We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Lappeenranta hotels

Original Sokos Hotel Lappee

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brahenkatu 1, Lappeenranta 53100, Finland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Lappee to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Lappee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lappeenranta
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lindalex85 Helsinki, Finland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (96)
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    30
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
26
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, so can only review the absolute basics. The room was clean and quite spacious. The bathroom had a bath with shower. The beds were comfortable enough, but we had problem sleeping because of the heat.. The room did not have air-conditioning (hence the 3 stars instead of 4)! So might wanna take that in consideration... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lappee, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for telling about your experinces. Good that you liked i.e. the breakfast. I am little surprised when you tell that we don't have air conditioning. We have it actually with the cooling system. Maybe there was problem with using it? Next time please let my staff to help you with it. Sorry anyway! Katja hotel manager More

Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed one night during Easter holiday. The location of the the hotel in great, and the convenient free parking is a nice bonus. When you walk out, you are in the centre, and the staff was very helpful in showing instructions. We room was a bit small, but clean and cozy, and the bed was very confortable. The view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lappee, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Katja, "my Kaima" thank you very much for writing so nicely about us. It is always so nice to hear that everything was ok and Customer is satisfyed and willing to return some day :)! You are welcome! Katja hotel manager ps. summer time is perfect in Lappeenranta - try! More

St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was my first time to Lappeenranta and my friend and i decided to stay in Sokos Lappee. Before making any reservation i decided to check the reviews submitted by fellow travelers and, after seeing mostly positive reviews, decided to book it. I even requested the hotel for a room with specific view to the street and, in less than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lappee, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we are especially delighted by your writings. Thank You! And I promise: we will do our best to keep this status also in the future. Welcome again! Katja hotel manager More

Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

location is OK, breakfast as in all SOKOS hotels, nothing special. My room was too small, so if you have luggage with you, you need to figure out where to put it. There are a lot of Russian in the city and in the Hotel, so do not surprise if you feel like been in Russia. not recommended to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lappee, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Zaza, we have few small rooms and then we have little bit bigger rooms... The building is old and we have different sized rooms. You must have been in the smallest one. If you put a mention to the reservation "Please, room in 2nd / 3rd floor" you'll get a bigger one. Have a nice day! Katja hotel manager More

Palermo, Italia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In a good position of city, with everything we need in about 5 minutes by feet. Perfect service, good cleaning, good breakfast. Everybody friendly and helped us for everything we asked (information, taxi, restaurants). If you want to spend a good holiday in Lappe this is your hotel (they have free wifi, free sauna and free parking).

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Giorgio, me and my staff were SO pleased to hear this feedback. Thank You and welcome again! Katja Pellinen hotelmanager More

St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was there for one day in September 2013. Quite nice room, very friendly reception (help us to park our bicycles), nice swimming pool and sauna. Good location. Good choice of food on a breakfast buffet, but as usual in Finland no service - nobody meet you, nobody greet. you, nobody clean your table. I see the review that coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your opinion about our hotel. It's nice that you liked many things. At the breakfast unfortunately there might be some times too rush and waitress will not pick up dishes soon enough. We understand how important it is to communicate with customers also at the breakfast. Our own stafff is good at it I think.... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Location is great and the front desk very helpful.Stayed here for 8 nights and the linens were changed once!One day I took out the pillowcase so they can put a clean one and all I got was the I wrong side of the pillowcase!(I could have done that)Another 3 days they just replace the towels fix the bed like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Pipitsa T., I am very sorry about what you have been through at my hotel. This is not the way our service should be. Please send me you contact information and I will recearch this case more closely. My email: katja.pellinen@sok.fi Best regards Katja, hotel manager More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for a week during a business trip to Lappeenranta. The hotel is very warm and welcoming and the front desk were always happy to help. The room was a decent size and had a fab designer bathroom. Very comfy bed and a weeks worth of great sleeps. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide range of food available. The bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear BarryMip, thank you very much for your feed back - we are very happy when we succeed to serve our customers well. Welcome again! best regards Katja, hotel manager More

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Clean hotel in city center, basic Sokos. Rooms whit shower, tv, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Buffet breakfast, free private parking. Hotel located in the city center. All within walking distance: the harbor, Fort, Market Square, and bars. You can rent a bicycle free of charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not impressed by this hotel, which has seen its better days. When we returned back late after dinner and drinks, we noticed that there was only one pillow and one towel. After having received the missing ones, we noticed that the (one..) small blanket was only intended for one person - we didn't however have the energy to call the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this review

Dear Fin2world, I am sorry things went not well during your visit. You are right - you probably did get a single room instead og a double. I am sorry and I will remain my staff to be more careful with this issue in the future. When the hotel is fully booked the breakfast room might be that too during... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Lappee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Lappee

Address: Brahenkatu 1, Lappeenranta 53100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Lappeenranta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Original Sokos Hotel Lappee 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Lappee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sokos Hotel Lappee is situated in the heart of Lappeenranta, near shopping possibilities, restaurants and get-together places. It is also only a walk away from the harbour. The hotel comprises of 209 cosy rooms with air conditioning and cooling system. There are seven meeting rooms with AV equipment and Internet access. The hotel also boasts Italian type dining restaurant Casanova and a comfortable Bar Café Piccolo. In addition there are 5 saunas, a 14-meter pool and a little gym in the sauna department. Welcome to be served by us! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
209

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer