly not a common problem and... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

The place itself and the staff make this a place a secret you want to keep to yourself. I hope the owners pay them well because they create memories for life and they take care of you from the minute you come until you leave with the boat. Don't forget to ask for the lovely chefs chocolate :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CNafrica, Owner at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anders, Thank you so much! You were such a guest and our staff miss you dearly! We really appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon! Kindest Regards, Christiaan More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

6 fantastic days in a really nice house. the place is perfect to enjoy yourself. nice rooms, nice places for bar, lounge and meals. excellent wines, food very good, sometimes a litte cold. beach perfect, but towels should be renewed and some more sun lounges required. nice trips für snorkeling and fishing. we could eat for dinner then our own... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My wife and I discovered what royalty live like. The resort is amazing in all aspects. From arrival to departure we were pampered by ALL the staff. The lodges are spacious and clean and very private from each other. Food was excellent. We will visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CNafrica, Manager at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thank you for your review of Machangulo Beach Lodge. I am so glad to hear that our staff were one of the highlights of your stay. We certainly cherish them, we are lucky to have each and every one of them. I will pass on your kind words to the team, Thanks again, Christiaan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay