We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantley House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cantley House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cantley House Hotel
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    57
    31
    22
    14
See reviews for
44
87
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I work for a large medical practice and was asked to organise our Christmas staff party for approx 70 people. It was a pleasure to liase with the hotel events team. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very efficient. The marquee was very well heated and the tables were decorated beautifully, making everyone feel very 'Christmassy'! We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By saying think twice I am not implying purely negatives, mostly just a really neutral review, and that is because nothing really stands out. The hotel is clean, has a certain charm to it and is an enjoyable place to stay, the staff are pleasant, the food is ok, the location ok, the bathrooms ok...Everything is ok.. but that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for reviewing Cantley House Hotel. I value your comments and I can assure you that it's our intention to go extra mile for and exceed our guests' expectations. I'm sorry that we've failed you in some areas. We have the new Restaurant Manager and the New Chef who both have Michelin star and multiple Rosettes experience.... More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The house is fabulous, must have been great in its day. The room I stayed in was fine, a little dated, but the bed was comfortable and clean. Cracks in the window, toilet and sink rather let the place down, as did the not so clean carpet in my room and the main stairs. The breakfast however, was exceptionally good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear D W, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and bringing your comments to my attention following your recent stay with us at Cantley House With regards to your room allocation, I apologise that you were placed in one of our Cozy Double Rooms that require some improvements. We have a plan in place... More 

Christchurch
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one night stay - spacious, airy & comfortable bedroom with well equipped bathroom. Hotel has a nice feel with lots of individual public rooms, well decorated & furnished. The breakfast choice and service was excellent. Surprising and beautiful location - close to Wokingham centre, but set in a country park so a very relaxed & quiet with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TrewinDorset, Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review on the Cantley House. We were pleased to read that you loved our Executive Bedrooms and especially the service. I'm sorry that you feel our beverage prices were a bit high. We have a new Restaurant Manager who will be reviewing all the prices. We might also be changing... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Recently stayed here for a long weekend at a family wedding. The staff were all fantastic, so helpful, nothing was a trouble. An hour from London by train, but you feel like your a million miles away. The food was great, my favourite was the open cheese and pickle sandwich. The rooms are really cosy, the kids loved the huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomaschh, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pistolpete81, Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review of Cantley House. Thank you for your positive feedback. We do look forward to welcoming you back. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I suspect much of the business here is corporate which explains its pricing policy - on the expensive side for both accommodation and food. But the rooms and food were pretty good and the service was first class. We had just two minor criticisms: first, only one bathrobe was supplied though the booking was for two adults. This was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomaschh, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gassy-boy, Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review on our hotel. Positive comments about staff and service mean a lot to me and my team and I will pass this on to them. I'm sorry about the bathrobe. I will speak to my housekeeping team to ensure that our Executive Rooms, Superior Rooms and Suites have the... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We sent this e-mail originally on 24th September 2014, no response or acknowledgement to date and we have since sent it again..... Hello, We recently stayed in your hotel, on 13th and 14th September, and as you can see from below the reservation was made last year (the original booking e-mail was attached), with the initial booking being made by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thomaschh, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jules and Sam, I am sorry but I did not receive your email. Please accept our sincere apologies that certain aspects of your stay was not as expected. We always take any feedback on our guests' stays very seriously. We are delighted that you loved the room you were moved to on the second night. Thank you for your... More 

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

A very comfortable well appointed hotel, perfect for a weekend get-away. Staff were attentive and helpful; breakfast (which was excellent) was taken in a separate little restaurant in the grounds. Our room was spacious and charming with all the usual facilities you expect in a good quality hotel - plenty of towels, bath robes, iron and board, TV, tea making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomaschh, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helmsley39, Please accept our sincere thanks for your recent review on our hotel. Positive comments about staff means a lot to me and my team and I will pass this on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back to Cantley Hosue, next time you are in the area. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We had a small family gathering to celebrate our wedding. We hired the barn and it looked lovely with the open fire and candles on the tables. The food was good and the service excellent. Bar prices were really reasonable and it was possible to order in any special requests. Most of our guests stayed the night and there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomaschh, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandy B, Thank you ever so much for such a good review on the Cantley House. It goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you back at any time in he future. With kindest regards, Thomas More 

manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Odd but ok place. I had a deluxe room....it was great. I was a bit mystified by many buckets placed along the corridor to catch leaking water. It almost looked like they were there for comedy effect. But what really irked were two things. I emailed to book again and despite several attempts to confirm my booking was received they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cantley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Address: Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay