We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 East Kilbride hotels

Bruce Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bruce Hotel to your Saves list
Bruce Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
gizmo044 East Kilbride, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
25
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ece69
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked the Bruce Hotel against my better judgment after reading that it had been refurbished (in TripAdvisor). I’d decided around five years ago never to return after an extremely unpleasant stay in what purported to be a four star establishment. In truth, around half of the rooms and the public areas have been completed. There’s little or no sign... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently had the pleasure of holding my parents 50th wedding party in the grand ball room in the Bruce hotel.. cant thank the staff enough, very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble! they made the night special xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, General Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and it's service elements. We do try to ensure that every occasion is special and I will ensure that the staff are informed of your kind comments and I look forward to being of service in the near future. Jim McCann General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in East Kilbride visiting family and decided to stay at the Bruce and give it another shot after last years disaster. It has not changed in the slightest, my room this time on the 2nd floor was not upto standard, possibly worse than my last visit. Cracked toilet bowl, missing tiles in bathroom, cracked mirror, chewing gum stuck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a two night stay for me and my mum as a surprise for her 81st birthday. Wish I'd never bothered. The room needed renovation. The chairs were uncomfortable, the TV was located too high up the wall, quilt covers did not fit duvets ( mine was too big and mums was too small) and the beds were terrible, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irene B, I can only apologise for your experience during your recent stay. I will be contacting you directly. Jim McCann More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room was In a terrible state, and smelt odd the desk was sticky to the touch, when checking in I was handed the key fob which was falling apart and I asked if this reflected the state of the room, the receptionist went evasive to say the least. Once I was in the toilet/room I asked about an upgrade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ali 12341, We are working our way through all the bedrooms and as you can imagine it does take time. I hope you will stay again when next in the area and ask that you contact myself when I will ensure you receive an upgraded room. Jim McCann More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bedrooms need refurbished but the beds were ok to sleep in. Staff friendly and rooms are clean enough lifts very old. Not the best but not the worst either. Hotel is ok for a short stay. My sisters upgrade looked more like a standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CLARK F, We are very much a 'work in progress' but as you have seen by the public areas we are getting there ! I thank you for your comments regarding the staff and will ensure that they are passed on. Jim McCann More

Croft, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in the hotel around 8 years ago and stayed last weekend it was all the same! Rooms were terrible, with headboard missing, cracked toilet bowel, just awful. Gaffer tape on the stairs, water stains everywhere. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shane G, I apologise for your recent disappointment. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment at present and it is work in progress. I hope however that you were impressed by the public areas refurbishment which you will have experienced during your visit. Jim McCann More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had a great night with a group of 16 friends for a three course meal and tribute act.The meal was excellent and great value for money. The location was easy to get to using public transport which stopped just outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen C, I am delighted that you enjoyed the tribute night, they have become really popular ! Don't forget to keep an eye on our website for all the forthcoming events. I look forward to welcoming you to the Bruce again in the near future. Jim McCann More

East Kilbride,Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Skye Lounge is part of the hotel. For those, like myself, who must follow a gluten free diet, this place has an extensive GF menu, without compromising on taste. Wonderful I will be back, and often. From wonderful indian Curries, Chilli Con Carne.. Meals i cannot always eat, in Restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Billymcc, I am delighted that you had such a positive experience during your recent visit to the hotel. I can only imagine how restricted it can be when you dine out having dietary requirements. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Jim McCann More

Livingston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

stayed here on the 24/05/14.we were allocated 202.This was supposed to be a double room .The bed was a small double,there was only one bedside table and the bathroom was tiny with no bath and tiles broken.The room was shabby with old worn furniture and was only left one bathtowel. next morning the maid woke us up at 9am by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Char271, I am extremely disappointed that I did not receive your e-mail as I make a point of personally answering any e-mails sent to the hotel, I will certainly investigate this matter. I apologise for your experience and have taken steps to ensure that there should be no reoccurrence of these housekeeping problems in the future. In the meantime... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bruce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer