We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

I stayed here for a 2 day business trip. The room was small but comfortable. Nice bathroom with lots of space. As for the bed, it's a bit small but with a good bed spring. What annoyed me was the TV, it has a bright blue led on the front that shines very bright when it is in standby and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Moisandor
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Moisandor Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Late check-in went without problems; the hotel was easy to find, coming from the ferry terminal. The room was perfectly adequate for a good night's sleep. Internet connection included in the room rate worked very well which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was tasty and inlcuded both warm and cold dishes. Upon arrival there was no assistance given with luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Axu K
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

but unfortunately management fails. Three important things did not function in our room and gave a bad impression. The handle to the glass sliding door to the toilet was loose and threatened to fall on the floor. The door could not be closed and slipped up. The water in the sink wanted to stay in the sink when we wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank janeigi
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However... More 

Travelers are raving about these Frederikshavn hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I needed a room. I was told only one left in the annex building 2 blocks from the main one. They said: same quality, same price. I took it. As soon as I walked to the annex the very same room was advertised by the door half price. (Picture enclosed) Bad business. The building is old, run down, not really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IvanP_M
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tak, fordi du udfyldte spørgeskemaet vedrørende dit nylige ophold hos os. På hele vores teams vegne vil jeg gerne beklage,... More 

Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We planed to stay a couple of nights here as hotel room, facilities and breakfast was perfect nothing there to complain about. Unfortunately they had only rooms facing the street available and as it was a Friday night we could not sleep a wink! Restaurant below attracts many drunk youngsters, cars driving through all night! And as room was terribly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Theoscarssons
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times over the past years and have always been treated kindly and professionally. Located right in Frederikshavn, which can cause a bit of noise, but at the same time many different restaurents and bars. The hotel serves a really good breakfast buffet.

Helpful?
Thank Morten R
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Morten Thank you for the postive review of our hotel. Hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Karina Ipsen BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Been here many times before. Last year I almost paid twice as the hotel wanted to charge me again despite that our stay was fully paid through Hotels.com. Everyone can do a mistake - but the same thing happened this year. Unnecessary and annoying.

Helpful?
1 Thank Egon H
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear guest . We are incredible sad that the same has happened to you twice. We apologize of cause and hope you return soon. Best Regards Gitte Knudsen Best Western Hotel Herman Bang More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I'm glad we didn't read the reviews before we stayed at the Best Western Herman Bang. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were more than helpful and cheerfully answered our many questions about where to find things. The central location made it easy to get to anything we needed. Thank you to the staff. Two Australian travelers.

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
HotelHermanBang, Receptionist at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Kære gæst. Mange tak for de fine ord, vi er glade for at vi kan levere et godt produkt og... More 

Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Positives: good location, clean rooms, nice personnel, decent breakfast. Frederikshavn is a beautiful, cosy town with nice citizens. Flaws: This is rather a hostel than a hotel. Rooms are tiny - really tiny. As for European like me it was enough, but a hint for American tourists: the room is a size of your walk-in closet. We were staying on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Joanna We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have never been in Frederikshavn and were choosing between Best Western and Hotel Jutlandia, and unfortunately we chose Best Western. There were to reasons for this, we did not know the town and from map we thought Best Western to be more central. However the town is so small there is about five minutes walk between them. The second... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 500Thora
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederikshavn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#4 of 16 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 16 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 16 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
Danhostel Frederikshavn City
#6 of 16 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lisboa
Hotel Lisboa
#13 of 16 in Frederikshavn
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay