We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau St. Gerlach

Certificate of Excellence
Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chateau St. Gerlach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    134
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
103
208
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Uccle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall the experience was positive, however, we were disappointed by a couple of things. We booked a Junior suite and the suite we were initially given was not looking like the one on the website. It looked not that stylish, no view and quite noisy because overlooking the dining area. However, after having complained about it, we were given a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This beautiful gem of a hotel is set between Aachen and Maastricht making you feel the beauty of the countryside while close enough to visit the surrounding towns. The breakfast buffet is amazing set in a beautiful terrace looking at the fruit trees and hills. The only set back are the bathrooms since the tub is so high it makes... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear celismas, Absolutely fantastic to hear that you loved your stay within our historic walls and the surroundings, thank you for sharing your feedback. Great to hear that you liked the breakfast; with a wide range of all kind of bread, super foods and many other delicious products. Thank you for mentioning the fact about the bathroom, please don’t hesitate... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay in Chateau St.-Gerlach. The location, service, accommodation & restaurant of the hotel are wonderfull. If you want to visit Maastricht, I can recommend to stay in this hotel as it is very quiet and you can take the minibus of the hotel towards Maastricht.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear lynevanha, Great to hear you had such a lovely stay in our hotel, thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. I’m very glad you are enthusiastic about our estate! Good to hear that you used our complimentary shuttle bus towards Maastricht; our goal is to satisfy all our guests and I’m sure we achieve this goal with you.... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved everything about our stay in this lovely hotel. There is a silent grandeur to it, simple but exquisite, with an unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere. We loved the fusion of old & new, of nature & art. Service was on spot and food was really good. An added plus was it's baby friendly... My baby really enjoyed our stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear 612jose, What great to hear you had such a marvelous stay in our hotel, thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. I'm happy you are enthusiastic about estate, the arts and the food! Our goal is to satisfy all our guests, including the little ones and I’m sure we achieve this goal with you. We always strive to... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We absolutely loooooved our stay here. The place is exceptionally beautiful - the rooms are large and clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and really nice to go walking around. There is a pool with a hammam, which was wonderful to relax at the end of the day. We didn't get to try the restaurant, but the menu looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Tania D, Absolutely fantastic to hear that you loved your stay within our historic walls. Very nice that you visit our Spa & Wellness, it is a beautiful place to relax and to free your mind. Next time when you visit us we will be happy to welcome you at our restaurant. Thank you for your feedback and your... More 

Novetty -Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay and we can highly recommend it for a comfortable stay in Limburg. Location, service, accomodation and dinning are all wonderful. It is also an ideal starting point for a hiking or cycling trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear 659bl, Thank you for your second stay within our historic walls of our estate Château St. Gerlach. Very nice to hear that you like the location and accommodation of the hotel. I’m happy to hear you are enthusiastic about our dining! We always strive to give our guests the best service and try to make all their wishes come... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The venue was a pleasant surprise. We decided to try it out, not being sure that it was a family friendly place. The children just loved it. Only thing was that the breakfast is rather expensive, and the road to the breakfast is like 15 minutes walk if you're in one of the appartments.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NYC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a top historic property in the countryside. Our friends live nearby and recommended it for a stay to see Maastricht. When I arrived they had trouble finding my reservation and eventually it was made clear I had made an error and reserved for the previous night, it was a non refundable fare with breakfast. They gave me the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear shozgirl, Thank you very much for your feedback, I really appreciate it! Great to read that your friends recommend our estate. I'm very sorry about the inconvenience of your reservation. As I would like to receive more details about your reservation, please contact me to speak about the situation in person on 0031436088888. Our apologize that you didn't receive... More 

.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very bad furnitured room . The price of 175 euro per night expects more comfort spaciallu for such a place.The only good thing was our own private terrace. I hope you have better rooms too. But the garden, breakfast were just excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Front Office Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear 712sk, It is my pleasure you have been our guest at Château St. Gerlach. It’s great to read you enjoyed our gardens and the breakfast buffet. We do have lots of different rooms with each its own character and all individually designed. I will make a note in your guest profile to show you a few different rooms when... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When you enter to the territory of the chateau, the only thing you can say "wow!" So beautiful it is. We have booked the room in the chateau via booking.com for 175 euro a night and we sure that the room should be reasonable. Take a look at the picture. That's the view from the bad.The TV is almost behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauStGerlach, Front Office Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Nadya7799, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear you clearly got the ‘wow’-feeling by entering our Estate. My sincere apologies the room did not meet your expectations and I’m sorry you even though the furniture was messy. Each room is individually designed and they all have a different atmosphere. Since we have many... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
10.1 mi away
WinselerHof
WinselerHof
#1 of 2 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thermaetel
Thermaetel
#6 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#4 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
4.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay