We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau St. Gerlach

4.0 of 5 Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chateau St. Gerlach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau St. Gerlach
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    81
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
92
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting with a group of friends for the Christmas Caves we were delighted with the entire experience from prior to checking in to checking out! One of our guests had booked the wrong night but the hotel had corrected this in advance- so excellent service there by the reservation team Staff on hand to transport our luggage from the cars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear gwp12c, Thank you very much for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. We are very thankfull that you share your expierences at our estate. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our hospitality and especially our service. We will share your positive comments with all our departments; as this is our goal! We hope to welcome... More 

Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay at this very nice and cozy hotel near Valkenburg. We stayed in a junior suite and had bought a 2 days package with 2 times 5-course menus first at the hotel, then at Chateau Neercanne. The evening we had at the hotel restaurant was so great, nice staff and good food in fantastic surroundings. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is ok. Room are good, not special. Service is good. Bar is nice. Breakfast is good with very friendly service. I believe the breakfast was the best of the whole stay. We also went to the spa. This was a huge dissapointment, since they allow people to take their babies in the pool! How hygienic is that? Spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Sandy, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear that you liked our service, bar and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction of our Spa. All babies in our Spa are obliged to wear a swim diaper, which are hygienic as most bacteria including E.coli... More 

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Hi, We spent a second stay at this hotel (family of 4 with small kids). The hotel apartments are nice, spacious, fairly well equipped (fridge a bit dated). The surroundings are very good looking (calm, green, well maintained). The spa/pool is very nice, relaxing etc. The staff is friendly and efficient. The kitchen (bistro) is unfortunately not as good (far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Henk K, Thank you very much for your second stay with your family at Château St. Gerlach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our estate and hospitality once again. We are very sorry to hear about your expierences in Bistrot de Liège. We would appreciate to receive more detailed information about your expierence. For sure our Restaurant... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Thank you to Chateau St Gerlach repeat stay from a year ago and cannot fault. Nothing too much trouble. Understated elegance with that country house feel highly recommended. Hope to be back one day soon. Enjoyable relaxing stay in a deluxe room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the apartment as it was recommended by the reception when traveling with family. I can see that in the 80's this must have been a hip place and five star but now the place is old and outdated. There is no air condition in the bedroom, but a radiator and a window. The bedroom has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Davisandco, Thank you for your review at tripadvisor about your stay at Château St. Gerlach. We strive to make each and every guest an ambassador after check out, something we clearly did not achieve in your case. You have been staying in one of our apartments which did not meet your expectations. We would like to offer our apologies... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The hotel and its surroundings are fabulous, we had a beautiful room and had dinner with our daughter at the brasserie, we had another dinner without her in the restaurant. We often enjoy a dinner at a high class restaurant and we were a bit disappointed about this dinner. The prices are very high so our expectations were the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Co Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

On first arrival at this hotel it looked so nice, all looked well. We were staying here as we booked this hotel through Andre Rieu travel, we were here to see the concert on the Saturday night, we decided to book an extra two nights. When we arrived, which was late afternoon and after traveling most of the day, wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Bunbun, We hope you have enjoyed your overall time with us and the services we offered. We also hope the Andre Rieu’s concert was to your liking. Not all our rooms offer airconditioning, we can imagine you preferred a different room which was easier to cool due to the unusually high temperatures. Our apologies for the inconveniences it caused.... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very unusual and very good. This was the recommended venue for guests who had come to Maastricht for the Andre Rieu concert. There are many room options. If you come at concert time the room prices double for the week so watch your bills and don't order indiscrimatorily. There are only a few negatives one of which is offering a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just spent 4 days at this hotel to attend the Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht on the 5th of July. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have first class food, service with great staff. It is situated on a very beautiful estate set in super gardens with many walks nearby. We could not find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valkenburg

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay