We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 North Kawartha hotels

Viamede Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Save Saved
You added Viamede Resort to your Saves list
Viamede Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013
LorK K Brantford, Canada
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
44
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent a weekend here with family. Accommodations were tired and in need of TLC. breakfast was good but staff at breakfast were not very friendly. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. not much to do in the area. We did the cook in BBQ pkg one night and found it to be very expensive. We also had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We own a small business but as part of our strategy to stay on track and grow the business, we try to have at least one strategic planning trip a year. We chose Viamede because it was close to home. We went in the fall in hopes that most of the tourists had left. We stayed in one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited for our wedding anniversary weekend and stayed in one of the cottages. Upon check-in we were advised that a wedding would be taking place directly in front of out cottage and that the main restaurant that we had hoped to dine in to celebrate our anniversary would be closed on both nights of our stay due to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Leemo665, I am sorry that this was your experience of Viamede Resort. As we had already discussed, we did have our fine dining restaurant, the Inn at Mount Julian, open, which you are saying is too far to go. However, the distance is only about 200 feet past 1885, which is the restaurant you lament being closed, and there... More

Keene, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband surprised me with a one night stay on a thursday night at this amazing resort!! We had the dining room all to ourselves with an excellent waitress...All inc was a night in room with a fireplace and jacuzzi...an excellent meal and breakfast that would put the Irish breakfasts we have experienced to shame...well not really but pretty darn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shelley, Thank you very much for your great review. I'm happy to hear that you had a great time, and I do hope that you take advantage of our referral program. We'll see you on New Year's Eve! Cheers! Ben More

Toronto Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A weekend was spent in a cupboard for almost $800.00.What a disappointment. Luckily we were out on the water most of the time.The room was very tiny with a shower that you could not tun around in and held these new large size multi use containers of shampoo and conditioner.I usually bring my own but this time I had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear iluvwildbirds, Thank you for your comments. To be fair, the (almost) $800 was a package that included 6 meals, docking for your boat, several activities with the resort, taxes and service charge, and was negotiated with the association with which you were traveling. I agree that the room you were in was smaller than others, but you had told... More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The weekend of Aug 116-18 Jason, Finn & I were lucky to be able to go away to the beautiful Viamede Resort on Stoney Lake, close to Buckhorn. Thanks to Charming Media and the staff at Viamede for making this a weekend to remember. I felt a little bit like we were at Kellerman's and kinda expected Johnny & Baby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carlyannedotcom, I'm glad you had a great time with Finn while you were here. It was a great weekend, and you certainly seemed to have fun. I look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers! Ben More

Martville, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for my step-daughters wedding reception and the views are spectacular. The room was okay, but the bathroom fixtures were ancient, even though the rest of the room had been renovated and was very nice. We had a balcony to keep track of all the wedding party down below us, but the cabins were too pricey to stay in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a good time, even if the prices were a little high. I agree that the main lodge rooms are noisy during weddings, which is why we generally only let wedding guests book them. Hopefully, we will see you again next year. Cheers! Ben More

Derry
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This weekend was so relaxing and just what we hoped for. Canoe, paddle boating, hiking, kayaking & swimming just to name a few! Our little cabin was so neat and all we needed. We should have thought to bring our own BBQ meat-didnt get using it unfortunately. This place has to be seen or your own eyes. Stoney Lake is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear AMEDerry, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you got out on Stoney Lake. I hope to see you soon! Cheers! Ben More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Viamede over Labour Day. There are plenty of great points about this resort, the most important being a fabulous location directly on Stony Lake. If weather is on your side, there are a number of features offered to enhance the stay which we largely took advantage of, including waterskiing lessons, kayaks, canoes, a half-hour cruise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bingler, Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed, we do pride ourselves on being very pet friendly, and we find that most pet owners are actually great with their dogs. I will look into expanding the patio, as it certainly is one of the smallest ones we have, but look forward to seeing you again next year. Cheers!... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is fantastic with beautiful views of Stoney lake and the service is very friendly but it is way overpriced. When you pay as much, you have higher expectations in terms of the standard of the accommodation. The cottages are small and worn down (which wouldn't be a problem if charged less).

Was this review helpful? Yes
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear 714ayala, Thank you for your comments. I understand your concerns about price, and we do often offer specials which may be slightly less convenient, but do offer considerable savings. I do hope that we get to see you again soon. Cheers! Ben More

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Hotel
Viamede Resort Ontario/North Kawartha, Canada
Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viamede Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Take part in relaxing spa treatments at the full service spa, enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio, or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viamede Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.