We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amangwane - Kosi Bay

Kosi Bay, Kosi Bay 3973, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Amangwane - Kosi Bay
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Lephalale, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We stayed at Amangwane for three nights on a visit to Kosi Bay. The tents are basic and clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the kitchen well equipped and the area is beautiful. The accommodation is situated (conveniently) right at the entrance to Kosi Bay Mouth in a rural, lightly populated area. Your alarm clock in the mornings will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Amangwane was the perfect place for an overnight en route to Ponta Do Oura- less than 500m from the border. Check the link below for a better description http://www.runwiththemorfearthem.com/2015/04/lekker-by-die-sea-mocambique.html

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We spent one night here in December. If you like rustic, it's very rustic. They squeezed four of us (all adults) into a so-called family chalet which was actually made for two. All that separates you from the bathroom is a torn and dirty shower curtain, and soap is not supplied. And in case you wanted a more private loo,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed in Amangwane for 4 nights in December 2014. Amangwane is located at the entrance to the beach and all permits are arranged for you by Vusi, so no extra admin needs to be undertaken. Although the reed chalets are rustic, they are spacious, clean and well positioned. The manager Vusi is extremely helpful and he arranged all our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We had a great 3 nights at Amangwane. We booked a 4-6 hour walk and spent 6 hours immersed in Birdlife on a truly memorable walk through a wide variety of habitats. Vusi certainly knows his birds including those hard to see woodland/thicket birds whose calls he recognises.We booked a guided kayak the next day and saw many more water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wetland-Park-Group, Front Office Manager at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

Very many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

the camp is quite nice but the staff have no interest in South Africans. We booked and paid up front for seven nights through Emma and asked for breakfast on the first morning with the understanding that we would arrange further meals with Vusi. That was our first disappointment, no breakfast arranged and no food in camp. for the duration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wetland-Park-Group, Director of Sales at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

Dear Willem, I’m sorry you felt we had no interest in you. I assure you it is not true. We strive to ensure that all our guests receive good service and enjoy their time with us and we certainly do not value foreign guests more than local guests. We have many South Africans staying with us who thoroughly enjoy their... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Amangwane is in a great location and very well run. However it was cold and windy and the "camps" were extremely drafty. With two toddlers this really hampered our holiday as it was really cold at night. Also with the wind, the gas geysers did not produce very hot water and the shower is not enclosed which was not ideal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetland-Park-Group, Reservations at Amangwane - Kosi Bay, responded to this review

The chalets are definitely built with the summer in mind. We generally only get about 4 weeks of cold weather the whole year; July and August are the coldest months but can still have beautiful warm sunny days. The dinners we normally serve from around 6:30pm but Juliet should be able to make a plan for earlier dinners if required.... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best place ever to chill and forget about the boss........Each tent chalet has its own ablutions attached, idyllic lapa and dining room area next to central kitchen. Walk to beach filled with awesome views, but Vusi can drop and fetch you if you need to take snacks for everyone in your party. Vusi can actually do anything from guide, info... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The camp is clean, the units are spaced nicely apart so that you have your privacy, the rooms are basic but sufficient. And the pricing is very reasonable. For self-catering there are ample facilities and the kitchen is set up well. It is a 1 hr walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Amangwane! Juliet is such an amazing cook, we weren't hungry for a single second...and Vosi is the nicest man you will ever meet; together they make Amangwane feel like home! The cabins are clean and comfortable, everything you need when spending all of your time at the estuary/beach! The view from the camp lookout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosi Bay
0.0 mi away
Bushlands Game Lodge
Bushlands Game Lodge
#7 of 7 in Hluhluwe
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Kosi Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
13.1 mi away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
4.0 mi away
Devocean Diving
Devocean Diving
#3 of 11 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay