We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soma Kerala Palace

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
North Kumarakom, Chempu 686615, India
Special Offer
Spl Ayurveda Packages
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Soma Kerala Palace
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

I was in soma kerala palace. Its a beautiful place with excellent settings. Te hotel landscape is so amazing. Staffs are very friendly. Food was amazing,but bit over priced. Apart from tat so amazing place to be. I being to different places,but this place made me feel so relaxed. I would recommend to anyone to try once in a life... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

had a great time here. We were upgraded to a bigger room . Food is amazing! very peaceful and secluded. But mosquitoes are rife! Ayurvedic treatment was the best I expreinecd in kerela! Worth every penny that we spent. Amazing service!

Helpful?
Thank Shiba M
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ambience of the property is excellent.. But surely not worth for the room rate we give.. The rooms are just ok..not up to the mark..The rooms are small. The charges for food is too high compared to the quality and variety of food provided. Though it has a big lawn, it just had two badminton rackets which were torn.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sreekalavivek
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is stunning, beautiful views across the lake, fishing boats drifting by, dappled light through the palm fronds, etc. The historical buildings look beautiful - from the outside. The accommodation was poor - I can only speak as to ' standard tariff' rooms - the photographs on the website and on booking.com are of executive suites,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anonlondon2016
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first thing to say about this hotel is that it has a very good Ayuverdic massage centre complete with their own doctors. This hotel is located on an island accessed by private hotel boats, so would not be suitable for those who wish to site see during their stay. Our arrival was very welcoming,; the grounds and setting are... More 

Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM D
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really want to be full of praise about this place. It is beautiful, peaceful and the staff are sweet. However, it is a shambles. Appalling service, no one has a clue what they're doing. Air con stopped working about 3 times a night. No hot water. You have to wait an hour for food to arrive. Rats (no joke).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda H
SubhashCBose, Corp-General Manager at Soma Kerala Palace, responded to this review

Dear Matilda, Thanks for your feedback and stay. We are very happy to note that you are impressed with Soma Kerala palace location, the peaceful ambiance and the friendliness of our staff. We have noted your concerns also and immediate attention will be in place. Customer satisfaction is top priority for Somatheeram Ayurveda Group. We maintain high standard, service and... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

The location of this resort is its upside. Phenomenal veiw from the resort. My favorite place was the deck at the corner facing the backwaters. U can see the sunset and sunrise from that point. Overall design and architecture of the resort is based on Travancore palaces, which have been done well. Rooms and the pool needs more attention in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harindran N
SubhashCBose, Corporate General Manager at Soma Kerala Palace, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Harindran, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thank you very much for your stay and feedback. We are very happy to note that you loved our location and ambiance. Soma kerala palce is preserved heritage resort and alwyes our attention is on place for the maintenance and up-keeping. We have noted your concerns and our special attention is already... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Tired, grubby, and worn out, with cowed staff and overbearing management, this resort fails on almost every count.Murky pool, broken outdoor fixtures, lacking in activities since it is located on a tiny island. This makes guests beholden to the manager, there is no escape without his authorisation. The restaurant is mediocre at best, about one third of the menu is... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjuringa2015
SubhashCBose, Corp.General Manager at Soma Kerala Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have learned your feedback and surprised what is the intention of writing a feedback without staying at the resort or even without availing any service. As per our records you never stayed or even utilized our service. May be you wrongly posted the review, please have a look. Please note our institution is having long years of... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

50 km from where it's shown on booking sites, hotel ferry the only way to leave. Management are rude, money grubbing and belligerent. Half the menu is unavailable. Rooms are dark, dank and tired, nothing like the photos and not worth the money charged. Don't get caught here we were not the only guests disputing costs but we all had... More 

Helpful?
Thank aphidd
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Kerala Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have learned your feedback and surprised what is the intention of writing a feedback without staying at the resort or even without availing any service. As per our records you never stayed or even utilized our service. May be you wrongly posted the review, please have a look. Please note our institution is having long years of... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Palace like it might have been but not now. Worn, grubby fixtures and fittings, old mattresses and broken furniture lying around on balconies, green water in the tiny pool are all unacceptable given the prices. The food is ok but about half the items in the ragged menus aren't available. The aruyvedic treatments are by novices and the facilities are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Everywhere190
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Kerala Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have learned your feedback and surprised what is the intention of writing a feedback without staying at the resort or even without availing any service. As per our records you never stayed or even utilized our service. May be you wrongly posted the review, please have a look. Please note our institution is having long years of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chempu
15.8 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#8 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Resort,Cochin
Ramada Resort,Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
16.4 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
13.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
#5 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay