We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4.0 of 5 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Hotel website
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    542
    124
    88
    44
See reviews for
289
772
43
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1640)
  • Mar-May only
    (402)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (433)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (421)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (384)
All months
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW

We're not crazy about being stuck in a remote resort--preferring urban bustle, access to groceries, transportation, walkability, and a variety of businesses & activities--but we had no choice while attending a conference at this isolated resort. However, this meant that all amenities (wi-fi, fantastic breakfast buffet) were included, which sweetened the deal. The gift of this resort is immediate access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hapuna for 8 nights and hope the below is helpful for your consideration: Overall impressions: Hapuna Beach is a very nice property, located over a small, but lovely beach. It's a large resort, but even though it was sold out the time I was there - it didn't feel overly crowded. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a week in February, I agree with some reviews that the décor is a little dated BUT this hotel is wonderful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful making what is a large hotel feel like a family run small one. The food is excellent in all the restaurants with the only downside being the bar service,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the HBPH Jan 18-23, 2015. We checked in at around 11 pm after a long day of travel. Check-in was quick. However, as we were checking in late in the evening, we were unable to get a king bed as most people checking in earlier would have requested them too. We settled in but to our dismay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for mentioning one of our great team members in your review! And we're also happy you noticed the amazing Coast Grille garden. Mahalo and aloha. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just come back from a 5 night stay at Hapuna Beach Prince hotel and were very happy with the service, our ocean front room in block 3 which opened up to amazing views of the ocean, the beach and the pool. We were even lucky enough to be able to sit on our balcony in the mornings drinking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting! We're glad you enoyed your stay...including those amazing humpback whales! We hope your travel plans bring you our way one day again. More 

Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for 4 nights the first week in February. The hotel is as beautiful in person as it is in the photos. The views are breathtaking everywhere. I had requested a room near an elevator ahead of time but despite that, they assigned us a room with a really far walk from the elevator. After talking to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate all of your remarks. More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I need to issue a very strong warning to travelers who consider this hotel. My girlfriend and I are in our mid-30s from New York City and arrived for Valentines day having booked a Deluxe Ocean view room. Upon arrival, they informed us they were overbooked and downgraded us to a standard room which was terrible - no view, dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hapuna was our 2nd hotel during our 2-week stay on the Big Island. We had just checked out of the Fairmont Orchid that day. Upon arrival at the Hapuna, my first impression was that it was not as nice as the Fairmont. It appeared very dated and not as chic as the Fairmont. Our reservation was for a partial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Mahalo for your very detailed review. We're happy to hear that our staff contributed to the enjoyment of your stay with us and we'll look forward to your return. Aloha. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, service was great with very friendly staff. The room was good, we had a high floor and it looks like all rooms except ground floor have sea views. Lovely large swimming pools with excellent facilities. Good beach. Absolutely love the L'Occitane bath products. Good for both couples and families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you had a great visit with us! Thank you and return soon. Aloha. More 

Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful beach and pool, beautiful hotel! Nice lawn near beach and pool with enough lounge chairs. Large, comfortable, nicely decorated room with very large bathroom. Bathroom had double sinks, separate toilet stall, bathtub, and separate shower. The hotel and its restaurants are expensive, but you'll remember them forever. There is a store for grab and go food items that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments which we sincerely appreciate. Hope you're already making plans to return again soon. Aloha. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Mauna kea(29)
  • Ocean views(17)
  • Breakfast buffet(12)
  • Very nice(8)
  • Most beautiful(6)
  • White sand(6)
  • Lounge chair(5)
  • Golf course(4)
  • Pool bar(3)

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako

1,199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1178)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (269)
Viewed
Room/suite (179)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (299)
Viewed
View from room (106)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay