We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chateau le Sallay

Certificate of Excellence
| Lieu dit Le Sallay, 58000 Saincaize-Meauce, Nevers, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Chateau le Sallay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

The manager of this property was outright disrepectful. She was intolerant of following the package deal we bought and constantly worried she was not going to get paid. She sent us on a bike ride staying it would be about an hour to a small village, since we wanted to buy some wine since there's was so expensive. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank marmuit
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Such a wonderful sight coming down the driveway, especially arriving at night,then being taken up a stone spiral staircase to our room...wow factor. We had the evening meal both evenings,as expected it was very good with impeccable service..the breakfast was also also of a high standard,in my view sensibly buffet style. We shall certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank Alan Y
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

What an incredible place to stay! Quiet, beautiful, peaceful, restful and the list goes on and on. I will most definitely return. The beds are comfortable. A typical French breakfast which was more than sufficient. I loved it

Helpful?
Thank Dion B
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Its a very peaceful place, a deserted area, you need to have a car to have access to the closet village, but its a beautiful place, the rooms are clean, the service is excellent, very welcoming and helpful stuff, always smiling, it was an enjoyable experience. The breakfast should have been slightly better.

Helpful?
Thank Rebeccariz
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Stayed here for just one night in April. Friendly staff, comfortable room & excellent restaurant. The hotel is set in beautiful countryside but is easily accessible from the motorway. Very quiet & restful. And, even though our dogs did not come into the hotel ...it is pet-friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Wythe2014
Barr
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed on a special deal, and what a deal it was. Although it took us a long time to find it (hint, hint to better signposting), it was certainly worth the up and down the small lanes. Weather wasn't with us, so it was comforting that the hotel was so pleasant right from the reception (wish I could remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorgen S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hotel cancelled my booking 3 weeks before we were due to stay claiming they had system problems and only just received the booking! The booking was made and confirmed 5 months previously!! Be very careful when booking with this place! The proprietors didn't even try to find me an alternative and I then had to scrabble around to find another... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Davio46
Regis C, Propriétaire at Hotel Chateau le Sallay, responded to this review

Dear David, I am definitely sorry about what happened, but we have tried to find an alternative for you, and the communication seems to have been broken at some stage. Hopefully, this type of issue is very rare.,If I may, I would advise you -and BTW any traveller- to give a call direct to the hotel, and not to blindly... More 

Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights with a friend in 2 rooms. Hotel was fine but they asked us too much money , over 120 euro, we only noticed after paying it. We went back to reception and apparently they had no money to pay difference back in cash and to put it on credit card not possible too. Since 2... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gilles1973
Regis C, Propriétaire at Hotel Chateau le Sallay, responded to this review

Dear Sir, It is really unfortunate that you are chosing trip advisor to talk to us, this would have been much more simple to get in touch directly with us and have a chat. As you can imagine, given the excellent reputation we have, we are definitely not the type of hotel not to reimburse a few euros should we... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Although a chateau is often a grand palace or castle it’s literal translation to English is a manor house and as you approach Le Sallay you can see that it is a very pretty one. The small staff were all friendly and welcoming. The evening meals were fabulously prepared and elegantly presented. Our room was large and airy and decorated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely property, I would agree with others it's more of a guest house than a hotel. Nice clean warm room on the ground floor with all mod cons looking out over the pool/garden area. It seemed as though there were only three or four staff, but they coped very well. Dinner was abit of a disappointment, little choice and came... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamRose2000
Regis C, Propriétaire at Hotel Chateau le Sallay, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I am delighted you have loved the property, but really sad you have not liked our concept around sustainable growth. We are the pilot for the Burgundy region, the whole property is managed in that spirit (wood heating, eletronic management of each single room, etc ), and this is as well true for our restaurant. All products are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saincaize-Meauce
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Croix De Vernuche
Hotel La Croix De Vernuche
#1 of 9 in Varennes-Vauzelles
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Paddock
Hotel Le Paddock
#1 of 1 in Magny-Cours
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kyriad Nevers Centre
Kyriad Nevers Centre
#3 of 24 in Nevers
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clos Sainte Marie
Clos Sainte Marie
#14 of 24 in Nevers
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Nevers Varennes Vauzelles
Ibis Budget Nevers Varennes Vauz...
#3 of 9 in Varennes-Vauzelles
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN de DIANE
BEST WESTERN de DIANE
#11 of 24 in Nevers
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay