We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantley House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cantley House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cantley House Hotel
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    62
    32
    23
    16
See reviews for
45
91
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very picturesque hotel in it's own grounds in a lovely location. The staff were very welcoming on this very cold bitter day. The room was acceptable, although the central heating did not come on until after 4:00 and it was very cold in the room before that. It is a rabbit warren of a building but this is part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hill Ridware, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel are as good as those at some of the top hotels in London Very welcoming and accommodating We stayed in one of the newer rooms in the clock tower extension. The room was on the ground floor with access to the garden and outside patio area (good for wheelchair access). The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us went to the Hollywood evening on Friday 5 December. We had to pre-order our menu two weeks before. Apparently we were sent the wrong order and had to choose again. The evening started at 7pm with a drink of prosecco. At 7.30pm we were asked to take our seats in the marquee. It was nicely decorated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a Sparkling afternoon Tea for 2 for my partner on his birthday at the Travelzoo website for this location. It was perfect! It is a lovely countryside setting and the Milton Restaurant is a converted stable. We sat next to a really lovely fireplace. We could choose any of the teas on offer and we chose Redbush. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Len, Thank you ever so much for taking time to review Cantley House and Miltons Restaurant. I have passed on your comments to my team and we are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We have an acclaimed Chef who previously worked at Michelin star and multiple Rosette establishments. We are aiming for... More 

Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nightmare sorting out booking and cost. Executive room was old and cold, bathroom towel rail not working and despite 2 calls to reception for maintenance - none came - obviously too busy sorting out the rest of faulty towers. Food average. restaurant is accessed via open/outside walk way - so wear your coat and take a brolly to breakfast! Needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HolidaygirlBerkshire, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I've checked with my staff and they do not recall a situation you are referring to regarding maintenance issue. Our Executive Rooms are very popular and we get usually very good reviews on TripAdvisor for those. I've noticed that last time you posted a review on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't be put off this hotel by its dated rooms as the food served in this hotel is top notch and the staff are lovely. The beakfast was excellent, freshly cooked with the best ingredients, lovely sausages and bacon, which are sourced locally. We will definately be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelesnails, Thank you for your well-balanced review of Cantley House. We have a plan to update our Cozy Double rooms and we do recommend staying in our Executive Rooms, which are not only spacious but of much higher standard. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. I have a new Restaurant Manager who previously worked... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once an old country house, this hotel and been converted and added to over the years so some of the rooms are a bit remote from the main building and restaurant. It is situated in quiet parkland but not too remote from the town centre which is about a 20 minute walk away. From talking to other guests we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TJA950, Please accept my sincere thanks for your review of Cantley House. I'm delighted to here that you enjoyed your New Year's with us. I have passed on your comments to my team and it's great to hear that you thought everything was spotless and great-serviced. We are aiming for higher rating then before with the AA and for... More 

Hayes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in Cantley House Hotel with friends on New Years Eve as part of a package. The room was large Nd comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. It was so very quiet. No noise of any kind. We went to Milton's for lunch after check in and had a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Please accept my sincere thanks for your positive review of Cantley House. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and food at Miltons Restaurant. We are currently upgrading the remaining bedrooms to bring the decor more up to date. Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attractively set and a characterful change from the hotel chains. Appears to have a rolling refurbishment programme so that some rooms need a little refresh but largely uk staff seemed genuine in wanting to satisfy any requests. Good breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hlloyd1, Please accept my sincere thanks for your recent review on Cantley House. Indeed, we are going to upgrade 8 of our 36 bedrooms, particularly the bathrooms. I do hope you will stay with us next time you are in the area. Have a Wonderful New Year! With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This is a very disappointing hotel. It is tired and in need of a lot of money spending on it. My room was not clean and the bathroom was quite disgraceful. There were only a few staff working there and clealy could not cope with the guests. Food was very poor. Mentioned these issues but no one seemed bothered. Neither... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DerekM, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have some rooms which are Cozy Doubles with a dated decor and I assume that you stayed in one of these rooms. I'm disappointed that you thought that your room was dirty but perhaps it was dated decor that made that impression. It's unusual that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cantley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Address: Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay