We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    25
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
14
34
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

but unfortunately management fails. Three important things did not function in our room and gave a bad impression. The handle to the glass sliding door to the toilet was loose and threatened to fall on the floor. The door could not be closed and slipped up. The water in the sink wanted to stay in the sink when we wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I needed a room. I was told only one left in the annex building 2 blocks from the main one. They said: same quality, same price. I took it. As soon as I walked to the annex the very same room was advertised by the door half price. (Picture enclosed) Bad business. The building is old, run down, not really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tak, fordi du udfyldte spørgeskemaet vedrørende dit nylige ophold hos os. På hele vores teams vegne vil jeg gerne beklage,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Frederikshavn hotels

Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We planed to stay a couple of nights here as hotel room, facilities and breakfast was perfect nothing there to complain about. Unfortunately they had only rooms facing the street available and as it was a Friday night we could not sleep a wink! Restaurant below attracts many drunk youngsters, cars driving through all night! And as room was terribly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times over the past years and have always been treated kindly and professionally. Located right in Frederikshavn, which can cause a bit of noise, but at the same time many different restaurents and bars. The hotel serves a really good breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Morten Thank you for the postive review of our hotel. Hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Karina Ipsen BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Been here many times before. Last year I almost paid twice as the hotel wanted to charge me again despite that our stay was fully paid through Hotels.com. Everyone can do a mistake - but the same thing happened this year. Unnecessary and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear guest . We are incredible sad that the same has happened to you twice. We apologize of cause and hope you return soon. Best Regards Gitte Knudsen Best Western Hotel Herman Bang More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I'm glad we didn't read the reviews before we stayed at the Best Western Herman Bang. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were more than helpful and cheerfully answered our many questions about where to find things. The central location made it easy to get to anything we needed. Thank you to the staff. Two Australian travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Receptionist at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Kære gæst. Mange tak for de fine ord, vi er glade for at vi kan levere et godt produkt og... More 

Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Positives: good location, clean rooms, nice personnel, decent breakfast. Frederikshavn is a beautiful, cosy town with nice citizens. Flaws: This is rather a hostel than a hotel. Rooms are tiny - really tiny. As for European like me it was enough, but a hint for American tourists: the room is a size of your walk-in closet. We were staying on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Joanna We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have never been in Frederikshavn and were choosing between Best Western and Hotel Jutlandia, and unfortunately we chose Best Western. There were to reasons for this, we did not know the town and from map we thought Best Western to be more central. However the town is so small there is about five minutes walk between them. The second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The rooms are very small , the toilets are only big enough for up to 6 years old children, no air because they dont want you to open the windows, beds are not comfortable. However at least the breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent 6 nights at this hotel in connection with a soccer tournament. We stayed in one of their "economy" rooms on the top floor under the roof. The room itself was comfortable, if a bit cramped. We had a roof skylight instead of a window, which added to privacy but not much to air circulation. The bed was extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#2 of 16 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Somandshjemmet
19.6 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 3 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
7.9 mi away
No photo provided
Jerup Bette Kro
#1 of 1 in Jerup
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay