We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 North Kawartha hotels

Viamede Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Viamede Resort to your Saves list
Viamede Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Kawartha
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Henik99 Hamilton, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
31
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this resort while on a business trip. I found the rooms to be clean and roomy, there are many activities for kids at the resort. I did notice one small hazard, in the area where breakfast is served there are two rooms the main one and a enclosed porch area where you can sit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Henik99, Thank you for your comments! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. I have not noticed anyone tripping on the ramps, but I will look into adding a yellow stripe to highlight it. Unfortunately, we don't know of these issues until someone points them out to us, but next time you are here, we will have this fixed.... More

Whitby, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had planned a family gathering and had reserved an updated cottage that they said offered the sleeping space and the amenities for our needs. On check in, we discovered that our cottage was not available (clerical error) and had been given to someone else. Surprisingly, they said that they couldn't guarantee specific cottages. Instead we were offered a non-renovated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear 75Don222, Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry that you were not happy with your cottage. It is indeed true that we don't promise specific cottage numbers, and as such, we did move your reservation. It can certainly be jarring to be told that we have changed your reservation, but it was not intended to be a... More

Peterborough, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are just back from 5 days at this resort: beautiful setting, committed and professional staff, fabulous food. Swimming, kayaking and canoeing - and a beautiful suite ot relax in for reading and watching movies - it is our favourite resort with a casual ambience that suits us perfectly (and we have travelled the world over). We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marletta7, Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to see you again! Cheers! Ben More

Ottawa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For $300.00+ per night I expected more than a bedroom with two doubles. Sitting area held a love seat and a single chair. Wall mounted TV was impossible to face. "Kitchen" consisted of one counter- just grim. Shame on them for such misleading photos. We left within ten minutes. I was sure that I would have a hassle from Bookings.com... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lucinda12, I was sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, when people book with 3rd party sites, we don't have the same opportunity to interact with them in advance and determine the best possible cottage, since all of our cottages are different. We booked a cottage for you that is larger than others, but does not have a kitchen... More

Nestleton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charming resort with character and history. Upgrades are in the works and more are on the way - will be exciting to see the resort in another year or two. Cottages are great for pets and some include kitchens where you can bring your own food and BBQ on the deck (or order a BBQ basket from the front desk).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear BarbG62013, Thank you for the great review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the incredible food at The Inn at Mount Julian. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Ben More

Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
34 hotel reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here several days and nights with a Gov't of Ontario organization for meetings. This resort were able to meet our needs with rooms, meals and a meeting room. My peers liked walking the groups but drank in their rooms instead of going to the resort bar. Such expenses are not covered by the gov't thus my peers kept their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear bob55russell, Thank you for leaving your review of Viamede. I'm glad to hear you were able to get some relaxing in, even on a work trip. Hope to see you again! Ben More

Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While it is normally required that you stay two nights at the weekends in the summer the person on the phone a few days before my visit allowed my to make a reservation for one night and I used it as an opportunity to have a day of relaxation on my way to the family cottage shortly after my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear RetireeMontreal, Thank you for your comments. I am happy you had a relaxing stay with us, and hope to see you soon on your next trip to the Kawarthas. Cheers! Ben More

Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked as a spring special and went on a mini-honeymoon after our wedding. Dog friendly, great staff, delicious food, we would defiantly go back, and would recommend to our friends. Location was great just far enough to get out of the city but still close enough for a weekend trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erin H, Thank you for your comments and congratulations on your wedding! We're so glad you had a great time on your mini-honeymoon and hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Ben More

Peterborough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We attended a Wedding and stayed in a great room facing the lake. Although the room wasn't very big everything else about this resort was actually great. Younger service which was ok and the manager came to our table which was nice. Looking to get away best bet to get a wag jag a bit on the pricey side but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lauren S, Thank you for your comments! I'm happy to hear you had a great time! Next time you come, let me know directly please, and I will get you an upgrade and a deal. I hope to see you soon! Cheers! Ben More

Brooklin, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Last week we randomly stopped at the Viamede for dinner and we ended up staying overnight. I had never been before but stopped and went inside to check it out. In the lobby we were met by two lovely ladies. We were advised of a special that is on until the end of June. For $189.00 it included dinner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi Guito4674, Thank you for your great review! I actually think that it was me who served you dinner. I hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Ben More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Viamede Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viamede Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort Ontario/North Kawartha, Canada

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Take part in relaxing spa treatments at the full service spa, enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio, or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer