We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bruce Hotel

35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bruce Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    38
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
26
38
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed at the bruce for my mums wedding. Check in was easy, and reception told us breakfast times for next day which was inaccurate. Informed us that it finished at 11 but no it was 10 so can't rate the food. Our room was clean, but outside of window was disgusting - hadn't been cleaned for quite some time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed for three nights. I can agree with most of the comments below. I did find the staff really good, the food in the evenings was of a good quality, prices good too. Underground car park is small but I managed in my estate car. My main gripe is the wifi, although the hotel network is available in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed the Mad Hatter's Tea Party. We were there for a friend's birthday and I thought the food and the venue were perfect. It's a small room away from the main dining room. I felt this was excellent for a group of drinking girls as you didn't feel as if you were annoying/disturbing anyone else. Sandwiches were fine although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your kind comments about the Mad Hatter's Tearoom. An experience not to be missed indeed!!! Regards More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a disappointing Christmas lunch I have been back to the Bruce Hotel for lunch with family and again with friends . Delighted on both occasions. So much so we have decided we could revisit this Christmas for lunch .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest This is excellent news and we look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas. Regards More 

Burton-upon-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought long and hard about this review because I am not one to say bad things unless they really warrant it. The only good feature of this hotel is the location it is right next door to the shopping centre. The bad points are extremely noisy from the room next door the first night and early morning then from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am disappointed to read your comments particularly about the quality of breakfast and the staff on the day. As mentioned in response to previous reviews our breakfast is often praised for its quality. However I am sure we have to improve on its consistency which is vitally important in hotels so that everyone who passes through our... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at The Bruce twice in June 2015. (8th/9th, & 22nd/23rd). Enjoyable stay on both occasions. I found the staff to be very pleasant, polite and helpful. Used the restaurant once on the 1st stay and twice on the 2nd stay. The food was excellent, and the bar/waiting staff very efficient, and pleasant. Didn't have breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for the fabulous review which is greatly appreciated by us all at the Bruce Hotel. Haste ye back. Regards More 

Coylton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent value for stay with a buffet breakfast,staff are helpful and friendly,our room was average,but the bed was very comfortable,the hotel itself looks nice inside.Would stay here again.Very idle for a stay if visiting East Kilbride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for the terrific review and I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Haste ye back Regards More 

Level Contributor
185 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The carpark is under ground and no good if you are in a van, just parked near the entrance to the carpark. The lady behind the reception was friendly, but didn't really tell me anything like where the room was, nor wifi, breakfast and dinner times but she did say that the van might be okay! Reassuring. The room itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest There are certainly comments in your review definitely worthy of investigation as consistency of service is so important to all in the hospitality business. I am disappointed that you considered the breakfast below standard as it is often praised in other guest comments. Regards More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I booked a room only a day before I was going to use it because the price was the cheapest in the list of hotels on offer. It is now apparent as to why its so cheap. We were going to be arriving very late and I made them aware of this. We arrived at around midnight. We tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I regret the parking arrangements were not to your liking. However, on a positive note this parking is secure which is popular with many of our guests. I think the reason this situation has arose in the first place is due to the fact that you did not contact the hotel to say you were not staying which... More 

Spring Tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This hotel is old and run down. Went with students on a student trip and there was a rowdy wedding and drugs being offered to some our adult chaperones. Rooms were dirty doors didn't close properly and old. Wifi was offered but didn't work in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay and particularly your ratings across the board. The hotel management & staff try very hard to ensure good order is maintained at any event booked in the hotel. Regrettably there are times when the excitement of the day overcomes certain individuals and they become unruly at times. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
1.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride Central
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride - Nerston Toll
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride - Peel Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay