We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bruce Hotel

3.0 of 5 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bruce Hotel
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
16
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
East Kilbride
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We bought an Amazon Local voucher for afternoon tea for 2 at The Bruce. Great value. Lovely hotel and Guys restaurant at the hotel was a lovely setting for our tea. We were made very welcome by our waiter with superb service. We started with a glass of prosecco and then our food was brought to us. Delicious fresh sandwiches,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had three night stay in The Bruce hotel, part of a weekend coach tour. Good value for money with friendly young staff even if there are not many of them and they seem to be doubling up on jobs. Not sure which one of these made the evening meal last night but it was virtually inedible, with the gammon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We bought a Groupon voucher for 4 for a sparkling afternoon tea at the Bruce hotel, the voucher was very good value and overall, the experience was good! There had been a bit of a mix up as when we had called to book they had reserved us a table at The Skye Lounge downstairs when really it was meant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as it offered very good value and was close to Glasgow during Commonwealth Games where hotel rates in Glasgow had gone through roof. Room was basic, but clean and had all facilities. The hotel has parking for residents in the basement although spaces are limited. Breakfast is not included in room rate but was no too expensive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I booked this hotel as the title suggests at the last minute without reading reviews or anything I was just glad I had managed to get somewhere with the referendum happening it was difficult. On arrival (I was very early) check in is from 2pm but I arrived just before midday and the reception staff were very friendly and accomodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Apologies for your wait at dinner, I have made enquiries into this. Please make yourself known to me personally on your next visit to the hotel, where a complementary meal and drink awaits you. Best wishes for the coming Season Regards Douglas More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Booked for four of us for a friends birthday, when we arrived few staff available, twice asked why we were there but still not shown to table after 20 mins had to be asked to be shown our table - once seated the wall behind us was filthy with something that had been spilled down it and could easily have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear E Boslem This appears to be the same person as above, and our comments apply to both. Regarding the lounge toilets these were re-decorated and re-carpeted some 6 weeks ago with a beautiful chaise-lounge, I doubt a social club would have these comforts. regards Douglas More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Unfortunately it was the little things that let down our visit. My friends and I were having afternoon tea and were placed at a table (in a relatively empty restaurant as it was at 2.30pm) where something had been splashed on the wall right next to us that could have easily been wiped down. Our table had a dead dried... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine B I am sorry you were disappointed with your amazon deal for our afternoon tea. In the last 6 months in our refurbished Guys Restaurant we have served over 2000 happy customers. It is a pitty that you did not make your comments known to the duty manager at your time of visit. I would be very happy... More

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Hi, my wife and I visited the Skye Bar today 31/08/14 we both had the steak pie and I can assure everyone it was superb all veg was fresh chips were hand made and the steak did not have a bit of fat on it and a very good portion size too.PS it was two meals for £7.95

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to you visiting again . on your next visit mention to John, and he will give you a complimentary drink. Kindest regards Douglas More

West Lothian
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in aug. Still can't decide if I liked the hotel or not. It was clean enough & staff friendly enough & dinner good. But sat for over 3 hours for a meal although the food was ok not sure why the delay. The breakfast was ok So can't decide if I'd go back or not?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing. I would be pleased if you could contact myself as I am curious as to why you have sat for 3hours. please contact myself on 01355 229771 so we can investigate this matter regards Douglas More

Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed a weekend in The Bruce Hotel while visiting the Tatoo, it is a friendly hotel, staff were very pleasant and helpfull , rooms very clean and bathroom of good standard , evening meal was enjoyable and breakfast very good, would definatly stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris thanks you very much for taking time out to review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! look forward to seeing you again. please make your presence known on you next visit and we will have a nice malt whisky waiting on you ! regards Douglas More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay