We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 East Kilbride hotels

Torrance Hotel

135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Torrance Hotel to your Saves list
Torrance Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Barbara_C187 Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (264)
  • Photos (11)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    56
    35
    24
    36
See reviews for
81
59
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This has a lovely ambience nice surroundings , service was ok took a bit long for drinks then meal to be served . I feel the pricing was slightly high the menu was varied and food was nice but nothing special

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arrival and check in we were asked if we really needed a second key after asking for one. After arriving from the U.S. We were never told that breakfast was over at 9:30 am and so missed our all inclusive breakfast that we paid for. We requested check out for 12 noon but we were not told our key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my family had dinner here on the 9th to celebrate my mothers and sisters birthday. Our table was booked for 7pm yet we didn't actually get seated until a whole bottle of wine later - around - 7:45/8pm. I heard no apology given when we sat down and when eventually ordered we were told it'd take between 20-30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel, We do train our staff to make customer aware of items that take slightly longer to cook, like the burgers which are homemade thick steak burgers hence the cooking time. Customers are always asked if they would like to order starter when... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked family meal to celebrate monumental birthday, awful! 90 mins after sitting still no food after complaining twice good eventually came, starters very poor, flung together. Main courses very tasty but took an age to arrive, we will not be repeating the experience and my advice is don't waste your money, go else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant following your recent visit. We do pride ourselves on serving fresh local produce cooked to order, which depending on the dishes, chosen can involve waiting slightly longer than many restaurants who pre prepare their food. I do however appreciate that 90 minutes would be an unreasonable time to wait and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great , myself and my colleague was at Torrance Hotel this morning doing a wedding parties makeup . We finished just in time for lunch and we weren't disappointed it was fab ! Marc was our server and a other chap ( no name sorry ). We are now looking into xmas night out there ;-D so look forward to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you Ladies for taking the time to review and compliment not only our food at the Torrance but also our restaurant team. We do strive to deliver the highest standard of food and service and are delighted when we exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Torrance perhaps to one of... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked lunch for 10 people for 1 o'clock. Told it was a set menu 2 courses for £16.95 menu was average more of a pub lunch style than hotel. Starters were nice bit meat for main courses was a big tough for both Korean curry and Steak pie Service was very poor as it took 2 hours for 2 courses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I am disappointed that you feel we did not meet your expectations as our policy is not only to meet but exceed our customer’s expectations and in order to achieve this we invest heavily in staff training and development... More

lanarkshire scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved it! The whole day ran great. The ceremony was lovely. Nice big candelabras etc Gorgeous venue.place decor is very tasteful. Lovely staff. Terrific food. Lovely bathrooms. The evening reception room dance floor lighting is really nice. Adds a bit of sparkle. The round tables and the decor and crockery very classy for the delicious meal. I'd get married here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for your very complimentary review regarding your stay with us as a recent wedding guest.We do try to ensure that every function is special both to the Bride and Groom and all of their guests and it is very motivating for us to hear that we have succeded in this by ensuring that we have exceeded... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for lunch with four retired collegues were seated and given two menus one of which we found interesting since it was called Pre - theatre. There were very good choices for all dishes and at £13.95 for two courses plus a cocktail we considered this a good deal ( which it turned out to be ) The Glass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our facilities at the Torrance Hotel. It is our aim to supply the highest levels of service and customer care in keeping with the our first class surroundings and it is very rewarding for the team to receive praise like this from our delighted customers. I look forward... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi, Myself & my husband booked the Honeymoon Suite on 13th June 2014, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and my birthday. The room was out of this world. The only issue we had was the door beside our room, which was beside the conference suite continuously banged with people coming in and out all night, this affected our sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are delighted that you chose to stay within the hotel, I will be looking into the door spring to ensure this matter is sorted. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your family back to the Torrance Hotel in the near future. More

Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. My thoughts on the hotel, restaurant, bar, etc. 1. Bar staff were absolutely wonderful. Very personable, and efficient. Spent many hours at the bar over the week, partly due to the friendly bar staff. Can't say enough about them and thanks! 2. Had a strange/mixed experience the one time I ate breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you chose to stay with us recently, I have passed your positive comments onto my bar team. With regards to your other comments, I am very keen to talk through these with you and do encourage you to contact the hotel at your earliest convenience... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Torrance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in East Kilbride with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride #3 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer