We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rock Inn

Certificate of Excellence
| Nr Taunton, Waterrow TA4 2AX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rock Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rock Inn
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    28
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
63
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in at 6pm, lovely log fire was a nice welcome, our room was very comfortable, quiet and spotless clean. The food was amazing, I had the hake and husband had slow roasted beef rib in treacle sauce, (he wouldn't share it) still thinking about it now, one week later.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We Visited the Rock whilst out on a country walk for a lunchtime drink, we had been to the Rock several years ago again whilst out walking and had a lovely drink sitting by the fire. We were expecting to do so this time and were made to feel very uncomfortable. The pub has been taken over and has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ruth B, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

BOGUS REVIEW You must be really proud of yourselves with this trash, we gave you a warm welcome, you had two halves of beer and were all smiles when you left half an hour later. The conversation that you were so keen on listening to and got completely wrong, was about some local people who have a bullying campaign against... More 

London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

One day, I'll go to the Rock Inn and manage to resist ordering the fish soup. Am not sure when that will be though. By far and away, the Rock serves up the best food in the area. The menu is varied and interesting. There is most definitely something for everyone. The recent refurbishment has increased the 'cosy' factor of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This being our third visit, we had travelled around 15 miles as we wanted a cosy pub experience. Although being a lovely sunny day was cold inside the pub. Had a nice welcome, ordered our drinks. Whilst sitting pondering over the menu we all agreed it was very cold in the pub even though there was a huge open fire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ruth B, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

On the day in question, I informed you that the temperature in the pub was 21.5 degrees centigrade and the heating was on at 25 degrees centigrade as well. It just isn't worth putting the fire on if it isn't cold and perhaps you should wear more layers of clothing on these fresh Spring days. On Thursday, we had a... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an overnight stay here, looked good on line. Very warm welcome from the owner, we sat and had a drink and some lunch before checking in, they only book in between 2 & 3pm or after 6pm, so you have to plan your arrival times. Room very clean and tidy, well equipped, our room had a large shower, looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My First visit for 1 night stay but i will most definately return to stay longer. Im so happy to have come accross such a lovely charming place in such a great location. My double room on the side was wonderfully clean and inviting - And the decor throughout was very tastefully done. Great value for the money and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Six of us stayed here to celebrate a 50th birthday. We all had tastefully furnished rooms, with lovely crisp white bed linen and great en-suites. The evening meal was a real highlight, probably the best beef I've had in years - simply delicious! Ruth and Daren were perfect hosts and have obviously put a lot of effort in to making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Another enjoyable meal at the Rock inn. Went with my husband for a meal and a few drinks while staying at the campsite nearby. Great service and fantastic food. We have been here a few times and now it's one of our favourite places to go whilst in the area. You won't be disappointed . Just to add that everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This is a very nice, cosy place. Rooms are small but very comfortable and the place is really quiet. One word of warning: watch your head going up the stairs! The food is great and the service is excellent. It's a B+B, so check-in and out times are restricted but that's a small inconvenience for good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This must be the most unique find in Somerset. A 400 year old Inn with a quirky, modern twist to the immaculate and spotlessly clean rooms it offers. Add this to the friendly welcome from owners Ruth and Daren, the easy book in, roaring log fire and bowls of steaming French onion soup ( we arrived at lunch time) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question