We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Hotel amenities
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
andrez7 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
108
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, also good value for money. Good, old fashioned air-conditioning (cooling with not too much draft). Room with a kitchenette, so we could make hot drinks. Nice bar downstairs with fixed price, lovely meals (every day something different).

Was this review helpful? Yes
suemedplaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear andrez7 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Aparthotel Esmeraldas last year. We are pleased to read that the Esmeraldas ticked all the boxes for you and your partner and hope that we will see you again on future occasions kind regards Guest Relations Team Med Playa Hotels More 

liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

esmeraldas hotel full of friendly staff from reception to the bar staff and the cleaners nothing too much trouble try it for yourselves wont be disappointed a very pleasurable two weeks stay surrounding bars and restaurants warm and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear alantr Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Esmeraldas. We are pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your holiday in the apartments and in the beautiful resort of Tossa de Mar. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again next time! Kind regards Guest... More 

wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I got home today after a week here from Sept 26th. I was happy with the apartments, OK, there were a few little "niggles", like the fact that I could only see sockets for the kettle and toaster quite low down on the wall, so you had to move appliances to the floor instead of using them on the cooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear yamahaa Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday with us at the Esmeraldas in Tossa de Mar. We are pleased to read that you were generally happy with the standard of the apartments and the service provided. We are sorry that you did not request an additional pillow at the reception, we would have been... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Despite earlier reviews that the rooms were dirty we found our room to be clean and well appointed, including a hairdryer - important when your weight limit for luggage is 15 kg and (oh joy!) a coffess machine. The furnishings were dated and not smart, but this is a budget hotel so as long as it is clean and comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear LillieLondon Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the popular Aparthotel Esmeraldas. We are pleased to read that you and your partner enjoyed your holiday with us in Tossa de Mar and hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again either at the Esmeraldas or one of our other Med... More 

hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Having returned from Tossa de Mar on Saturday 6th September 2014.and having stayed at The Esmeraldes for the umpteenth time i now give my comments on the hotel. Since our visit in 2013 the place has had a massive re-vamp especially in the foyer entrance area ,extremely tasteful and well done. The bathrooms have also had a total re-vamp and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear Tadpoles Thank you for taking the time to review your latest stay with us at the Aparthotel Esmeraldas. We are pleased to read that the accommodation and our staff ticked all the boxes for your and your partner and that you had a very enjoyable holiday with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time!... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Went with 14 & 10 year old grand children, reception friendly and helpful, room was ideal with separate rooms but joined with bathroom, long balcony with chairs & table that evening sun shone on, swimming pool not big but never overcrowded and always sun beds for the four of us, stayed half board and food was good even for picky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear Max T Thank you for your review of the Aparthotel Esmeraldas. We are are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you rate the accommodation and the food very highly. I must try that Sangria next time I'm there! At Med Playa we aim to offer our guests the very best... More 

bogota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Make sure you look at all photos of the studios as the first ones shown have a separate bedroom and we ended up with the basic ones, an elongated room. Our own fault for leaving it late to book and then not checking this out properly and probably cost twice as much as a result. Could have traded up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear cacahcoingles Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Aparthotel Esmeraldas. We are pleased to hear that in general you were happy with the standards and very happy with the service offered at the Esmeraldas. We are sorry that you were not made aware of the different room types available when you made your... More 

Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Esmereldas with my husband and two teenage sons. We stayed half board in an apartment in room 513. First impressions were a little low as the room was very tired but after a while it seemed fine - you only get what you pay for and this is a budget hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before about 6 years ago. We went there again as there are very few self catering properties in Tossa so little choice. Apart from the bathroom which had been totally refurbished the rest of the apartment was unchanged from 6 years ago ie basic. A few things to note, there is a hairdryer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, responded to this review

Dear Mike186411 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that in general your stay with us was enjoyable, but are sorry to hear that you feel that both within the hotel and in the resort there is room for improvement, and that you would not consider returning to Tossa de Mar.... More 

Gateshead
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we wanted a cheap base for our stay in Tossa. The hotel is a 5 -10 minute walk to the beach. The apartments are clean and basic self catering facilities are provided. Clean towels are supplied everyday. However, in our 10 day stay the bedding was not changed. I can't comment on the bar / restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question