We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bruce Hotel

35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Bruce Hotel
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
23
33
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are members of the Sodbury and Yate indoor curling groups and have recently returned froma trip to experience curling on ice staying at this hotel.The hotel could not have been more helpfull. There were 48 people staying in the group. They allowed us to use our own entertainment and arranged traditional Scottish entertainment plus extra Scottish traditions. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recently as I was at a function in the hotel. The hotel looks like it has been refurbished and looks quite nice in the lobby area. The room was a good size, but the bed was very uncomfortable. I think it was quite old by the looks of it. The only problem we had was that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
81 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I attended a family meal for 18 people here on a Sunday in March hosted by my elderly father prior to Easter. It was described as a two course meal but the reality was there was a Sunday Carvery on and this is what you got. The soup in a tureen was actually a very nice tasty lentil and vegetable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

48 members of our Indoor Kurling group had a three night stay at the Bruce Hotel and enjoyed ice curling at the nearby rink. The hotel accommodation provided clean and comfortable rooms.. The staff were excellent and the manager Dougie Douglas excelled himself by providing additional treats such as a welcoming glass of Glasgow Kiss and Toasting the Haggis with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I have just been to the Sunday carvery for the first time and was very pleasantly surprised, the food was excellent with a choice of starters, 3 different roasts and plenty of vegetables and all the trimmings. Everything was piping hot, the meats were tender and the price included a half carafe of wine, all for £7.95. We even had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review, we really appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again regards Douglas More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Arrived here with my boyfriend for a Valentine's weekend to find our executive suite had been given away to another guest due to a problem with their previous allocated room (twin room instead of required double), found myself feeling fairly disappointed and expecting a downgrade however because of this we were given a free upgrade to the best room in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review, we are glad you had a wonderful time. We have various tribute nights coming up such as Motown and Abba....hope you can join us again . Kindest Regards Douglas More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

One night stay as part of a coach trip to see Strictly Come Dancing. The room was cold, unable to work out how to control it. no bedside tables phone just left on the floor. A sheet on my bed was not as clean as I would have liked. There was a function going on close to our room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry for your disappointment, It would have been beneficial if you had spoken with a member of staff and they could have rectified any problems you had. The Hotel was full that evening and we had no other complaints regarding heating. Best Wishes for the forth coming year. regards Douglas More 

Pencaitland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

only stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a coach trip to see the strictly come dancing live tour thank goodness it was just one night. arrived about 3pm our room was very cold tried to turn up the heating only to fined it was centrally controlled by the hotel. our diner was booked for 5pm so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole Apologies your stay was not up to your expectations. Regarding the heating in the bedroom this is solely controlled by all bedrooms, where instruction manual is present within the room, had this been reported to a member of staff we would have been more than happy to assist you. Both Coach parties were attending the hydro that evening,... More 

Cupar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Booked in by training company I stayed in room 111 for two nights. On arrival and entering room I could see my breath. heating was off and on a timer so there was little I could do. Even with a extra blanket I spent a very cold night Asked for a pasta dish off of the dinner menu. Penne pasta... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rod W Thank you for taking the time for such a detailed review, I am sorry your stay was not up to your expectations. I have investigated the window in the refurbished room in which you stayed in, to find it closes fast with no gaps or drafts what so ever. Regarding the heating in your room this can... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I recently attended a family members 18th. The function was completely under staffed, I think there was only one or two people on the bar which was fully surrounded by people at all times. At the end of the event as I went to go from the function room through to the reception area, as I had parked my car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ljane32 I too was very disappointed that when family members were asked for assistance by the hotel staff that no one came to the aid of one of the young guests attending the birthday celebrations whom had overindulged before coming to the event and the hotel staff were left to give first aid and call an ambulance on his... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question