We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantley House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cantley House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cantley House Hotel
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    66
    34
    23
    18
See reviews for
47
97
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Paris, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you like quaint British Victorian Houses you'll like this hotel. It's well worn-in,friendly and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and helpful. I'd stay in the house rather than the new rooms, if you want to experience to Victoriana. It does come with typical British plumbing, takes a while for the hot water to get to the showers; room 17... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toni M Please accept a massive thanks for your review on Cantley House Hotel. It really does mean so much to read such comments and we again accept our thanks. We do hope you visit us again so we can thank you in person. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at Cantley House Hotel and would recommend it to anyone! Having booked our stay with a Wowcher deal it was all such good value for money and we would love to go back. We paid an extra £10 to upgrade our room and it was well worth it; clean, comfy, spacious and a ginormous bath!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebeccaandjames, Many thanks for firstly choosing Cantley House for your short stay and secondly for leaving us such a fantastic review. It goes without saying that we really do hope to see you again in the future for a longer stay. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is rather old, so could be described as having lots of character, that is, if you enjoy creaking floorboards, hearing water flowing in neighbouring rooms, having a trickle of water from the cold tap and the obligatory spiders web with spider in the bathroom. On the positive side the staff were polite and eager to please and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LollSol, Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apology for a spider in your room. We are situated in a 50 acre park and sometimes they do slip in through the net. We are currently in the process of creating an additional bar in the main building to add to our award winning Miltons Restaurant. The works... More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having booked a Wowcher deal, we wasn't sure as to what we should expect. On arrival the hotel looks very appealing. The receptionist was very helpful. Our room was very nice and absolutely spotless. We had booked for food and we cannot compliment the food more, it was fantastic! The waiters very helpful and friendly. We had a great nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GaryC1986, Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review on Cantley House and Miltons Restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you are considering us for your wedding venue. Should you have any questions regarding our wedding packages, please contact Angie on 0118 989 5100 or weddings@cantleyhotel.co.uk It... More 

South Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a family party of eight celebrating an occasion and needing a hotel in this location to suit all ages. We were made very welcome, spacious rooms, excellent service and excellent service and food at Miltons who accommodated us at short notice. A real find and a place we will return to not least for the fantastic menu at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanne S, Please accept a massive thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your stay at Cantley House and food at Miltons Restaurant. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Im shocked to be writing this to be honest. We have stayed at this hotel alot over the years with no problems and a brilliant service but unfortunately on this account we were completely let down. We booked a specific room and where called the day before arrival and assured we have that room. However when we got to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lucyanthony, Please accept our apologies for the problems with water in your room. Unfortunately, a pipe burst in the evening - something which was outside our control. It' a shame that you decided to check out straight away as our maintenance man fixed it soon after and we did not experience any further problems on the night. We are... More 

cardiff
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice as it is very convenient for the Wokingham half marathon in February each year. We had a spacious room, very comfortable bed, nice and clean everywhere. The room was well heated (on a very cold day). Very quiet. We didn't have breakfast, not required. Excellent wifi signal, no extra charge for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jazzymalazzy Please accept our sincere than you for your recent review on our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Berkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As with mjmr we went to enjoy a special treat of afternoon tea. It was disappointing that this is not served in the hotel, rather at Miltons in the courtyard, but this is a cosy conversion with open gas flamed hearth, beams and character. The staff were welcoming, prompt and friendly. The glass of bubbly was generous and of quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear weekendwhileaway, Many thanks for your recent review on our Afternoon Tea in Miltons Restaurant. We are currently looking at an option of serving teas in the main hotel as well. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given a voucher for Afternoon tea for four that was booked through Travelzoo. When we arrived the receptionist told us that the afternoon tea is served in a seperate building not actually in the hotel. We walked through the hotel corridors which looked like they were being refurbished and felt very cold to a building outside which looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mjmr, Thank you for taking time to review Cantley House. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations but indeed our award-winning restaurant is situated in a separate building adjacent to the hotel. I'm sorry that the first choice of sandwiches you received and the scones where not up to the standard. As you have described they were soon... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a Thursday night with two colleagues , very clean and friendly staff , the room was very spacious and the food delicious , I had the steak for dinner it was perfect ! Hopefully will come back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Freqyuenttravels3333, Please accept a huge thank you from my team and me for your visit and your review. It really does mean so much to all of us to know our guests really enjoyed the hotel, Miltons Restaurant and the service given. We so much look forward to seeing you many more times. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cantley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Address: Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay