We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 North Kawartha hotels

Viamede Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Viamede Resort to your Saves list
Viamede Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
68%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Kawartha
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
TheCliftonFamily
  • Overview
  • Reviews (116)
  • Photos (68)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • More
true
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
35
51
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights after spending 5 days canoeing and camping, so were ready for a little comfort and R&R. We came to the right place! The receptionist was really friendly on arrival, let us into our lodge early and there we enjoyed a great shower before heading to the bar for something to eat. The menu was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Some serious renovations were done here, taking a lovely old traditional Kawarthas resort to the next level, with more planned soon. Our room was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed - spotlessly clean throughout and with a lovely deck overlooking the tennis courts. We ate in the main dining room and at the Boathouse Pub, and both evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ted S, Thank you for the great review! We're very proud of the changes we've made, with more to come! Glad you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed the boat cruise. 'Til next time! Cheers! Ben More

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

About 20 years ago we visited Viamede with my family 3 years in a row, and then after my mom died it was very emotional to go back. In 2013 we started coming back to Viamede and noticed big changes at this resort. We stayed in the cottages and it seems all the cottages have been renovated and new cottages... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Filcan101, We are so happy you've chosen Viamede as your annual family summer vacation. We have indeed made many changes and have another round of major renovations planned for the coming winter. We will make sure to look into the issues you've mentioned as well. We're excited to show you the improvements when you come back next summer. See... More

Ajax, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently spent a Sunday an Monday night at this resort. We were a little disappointed that we found a used face cloth in the bathroom and that when we tried to use the towel rail to the right of the sink it fell off the wall. We also noticed that glasses left on the terrace at some point prior to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear AJM1960, Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and your dinner, but I'm sorry that everything was not up to your expectations. Your experience is not the norm, but we'll make sure procedures are reviewed so it doesn't happen again. I do hope you'll give us another chance to "wow" you. Cheers!... More

toronto, ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night only & I wished we had stayed for several days. We opted for the romance package & it was quite good value. The room was comfortable, the view was magnificent. The bathroom was painfully small but that is usually the case in older hotels We really enjoyed our breakfast buffet & our evening meal. Really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi hkfromerin, I'm glad you enjoyed your romantic visit here! We normally only allow dogs in the cottages, not the main building. But we are happy you enjoyed the incredible views and a great dining experience. Cheers! Ben More

Aurora, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second trip to Viamede this summer. It is a very "kid friendly" resort. Nice little park at the beach, water trampoline (although be prepared to swim briefly over some weeds - then it gets deep and you'll be fine), and sand toys available. The pool is clean with a few pool toys available and a hot tub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi BratPadRuler, Thank you for your review! We work hard to make sure our guests have lots of outdoor fun and it sounds like you and your family took full advantage of the free activities. We're so happy you had a great vacation. Hope to see you again soon, and yes, we'll have an indoor pool here next year! Cheers!... More

Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went the pub before a boat cruise. We were there 90 minutes before the boat left. Let our server know we were getting on the boat. Service was slow (not her fault - will give that one to the kitchen). Server was short, not friendly at all and literally threw our drinks and food down on the table. Had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear sunnydaze20, I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at the Boathouse. It can be frustrating when we have a rush of people all at once. We have extensive renovations planned for the pub this winter, so we can handle more people there in the future. As we want to make sure cottages are prepped and clean for... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

/We were there for a great gathering at the resort. A compliment to the kitchen. The food was wonderful - and the breakfast buffet was nice too. The location of the resort cannot be more spectacular on the shores of Stoney Lake. The lake cruise on the Kawartha Spirit was breathtakingly beautiful and very well piloted on a very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear EagerBeaver_37, Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we were fully booked during your visit, we did place you in the best alternative room, and showed you a few other options when you were unhappy with the Hilltop Lodge. We try to go above and beyond for our... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Viamede Resort in a private cottage this past weekend, and it was lovely. Our cottage overlooked the lake and we had all the benefits of a private cottage along with the amenities of a resort - 2 restaurants and a pub to choose from, a pool, a marina with free canoe rental and paid boat rental, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stacey J, I'm glad to hear you had such a great stay with us. We do try to give guests the "private cottage plus amenities" experience, and it sounds like we did just that! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Ben More

Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this resort while on a business trip. I found the rooms to be clean and roomy, there are many activities for kids at the resort. I did notice one small hazard, in the area where breakfast is served there are two rooms the main one and a enclosed porch area where you can sit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Henik99, Thank you for your comments! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. I have not noticed anyone tripping on the ramps, but I will look into adding a yellow stripe to highlight it. Unfortunately, we don't know of these issues until someone points them out to us, but next time you are here, we will have this fixed.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Viamede Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viamede Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort Ontario/North Kawartha, Canada

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Take part in relaxing spa treatments at the full service spa, enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio, or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer