We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ciaran's

Certificate of Excellence
Hno 233/A, Palolem Beach,Behind Old Syndicate bank, | South Goa, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Ciaran's
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    101
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
34
207
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights at Ciaran's in a hut right on the beach. You can hear the waves all night long. The hotel has a very informal atmosphere, is relaxing and friendly. The hut was basic, but it was clean and the bed confortable. It is a short walking distance from the center of the town, where there are lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciarans_team, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Hi, asteca Glad that you liked the atmosphere of our hotel. Our staff work hard to do this. Glad to see you again More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited with my husban n October 2014 just after monsoon season, so the beach huts weren't wuite ready, and they were still building their bar/pond. Having said that it was still the most beauitful beach accommodation on palolem beach. We had a great time, the manager who was a young looking lad was very helpful and friendly and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciarans_team, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Hi, Cathy Thank you for your review. Very pleased that you liked to relax in our hotel. Waiting for you again More 

Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this place before and it has been very good. Now it is going downhill. The owner is not very friendly and the service from reception is really bad. We asked for a lamp by the bed and got the answer "we do not have any lamps". The food have always been good but this time it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice garden but lack of professionalism from the owner. i experiences food poisoning at the the resort's restaurent, the owner was rude. he left the office while my boyfriend and i are talking to him! he didn't believe us, despite doctor's note and the waiter confirming we went straight to bed after he served me the food. we were so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coutin, Manager at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We appreciate all reviews and take them onboard and try to improve our services all the time. It is very unfortunate that you have not been feeling well for some of the days of your holidays. We always pay a great amount of our attention to both the taste and quality of ingredients in our restaurant's... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a pleasant stay we had at Ciaran's. A well run, friendly place. We stayed in the beach front huts for 6 nights then changed to a garden hut for another 6 nights. Rooms are clean & all huts have fans over the bed. Good mosquito nets. Huts are close to each other so can hear almost everything. Ear plugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciarans_team, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Hi Helloworld1965 Thank you for your opinion. It's very important for us. We try very hard to make our guests were pleased. Best regards More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Very nicely and cleverly designed huts (and you are charged accordingly). It shows that the foundation is permanent and you have a feel of a real solid floor. The materials are predominantly natural, which provides nice smell inside and creates an enjoyable atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Unfortunately, the service is far from being custom-friendly. The person in charge lets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coutin, Manager at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience you had with our dogs. Yes, there couldhave been poo, as there is only one puppy which is of 3 months old and is not toilet trained yet... like the small child which does whenever it needs and cries all the time and parents sometime have no control. About the service, we are not overly friendly,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We booked a fan beach hut room (which we had done elsewhere in India), but on arrival quickly realised that we would need an AC room. Im not actually sure how anyone stays in the fan rooms (due to the humidity), we turned the fan on and it literally made no difference! Upgrading to an AC room (fortunately one was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coutin, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We have seen your reveiw on trip advisor and pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Ciarans even though you found it a burden on your budjet. We are trying to give as much as we can to our customer for the price that we charge. This includes breakfast, afternoon chai, free water, free... More 

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I have stayed at Ciaran`s on more than a few occasions and have never been disappointed ! The huts have to be dismantled and rebuild every year (environmental laws) which is a feat in itself but also adds an element of surprise every visit as the owner always makes a few changes ( in a good way)This season it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciarans_team, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Hi, kwoumans Glad you liked the atmosphere and the restaurants of our hotel. Our staff makes this all possible. Unfortunately puppies are not raised like a staff, but we educate them)) Will be glad to see you again More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Our stay at Ciaran's was great. I'd been to Goa eight years ago and just stayed at the cheapest 'pound a night' huts on the beach, which were fine, but this time I was back as part of my honeymoon so wanted to book something in advance. We had a beachfront hut, which was fantastic, looking straight out over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciarans_team, Owner at Ciaran's, responded to this review

Hi, Ben_bit Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. We try to do everything possible so that our guests were comfortable. Besides you had such a nice excuse for a holiday)) Best wishes to your family More 

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The staff were more than excellent, cannot rate them highly enough! they were charming, helpful and honest! The food was varied and interesting and always tasty.. Ciaran even had plenty of entertainment , there were Indian musicians and even dancers. The huts were simple, clean and practical but still all had an air of 'WOW' about them - i would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (287)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
View from room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
8:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities