We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn

4.0 of 5 Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Inn
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    94
    49
    37
    43
See reviews for
63
168
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Nailsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On arriving at the Red Lion we found we had arrived a week early. My husband had made a huge mistake and they we were in Reception having driven 3 hours tired hungry and looking forward to a nice bath and dinner . There were four of us in total .The receptionist on duty delivered a level of customer service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
notts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been visiting Sheffield and on our way home we decided to call into the Red Lion for a quick meal.We were greeted by a pleasant young man at the bar and served our drinks .He asked us if we were dining and then took us to our table and introduced us to our waiter -Lewis-The menu was extensive.Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the red lion for 3 nights, on arrival to our room there were bits around the edge of the bed which showed the room had not been hoovered correctly. The chair in the corner of the room looked like it had never seen a Hoover it was thick with dirt and dust down either side of the cushion.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Todwick hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Red Lion because of its location, first junction south of the M18 on the M1. We were meeting a friend of her two young children and only had about 45 mins spare before a 3 and half hour drive south. The table we sat at a knife and fork were dirty, never a good sign. The barman... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Firstly may I apologise for the service you said you had received, at no time is it acceptable for any of our guests to wait 1 and a half hours for sandwich to be served to their table and then upon receiving them for them to be cold. Please rest assured I will be looking into this matter immediately and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for a Saturday night, so it is harsh to judge but a really nice stay was spoilt by incredibly slow service in the Restaurant. The room and the hotel have obviously recently been refurbished to a really nice standard and the staff were very helpful. We reserved a table for 2 at 19.30 and arrived up on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed most of your stay with ourselves. Saturday nights here at The Red Lion are always an extremely busy evening as we are quite popular venue within the area. I think there was I miss communication between yourself and the member of staff that informed you of the hour wait upon the... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was lovely, very comfortable large bed. 45 minute wait for six sandwiches and tea dispite two reminders, recieved a bottle of wine with dinner as compensation. 5 dinners ok 1 over cooked Jess the waitress was very good and helpful, breakfast was tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your constructive review. May I apologise for your wait on the sandwiches. This should not have happened and I believe the Assistant Manager sorted this issue for you, one of them being the bottle of wine in the evening as a way of an apology . I was unaware of any further issues in the evening with your... More

Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and l have just returned from having a week end break at the Red Lion Todwick arriving on Friday 31st October. We stayed in the Lion Suite which was out standing, the place is spot less and the staff are so friendly it was a pleasure to stay. The two young waitresses that served us both Friday /... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank- you for the Lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Red Lion. Our Lion Suite is a lovely room as you so kindly pointed out. It is always nice to see people who enjoyed there experience here with us post their comments on trip adviser as people tend only to post... More

Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here during half term and were dubious having boycotted sometime ago due crap service and terrible food. The place was pleasant, as always, and we ordered quickly. Our food took over 45 minutes to come which was ridiculous given it wasn't that busy and all three of us ordered burger + chips. The food was okay - not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning to us because of the wait on your food and that the standard of food was not to your expectation. I have tried to look into this matter for you and can not find any details or complaints logged with regards to this particular matter. More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent value for money! We paid £45 for 1 night B&B and really couldn't find any fault. Friendly staff, clean room (number 5), huge bed. We had an evening meal in the pub which again was tasty and we were given a voucher for money off a bottle of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for a meal here but alas The food was not good at all. overpriced poor standard meals. staff were excellent dispite the poor quality of food. would not recommended and will not be back again. I had the mixed grill, the sausage was overdone, the egg was hard & the steak tough & grissely, o would say it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Firstly may I apologise to you with regards to your experience here with us at The Red Lion. We do appreciate your constructive criticism, as we are constantly needing guest feedback to ensure we are meeting guests expectations and seeing areas where we can improve. Thank-you for the comments with regard to the waiter and how good his service was.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Todwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Todwick
Red Lion Sheffield
Sheffield Red Lion

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Other (43)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay