We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Elterwater accommodations

Elterwater Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd | Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX, England (Formerly YHA Elterwater)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elterwater Hostel to your Saves list
Elterwater Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
hazel m Burnley, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights, nothing is too much trouble, the food is really good. Great drying room, fantastic new showers. Fully equipped self catering kitchen. Fabulous location for the Lang dale Valley. Good pub nearby, what's not to like. We will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
llandysul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Brilliant place! We came here after our tent had to be abandoned because of the wind and rain. Lovely clean room. Had to do bedding so it felt really homely. Great hospitality and clean self catering kitchens. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

We're glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable 'plan b' after your camping wash-out.. oh the joys of a Lake District summer..! We hope to see you again in the future.. More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in a group of four in Room 4 for a long weekend as our base for gill scrambling and walking in the hills. We we greeted with a friendly welcome from the hosts, who were also very informative about the local area and which pubs were the best bet for our first evening meal. We booked our cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rw and thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again, hopefully in slightly less 'moist' circumstances. We hope you'll understand, the limiters on the windows that prevent them opening wide are a trade-off for the safety of our guests, particularly the younger ones.. Occasionally stuffy rooms, vs. small children falling out! (It's also a legal requirement... More

UB
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be aware that this hostel is 4 miles from anywhere. Thus, you get a small village with a good pub a cafe and a bus stop. Plus the hostel 200m away. It is the staff who make a stay memorable, so you get lots of local knowledge, polite and friendly staff. Good communal kitchen, great showers, a lock-up bike shed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tim, thanks for the lovely review.. just one small thing.. it is everywhere else that's actually 4 miles from here!! :-) More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here instead of Grasmere as part of the Coast to Coast. At £45 and only 3 miles from Grasmere itself we thought we could save some money but this wasn't the case. Taxi drivers won't drive the short route to the hostel, which means they take a detour via a better road and through Ambleside which costs £25.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your brief, but largely favourable comments about the hostel, but to be fair, you’ve actually reviewed local public transport and marked us to reflect your frustration. So in relation to your comment “Avoid for Coast to Coast”, we can’t argue with that. Nowhere do we claim to be a particularly suitable location for C2C. There are three very... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing experience while staying 2 weeks at the Elterwater Hostel. The staff were friendly, helpful and understood "going the extra mile". The facilities were great! An awesome dry room which worked 24/7, a large common room which was great for large parties, cooked food available but also the cheaper option of a fully equipped self catering kitchen. I can't think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rocky. We're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, but think defiance is a little extreme in relation to staying here (teasing because of your typo!) Thanks for the great review Hope to see you again sometime in the near future More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I first stayed in Elterwater almost two decades ago with my parents. I returned earlier this month with my husband and was really impressed by the welcome and service. The Hostel is now independent from the YHA, but it is still has the great atmosphere I remember from my first visit. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for review... you just made me feel very old... I was manager 20 years ago and I'm still here...! When you start getting repeat visits from guests firstly as children, then again as married adults, then you know you've been around for a while.. anyway, it's good that you remembered us as we didn't disappoint. Please keep coming back,... More

Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My idea of a perfect hostel. A common room, well equipped self catering kitchen, & a good drying room. The staff were really helpful. Both male & female wash rooms plus several unisex showers. In practice this proved to be plenty for all of the week that I was there. As with most hostels it is best to take a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We do have some plans for the winter, and all being well this will include more sockets in bedrooms.. Please come and visit us again. More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As one of the organisers of the annual 'Youhostel gathering' I have to say Elterwater Hostel was the perfect place in which to bring 40-odd people together for a weekend of socialising, walking, eating and drinking in stunning Langdale. Practically everything about the hostel; the location and character of the building, the upkeep and tidiness of the rooms, the cleanliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a successful weekend, and thanks for the lovely review. The guys have now recovered (we've bought them new socks and lay them down on a darkened room for a few hours!) and the smell of cardamom pods has now receded from the kitchen... until next time.. More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our first visit. We are a group of four that meet annually for walks in the Lakes. We had previously stayed in bed-and-breakfasts but the hostel was a pleasant change and an experience that we all agreed we would be happy to repeat The welcome is warm and sincere, the staff are very knowledgeable about the local area and keen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I'm pleased to hear that we compared favourably with your 'normal' choice of accommodation. I'm curious to know if the walk back on a full stomach and having tasted the local beers only took 3 minutes as well? ;-) Handy hint in the quest for a mobile signal if you visit again... go 'native'.. put your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elterwater Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elterwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Hostel

Address: Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd | Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX, England (Formerly YHA Elterwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elterwater Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Elterwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Hostel Lake District

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is located in the peaceful village of Elterwater, in the Langdale valley, 15 minutes drive from Ambleside. The area has many walks for people of all abilities, from gentle riverside meanders to the challenge presented by the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Scafell. Banks, shops and other amenities are available in Ambleside. The area is also a favourite for both on and off-road cycling, rock climbing and many other outdoor activities. An ideal overnight stop on the Cumbria way. The hostel is an ideal venue for individuals, families, outdoor groups, schools and college trips. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elterwater Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer