We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn

4.0 of 5 Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Inn
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    98
    51
    38
    44
See reviews for
67
173
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had christmas dinner this year group of 10. We were abit unsure as previous christmas dinners hadn't been that good, but this year what a difference,staff worked extremely hard ( it's there christmas as well) I suppose if Been pickey food could have been better but on the whole a lovely time had by everyone, onto New Year's Eve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After visiting just before Christmas and having a good meal I called with friends 14th January and was very disappointed with the service and food. I ordered scampi which looked very over cooked, I requested a replacement which came back just like the first. Having waited this long I did try to eat some of it but left most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Todwick hotels

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean room, comfy bed, great breakfast and lovely evening meal. There is nothing else that you need. Easy access from here to Meadowhall and the theatre area of Sheffield and only half hour to Sherwood Forest. If you can't guess we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped off here with my mum for lunch after a shopping trip in Sheffield at 1pm. We were promptly served drinks at the bar. However, after reading the menu for 5 minutes we had to wait over 10 minutes for a member of staff to take our order. We asked 3 different members of staff who were walking around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took friends here to eat on new years day, as a special treat. We waited for an hour for our meal to arrive and when it did, it certainly wasn't worth the wait!!!! My partner and one of our friends had chosen fish and chips, which looked more like a KFC version. The batter and the fish were dried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 2 nights at the Red Lion at Todwick thanks to a fantastic deal with Old English Inns and have to say the welcome and stay was extremely warm. Room was very clean and food in the restaurant was great, only problem was after a starter and a main, there simply wasn't any room for dessert which were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Red Lion and taking the time to leave this review. So sorry to hear that you didn’t have room for dessert, It’s the best part of any meal I find, however maybe next time you are in the area you could call in and make up for it with... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called for a meal Boxing Day evening. Only six restaurant tables occupied. Meal came reasonably quickly but some food was over cooked, chips lukewarm and plates cold. Asked for dessert menu. Had to get one from the bar after 10minute wait.Complained to restaurant manager nobody had been for our order. Apologies forthcoming but still no order taken. Left without a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank-you for your comments with regards to service issues you experience here with us on Boxing Day. We always welcome all feedback from guests so we can see what areas we need to improve upon. Clearly you had several issues upon your visit, unfortunately I can do nothing to rectify your unhappy experience here with ourselves now the event... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Our second stay in just a few weeks proved just as enjoyable as the first. We had requested the same room again as is was on the ground floor and in apite of overlooking the car park it was very quiet. However, on arrival we discovered that the toilet seat was broken, Receptionist apologied and offered us another room -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you had an enjoyable stay here with us again. Sorry to hear about you toilet seat being broken but glad it was sorted for you immediately. We are constantly striving to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay here with us every time and it nice to see that the staffs dedication and hard work is paying... More 

newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

stayed last night, managed to find a very good price for B&B for a one night stay. The welcome was warm, the room warm and very pleasant, good bath room. Ate in the bar which was busy and the food was excellent. Would happily stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for you review of the hotel it is very much appreciated. I am glad to note that you enjoyed you stay in the hotel as well as dinning in the Bar area. We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I can only review the bar and bar food as I have not stayed at the hotel. Wow, at last and not before time, something very good has happened to the Red Lion! Someone should be given a medal for turning this establishment round and the staff also need a big thank you. My last review was 'TERRIBLE' but now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review to read. I am so glad that you have had a lovely return visit to ourselves here at The Red Lion and you can see how much it is improving. We have in the past had issues but clearly as you can see we are combating them successfully. We still have a few little hiccups to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Todwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Todwick
Red Lion Sheffield
Sheffield Red Lion

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay