We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantley House Hotel

Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cantley House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cantley House Hotel
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    69
    37
    25
    18
See reviews for
51
98
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the superior executive room which had a Jacuzzi bath and a separate shower. The rooms are spacious, very clean and the staff are very friendly. We had a lovely stay and will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay here for work quite often, as there sin't too much choice in the area. The hotel is decent, but quite old. A big minus is that it only is clean on the first glimpse. If you look a second longer, you'll see that they clean only passingly, and miss a lot of spots. Breakfast really sucks big time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took two 90 year old ladies out for afternoon tea on Monday 16th March to celebrate my Mum's birthday. Phoned in the morning and told you had to book. So I did. Arrived at 4pm. All good, the two elderly ladies assisted to our table. Two other tables just finishing and a couple in the corner. Tea arrived. So far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed before in this hotel and been entirely satisfied with all its facilities, including the quality of the food and service in its restaurant, but our recent stay last weekend was another story. A change of room was necessary due to an unrepaired heating fault and dinner that night took an hour for our steaks to appear -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen S, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I do apologise for causing you anguish, especially with breakfast. We had around 50 guests coming to the restaurant at the same time which led to delays. We are going to address this going forward and have more staff on the floor on busy weekends. I'm delighted to... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderfully located, take dogs and has really great area to walk them. We stayed overnight for a function which was delightful and well organised with really lovely food. It all went wrong when we went for breakfast. It was an absolute shambles, there were not enough tables or staff. Wait times were totally unacceptable, no bread was available for toast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B, I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the hotel and enjoyed our banqueting as well. Indeed, we had an issue with breakfast as all 50 of our guests arrived in the restaurant at the same time. It's not an excuse and going forward we will... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a voucher for afternoon tea from travel zoo and had booked over the phone and given voucher details as requested. On arrival, we went to the main reception, the receptionist took our details and looked at her computer then directed us the Milton restaurant. When we got to the restaurant, the waiter said he had no booking in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinPhilpot, Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations for Afternoon Tea in our restaurant. We did not have your reservation on our system and we were fully booked in the restaurant. I'm sorry for the confusion but the receptionist did not check your reservation but only the details of your vouchers. This created unnecessary confusion as at... More 

HAVANT HANTS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for one night for a wedding, our room was in the annex, a lovely sized room and bathroom and extremely clean and well presented. The staff in bar were extremely accommodating and the breakfast in the same area the next morning was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bel1966, Thank you ever so much for your great feedback on Cantley House. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Superior Rooms. Thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness and a delicious breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Miltons restaurant was very nice and food was A1 for both evening meal and breakfast. Room slightly tired and in need of a refresh but the hotel have this in hand as they are in an upgrade process. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pau1G, Please accept my sincere thanks for leaving a review on Cantley House. It's very reassuring to hear that you thought that our staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I agree, that our Cozy Doubles are slightly dated in decor and we are in the process of updating them one by one. Many thanks for... More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you like quaint British Victorian Houses you'll like this hotel. It's well worn-in,friendly and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and helpful. I'd stay in the house rather than the new rooms, if you want to experience to Victoriana. It does come with typical British plumbing, takes a while for the hot water to get to the showers; room 17... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toni M Please accept a massive thanks for your review on Cantley House Hotel. It really does mean so much to read such comments and we again accept our thanks. We do hope you visit us again so we can thank you in person. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Cantley House Hotel and would recommend it to anyone! Having booked our stay with a Wowcher deal it was all such good value for money and we would love to go back. We paid an extra £10 to upgrade our room and it was well worth it; clean, comfy, spacious and a ginormous bath!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebeccaandjames, Many thanks for firstly choosing Cantley House for your short stay and secondly for leaving us such a fantastic review. It goes without saying that we really do hope to see you again in the future for a longer stay. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question