We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Waterrow B&Bs / inns

The Rock Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Waterrow TA4 2AX , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Rock Inn to your Saves list
The Rock Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
88%
Ranked #1 of 2 Waterrow B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Andy P Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
38
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sometimes you do indeed find a gem....One thats truly rare. Brave menu excellent hosting and lovely locals in particular the french onion soup The landlord is larger than life and more talented than Hollywood. Sue is 5ft of nonsense and fun Ill be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed recently for one night on business and arrived earlier than expected and even though the pub was closed I was allowed to check in. The room was perfect and immaculately clean and obviously recently decorated. The bathroom was lovely with a rain shower and quality toiletries. The meal was fantastic with a changing menu on a blackboard with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb food, good atmosphere. The French onion soup was unbelievable. Honestly the best soup I've ever eaten. Our only complaint was the portion sizes. We had no room for a pudding, not even one to share!. On the table next to us the sticky toffee pud looked delicious and the chocolate mousse was a feat of modern architecture. Next time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined at The Rock the week before last - 4 adults and 2 children - The fish I had was without doubt the best ever - can't wait for another helping next time I'm down there. Now to the desert - as a self confessed ice-cream freak the home made vanilla was simply the nicest I have ever tasted.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a meal here, 6 adults and 1 child. Before booking the table we informed them 2 of our party are coeliacs and were told it was not a problem. Upon arrival the atmosphere was cosy and we were shown nice and quickly to our table. The owner confirmed who was coeliac one of the adults and our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth B, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

At the time of booking, it would have been helpful if the person booking the table had mentioned that one of the coeliac's was a child and would want to eat off the childs' menu - as whilst most of our dishes are gluten free, the childs' menu is often coated in breadcrumbs. One of our regular customers is a... More

Plymouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very mixed experience here. Found everything absolutely fantastic apart from the owners who were EXTREMELY rude and unpleasant. The staff were the opposite - very friendly, polite and helpful. The locals were great. The food was gorgeous. The bed very comfortable. The room we were in was lovely although some of the rooms are very cramped (we were shown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ruth B, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

In reply to your posting, as always happens you are selective on the reasons for your complaint, which arose due to your room having a water pump. It is an old building, and it is a foible with this room. Your husband was running the water for such an extensive period of time (staff reported over an hour) and Room... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just the one night but would highly recommend. Room was immaculate and very well laid out. The owners add a special personal touch and were very efficient. The food was delicious and a very high standard. The menu is one of the best we have encountered. Also a very pretty location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Rock Inn for dinner last night with our two young children, following recommendations in the Visitors' Book at our holiday cottage. We weren't disappointed! The food was absolutely delicious - perfectly cooked, well presented and fairly priced. There were a good choice of dishes for each course - we struggled to choose. The atmosphere in the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oxfordshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What an absolute fantastic find on Groupon. An amazing chilled weekend. The couple that own this place made us feel very welcome. The Rock is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were lively and very personal. The full English breakfast set you up for the day a head and the dinners were absolutely fantastic. Well recommended and a definite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

After five hours of travelling I was greeted with welcoming smiles and a complimentary drink beautiful countryside ambiance and the owners were so helpful and friendly. I was staying work related but would love to come back for a weekend and enjoy the fabulous menu :) I travel a the time with work and the rock inn has to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruth B, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Lucy, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Don't forget to check out our Facebook page with the accommodation offer - and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner for a longer stay. More

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Inn

Address: Waterrow TA4 2AX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.