We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amangwane - Kosi Bay

Kosi Bay, Kosi Bay 3973, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent one night here in December. If you like rustic, it's very rustic. They squeezed four of us (all adults) into a so-called family chalet which was actually made for two. All that separates you from the bathroom is a torn and dirty shower curtain, and soap is not supplied. And in case you wanted a more private loo,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed in Amangwane for 4 nights in December 2014. Amangwane is located at the entrance to the beach and all permits are arranged for you by Vusi, so no extra admin needs to be undertaken. Although the reed chalets are rustic, they are spacious, clean and well positioned. The manager Vusi is extremely helpful and he arranged all our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We had a great 3 nights at Amangwane. We booked a 4-6 hour walk and spent 6 hours immersed in Birdlife on a truly memorable walk through a wide variety of habitats. Vusi certainly knows his birds including those hard to see woodland/thicket birds whose calls he recognises.We booked a guided kayak the next day and saw many more water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wetland-Park-Group, Front Office Manager at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

Very many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

the camp is quite nice but the staff have no interest in South Africans. We booked and paid up front for seven nights through Emma and asked for breakfast on the first morning with the understanding that we would arrange further meals with Vusi. That was our first disappointment, no breakfast arranged and no food in camp. for the duration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wetland-Park-Group, Director of Sales at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

Dear Willem, I’m sorry you felt we had no interest in you. I assure you it is not true. We strive to ensure that all our guests receive good service and enjoy their time with us and we certainly do not value foreign guests more than local guests. We have many South Africans staying with us who thoroughly enjoy their... More 

South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Amangwane is in a great location and very well run. However it was cold and windy and the "camps" were extremely drafty. With two toddlers this really hampered our holiday as it was really cold at night. Also with the wind, the gas geysers did not produce very hot water and the shower is not enclosed which was not ideal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetland-Park-Group, Reservations at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

The chalets are definitely built with the summer in mind. We generally only get about 4 weeks of cold weather the whole year; July and August are the coldest months but can still have beautiful warm sunny days. The dinners we normally serve from around 6:30pm but Juliet should be able to make a plan for earlier dinners if required.... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best place ever to chill and forget about the boss........Each tent chalet has its own ablutions attached, idyllic lapa and dining room area next to central kitchen. Walk to beach filled with awesome views, but Vusi can drop and fetch you if you need to take snacks for everyone in your party. Vusi can actually do anything from guide, info... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The camp is clean, the units are spaced nicely apart so that you have your privacy, the rooms are basic but sufficient. And the pricing is very reasonable. For self-catering there are ample facilities and the kitchen is set up well. It is a 1 hr walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Amangwane! Juliet is such an amazing cook, we weren't hungry for a single second...and Vosi is the nicest man you will ever meet; together they make Amangwane feel like home! The cabins are clean and comfortable, everything you need when spending all of your time at the estuary/beach! The view from the camp lookout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Unfortunately we spent in Amangwane-Kosi Bay only few days because of the lack of time. It is located in the area with a gorgeous landscape with a most beautiful beach i have ever seen before . It is very beautiful and calm place suitable for staying there with your friends, with family . Lodges are clean and there is everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a great place to stay, clean and comfortable cabins, easy walk to the Kosi Bay Mouth. Fantastic catering facilities and such helpful staff Vosi and Themba. Vosi will take and pick you up form the beach if required. Themba is a welth of information about the histroy of the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amangwane - Kosi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangwane - Kosi Bay

Address: Kosi Bay, Kosi Bay 3973, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kosi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amangwane - Kosi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay