We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Sonderborg

3.5 of 5 Ellegaardvej 27, Soenderborg 6400, Denmark
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Sonderborg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Sonderborg
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
19
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Yaatrika
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was good. The rooms were sort of trying hard to impress but the reality is that it is an older facility. I realize I'm spoiled by American hotel standards but it was shockingly overpriced for what it is, and where it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hi Yatrikt1 Thank you for staying at Scandic Sonderborg, and thank your for your feedback. I am of course happy to read that you found our staff wonderfull and that you liked our breakfast. Regarding the pricing we are on a daily basis working with this to make sure our prices are fair and competetive in our local market -... More 

Sønderborg, Sonderjylland, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I have been using Scandic Sonderborg as a base for my Company activities throughout the fall of 2014. It is truly a great staff, going out of their way to make sure I can focus on improving my business, while they handle any request I pose to them. The facilities more than live up to my expectations and the access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hello Marck T Thank you very much for your great and positive feedback. It of course makes me happy and proud, and I will share it with the entire staff. Good luck with your business. We are happy to see you back in 2015 :-) Best regards Niels Sørensen General Manager More 

Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Spacious, clean rooms but lacking the added value I expect from a hotel. No additional pillows, blankets. No mini bar or fridge in the room. Bathroom is very basic and a bit worn - but clean. Internet is free of charge and pretty ok for a hotel network.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hello Kristof R Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am of course glad to see that you find our rooms spacious and clean, at that our free Wifi is working god. Regarding the additionals we are always ready to bring pillows and blankets to your room. It is corretct that we have taken out the minibar. Not many guests... More 

Karlovac, Croatia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you are travelling to Sonderborg, there is not much opinion for hotels. There are just few of them and if you take Scandic, you will not regret. In this hotel you will find everything what you can not find in most recognzed hotels. Here is swimming pool, sauna, childrens corner, even you can find room with billiard and games.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hi DiRRektoR Thank you very much for your fine feed back. It really makes me proud and happy, and I will of course share you fine words with the entire staff. Once again thank you. We hope to see you back soon :-) Best regards Niels Sørensen General Manager More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Scandics are and remain a known value and standard, this one is no exception. It is local for a lot of the Sonderbourg business', and useful as consequence. Layout, cleanliness, restaurant are formulaic, but none the worse for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hi Neir R Thank you for your positive feedback and the four stars. I am glad that you liked to stay with us. Hope to see you back. Best regards Niels Sørensen General Manager More 

Aarhus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Went to visit the border area between Germany and Denmark, and then of course also the top attraction of Danfoss Universe. The hotel has discounted entrance tickets, so don't buy in advance over the internet. We had heard from other families that this was a good place to stay, and we were satisfied with our stay. Nice breakfast. However, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hi Saldenryd I thank you for your fine feedback, and are of course happy to read that you had a nice stay, and that some of your friends did recommend us. We hope to see you back at Scandic Sønderborg. Best regards Niels Sorensen General Manager More 

Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife, 2 kids and an Infant. We were part of a big group on business visiting one of the Factories in Sonderborg. Hotel is situated close to the Sonderborg Airport with a country setting which I quite liked. Check in was quick, and the staff were smiling and polite , helped take our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hi Aamer Thank you very much for you fine and positive feedback. I am of course very happy to read that you had a nice stay, and that you find our staff eager to help and provide service. We hope to see you back on Scandic Sonderborg one day. best regards Niels Sorensen General Manager More 

Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had 3 nights with my wife on the hotel and I’m disappointed. The hotel staffs were positive and smiling and tried their best to help, but the hotel was overheated! – they had no recirculation of the air. The pool was closed due to bacteria and no one was working on the cleaning. The restaurant was warm to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hello Svanner I thank you for your feedback, which came to my knowledge this morning. I am of course happy to read that you find our staff happy and smiling, but of course sorry to read that not everything went good while you were here. This summer has been one of the warmest summers in 140 years (top 3), and... More 

Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Because we like nice hotels where it is worthwhile to stay - we booked a room in this hotel. We figured when booking a room in a 4**** hotel for 990 DKK = 136 euro, we could expect a nice room. Scandic is not the most fancy hotel chain, but in general it is rather good. The hotel building is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niels S, Direktør at Scandic Sonderborg, responded to this review

Hello Geert I thank you for your feedback, which came to my knowledge today. I am glad to read that you find our staff really nice. I am of course very sorry to read that several things went wrong during your stay. Of course the cleaning was not good enough, and because of your comment we have now changed some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Sonderborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sonderborg

Address: Ellegaardvej 27, Soenderborg 6400, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Soenderborg Municipality > Soenderborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sonderborg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Sonderborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Sonderborg
Scandic Sonderborg Denmark/Soenderborg

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay