We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sorido Bay Resort

Kri Island, Raja Ampat 98413, Indonesia
Sorido Bay Resort
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sorido Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My three daughters and I stayed on thjis ownderful island for just 7 days - we wish it had been for much longer. Everything about it was amazing, from the welcome to the ambiance, the food, the staff and the diving. We could not have wished for anything better. It is a very long journey to get to Sorido but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Sorido Bay Resort for a few nights at the end of May. The resort is just over an hour's speedboat ride from the main local town of Sorong..so its close and accessable. Max, the owner, is a legend, he knows the area better than anyone, and is a true adventurer and great resource for local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alice Springs
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was surprised to be staying at Sorido Bay because I had made a booking at Kri Eco but was told on the boat to the island that I would be receiving a free upgrade because of renovations being done at Kri. Sorido Bay is a beautiful establishment and I was generally impressed with the accommodations, food, and diving operations.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
Darby, MT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

As a tour operator and trip leader, I am quite picky about the places I take my divers. Without fail, all of my divers said it was the best diving they had done anywhere in the world, hands down. I have to wholeheartedly agree. Even being there 6 weeks and logging just over 100 dives, it felt like I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Exceeded all expectations. The accommodations are lovely, with large comfortable bed, air conditioning, and porch right on the ocean. The public areas are very attractive and conducive to post-dive conversation. Administration and staff are friendly and responsive to any request. Meals freshly prepared, healthy and tasty. And the DIVING is all anyone could hope for and more. Everything that has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kazan, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Well, I have owed Sorido bay this review for quite some time now Last year with new flight from Manado and also I guess due to some positive changes in resort management I could fit Sorido bay into my travel plans and actually visit it having to spend only one night in Sorong on the way from Manado. PROS: The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Zoeterwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

If you're looking for a first class diving experience go to Raja Ampat. Sorido Bay Resort offers the best diving in this region. It's remote and for some people maybe to remote but I would certainly give it a try, you definitely won't be disappointed. The fact that it's remote guarantees unspoiled coral, in astonishing amounts and variety. You'll see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked this trip, but unfortunately had to cancel (ten months before we were due to go). The cancellation policy on the website states 'Cancellations made 45 or more days prior to arrival will be refunded less a 25% per person service fee'. When I asked for my refund (I have paid 25% of the total booking which is 1085... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
PapuaDiving, Manager at Sorido Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vyonne56, we were looking forward to welcome you here in Raja Ampat and are sorry that you had to cancel your trip. It's a common policy to ask a 25% deposit of the total amount and therefore this amount was kept as a cancellation fee. We explained this in a e-mail that was sent to you when you informed... More 

uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

The accommodation is excellent. The bed is large and comfortable, there’s quiet air con, a kettle with plentiful supplies of tea, coffee, sugar which are replenished every day. The staff are lovely. However the problem with Sorido for me is how ‘Max-centric’ the whole experience is. Max owns and runs the resort. There are set meal times at which all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
UK
2 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The bungalows are great, location and diving in the area are fantastic. but the management is very problematic. When we arrived Max the owner asked us about our food requests. My wife eats fish but not meat, so for the next few days there was only chicken and beef. After we complained that my wife could eat rice and veg... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities