We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solana Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Offers & Announcements
FREE WI-FI!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Solana Hotel
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    434
    152
    53
    33
See reviews for
258
680
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1259)
  • Mar-May only
    (315)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (317)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (309)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (318)
All months
Wootton Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Hubby and me had yet again a very enjoyable weeks holiday at the Solana, as per norm. We can't give enough praise for the staff who work there, always cheerful and helpful. Unfortunately we do have our favorites like Pierre, Ivan, Maria, Ruby, Etienne, Melvin, Kate, and many more (too many to mention), that's why enjoy coming back every year... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ørje
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great stuff, helpful and friendly. Great service. Nice room,after upgrading it to a room with a view. Easy transportation to beach and city life. I missed more information about the facilities and possibilities for activities, you don't ask for, because you didn't know about.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a wonderful week in the Solana at the start of May. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when organising trips and transfers. I would highly recommend this hotel as an ideal base for exploring Malta, Gozo and Comino. I look forward to a return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Attard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Solana is the place I go to relax in the knowledge that I will be well looked after. It was no different the last time I was there. I was welcomed with smiles of recognition and offers of help with my luggage. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the food varied. The staff seemed to remember things... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Being the owner of a time-share and having visited many times I always know what to expect. However, in all the times I have visited I feel that now the rooms are needing an up-dating as the bed covers are quite drab and uninspiring. The self-catering units are badly in need of some TLC as doors and drawers are ill-fitting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got back from our first stay at this hotel. Hotel was so clean and room was lovely and spacious.. Cannot praise the staff enough as they are so friendly and helpful... Please turn on ac in bar though... Too hot .. We will be booking to return though and we cant wait..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late at night and went to our room, which should have been twin beds but they had been pushed together, also my mattress slumped was down to the side that I thought I was on a capsizing boat. Also no toilet roll, so I called down to reception regarding this. We still did not get any toilet roll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was probably given the worst room in the hotel - I booked as a single traveller so I guess it is to be expected. My room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel, very noisy and in need of a facelift. My sister who also booked as a single traveller was given a room in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience during your recent sojourn at the Solana Hotel & Spa. At our hotel we constantly strive hard to offer our esteemed guests positive experiences and very much regret that possibly the location of the unit that you were accommodated in, has hindered the enjoyment of your stay. At... More 

Milton Keynes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this at very short notice - & so very glad we did. We were welcomed like friends and treated so well by each staff member we encountered. Our room was immaculate, as the whole hotel was, and large , comfortable & quiet. And try the a la carte restaurant, Tosca . First class.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fantastic holiday , hotel clean and beautiful, food not so good for children , staff all friendly apart from the twisted girl named sylvie / Sylvia from bar , all in all we had a great time but would definitely go self catering next time , yes there will be a next time , 😎👍

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

769 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (472)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (84)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (148)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (252)
Viewed
Other (41)
Viewed
4pax Studio (51)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities