We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 East Kilbride hotels

Torrance Hotel

135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Torrance Hotel to your Saves list
Torrance Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
63%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
kellyanne b Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (268)
  • Photos (11)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    56
    35
    25
    37
See reviews for
81
60
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my husband were married at the Torrance on the 19th July 2014, and from start to finish it was beyond our expectations. Fawn and Ainsley the wedding co-ordinators are flawless in there attention to deal and keeping you updated on next steps etc, both were always on call to answer questions/give advise (even responding to emails at 10.30pm)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We used The Torra nce Hotel for business trips for two of our directors to stay whilst we had works ongoing in Glasgow. On the last night our director informed the hotel that the company was paying for the hotel. The manager was informed by the guest that the payment would be made by the company, which he agreed with.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for your comments. As I am sure you will appreciate, unfortunately, in this day and age not everyone is as honest as you and I. It is company policy that we require either pre payment or pre authorisation on a valid card in order to secure payment for accommodation and related services or that a company completes... More

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival at the hotel, the staff were rude and i had to wait 2 hours for a key. Followed by my food having a hair in it, which was most dissatisfying. Later on that evening i went to take a bath to find pubic hairs scattered within the bath tub. Over all i would never ever return to this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely concerned regarding your comments and would appreciate if you could contact me personally at the hotel to discuss this further. The hotel has recently undergone a 2.5 million pound refurbishment and all rooms are of a 5 star standard. I have failed to locate any record regarding these serious issues raised by yourself or indeed any details... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very clean and modern hotel with good food only let down with poor reception staff....some training and a happy pill would go a long way but a good stay with easy access to either glasgow 15min or edinburgh 30min

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. As a company we invest heavily in staff training and ,I am disappointed that you felt certain team members did not display this during your stay. I will fully investigate your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Torrance in the future. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has a lovely ambience nice surroundings , service was ok took a bit long for drinks then meal to be served . I feel the pricing was slightly high the menu was varied and food was nice but nothing special

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We do offer a wide range of menus at various prices and all our dishes are prepared using fresh andl, where possible, local produce. I thank you for your kind comments regarding the ambience at the hotel and I hope youwill revisit us again in the... More

Las Vegas, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival and check in we were asked if we really needed a second key after asking for one. After arriving from the U.S. We were never told that breakfast was over at 9:30 am and so missed our all inclusive breakfast that we paid for. We requested check out for 12 noon but we were not told our key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fawn F, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I am really surprised that you feel this was not delivered during your stay. I have taken your comments on-board and will ensure any training issues are addressed. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my family had dinner here on the 9th to celebrate my mothers and sisters birthday. Our table was booked for 7pm yet we didn't actually get seated until a whole bottle of wine later - around - 7:45/8pm. I heard no apology given when we sat down and when eventually ordered we were told it'd take between 20-30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel, We do train our staff to make customer aware of items that take slightly longer to cook, like the burgers which are homemade thick steak burgers hence the cooking time. Customers are always asked if they would like to order starter when... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked family meal to celebrate monumental birthday, awful! 90 mins after sitting still no food after complaining twice good eventually came, starters very poor, flung together. Main courses very tasty but took an age to arrive, we will not be repeating the experience and my advice is don't waste your money, go else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant following your recent visit. We do pride ourselves on serving fresh local produce cooked to order, which depending on the dishes, chosen can involve waiting slightly longer than many restaurants who pre prepare their food. I do however appreciate that 90 minutes would be an unreasonable time to wait and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great , myself and my colleague was at Torrance Hotel this morning doing a wedding parties makeup . We finished just in time for lunch and we weren't disappointed it was fab ! Marc was our server and a other chap ( no name sorry ). We are now looking into xmas night out there ;-D so look forward to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you Ladies for taking the time to review and compliment not only our food at the Torrance but also our restaurant team. We do strive to deliver the highest standard of food and service and are delighted when we exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Torrance perhaps to one of... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked lunch for 10 people for 1 o'clock. Told it was a set menu 2 courses for £16.95 menu was average more of a pub lunch style than hotel. Starters were nice bit meat for main courses was a big tough for both Korean curry and Steak pie Service was very poor as it took 2 hours for 2 courses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I am disappointed that you feel we did not meet your expectations as our policy is not only to meet but exceed our customer’s expectations and in order to achieve this we invest heavily in staff training and development... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Torrance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in East Kilbride with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in East Kilbride #4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer