We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Gunthorpe B&Bs / inns

Unicorn Hotel

Trentside Gunthorpe, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Hotel amenities
Unicorn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Unicorn Hotel to your Saves list
64%
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
James U Darwen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
38
55
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here again for a weekend whilst visiting family, as usual the room was faultless, very clean and well furnished. The food is excellent as is the service and the menu is extensive. The staff are friendly and could not be more helpful. The location could not be bettered, overall this hotel is hard to beat and provides very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you each time you stay with us. More

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location next to the River Trent/ Friendly staff, clean rooms and good food. Breakfast was excellent, full english. Can be a bit busy due it's location. Good car parking either front or rear and great for a walk along the riverside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had a good time at The Unicorn Hotel. I do hope you will visit us again in the near future. More

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The weekend stay was on the whole good. Good pub food with plenty of choice. Bed was comfy and had a good nights sleep. Disappointingly when we came down for breakfast the following morning, all the debris was still on the floor from the previous night - chips etc. therefore a poor result for cleanliness, need to get better organised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay on the whole and have noted your comments. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such friendly staff, from bar staff to cleaners, all really happy and genuinely friendly and polite. Rooms were clean and adequate, although the whole place could do with a 'spring clean' (esp kids toys) BUT these are minor things given the cost. I'd stay again based purely on the lovely staff and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back soon More

nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and myself went for sunday lunch (21/9/14). There was 3 adults and 2 children. The food was lovely but we had to wait 1.5 hours before we got any food and it didnt look overly busy because we got there about 2.30. This is the only fault i had though

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry you experienced a wait for your meals on Sunday. around the time you were with us the restaurant was actually full and we had 2 large parties being served also. We hope you come back again so we can show you how efficient our service can be More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Stayed at the hotel whilst on business, have to say a cracking place to stop. The staff are excellent and the beers good too. Its a great little hotel for a business traveller. It also is a great location for a walk if you have been in a car for some time, the canal is a great place to unwind.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, hope to welcome you back soon More

Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We had lunch at The Unicorn Hotel today and enjoyed it very much. Situated on the banks of the river Trent this hotel has a great location. There is ample parking and the resturant and bars are very comfortable. The bar/ regsturant area is huge but the way it is set out makes it quiet and cosy looking. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Unicorn Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel many years ago when it was privately owned and as great. How disappointed we were to find that it had turned into a pub with rooms. There was a group of 7 of us so we had 4 rooms and every room had problems from broken toilets to cobwebs hanging from light fittings to dusty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you found your rooms to be unsatisfactory. Your comments have been passed to the housekeepting team to ensure your comments are addressed accordingly. More

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We had been touring the UK and The Unicorn was to be our last hotel out of 6 at the end of the tour. Sadly, We have rated it as the worst. A pub with friendly staff, cheap pub food and pleasant location. A pub with drab rooms, so please do not expect hotel standards. We had requested a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, however, I am sorry to read about your disappointment. Unfortunately all our rooms don't overlook the river, and where possible by request we would have tried to accommodate you in another room which would have been more preferable. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Nice friendly hotel with the best of comfortable beds. Good food very reasonably priced and staff always helpful and charming. Attending a wedding at the venue next door so very handy. One criticism - the bath towels are a bit small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding my team and The Unicorn Hotel More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside Gunthorpe, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay