We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Crutherland House

4.0 of 5
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Crutherland House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
A recent review
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    214
    100
    67
    36
See reviews for
142
233
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (162)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (193)
All months
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Impresive house dating back 300 years and set in the middle of a stunning green / wooded park with great footpaths and babling brooks. The hotel is just outside East Kilbride but there is no need to go in to the town as the hotel has pretty much all you need - superb restaurant, 18 metre pool, steam and sauna... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fabulous wedding. Poor bedroom and breakfast service the next day. Don't hesitate to book your special day here but insist your guests are taken care of and plenty of hot food at breakfast for them. Ok

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broughty Ferry
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very friendly feel throughout. A great welcome from reception to bar and restaurant staff. Will definitely recommend to friends and family of our great experience . Many thanks again for a most pleasurable stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay. Also recommending us to your friends is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the near future Kind Regards Chris More 

Teesside
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked my travel in advance through Expedia. When I checked out, I had an evening meal bill to settle, which was for £30. I was charged a credit card processing fee of £3 for the privilege. On the booking, no mention of this charge was made, nor at checkin. This is a 10% charge and is unacceptable. They also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your coments and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I can only apologise that you were not aware of the credit charge however this is standard which is displayed at reception, likewise with the sauce is stated on the menu as a supplement.... More 

Dundee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very good hotel, friendly and attentive staff though service at breakfast was a bit slow. Room clean and well presented on arrival. Pool a little cold but kids enjoyed it. All in all, would return to this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted to hear you had fun with the children and that the team looked after you all. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind Regards Chris More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stay in a lot of hotels, especially Macdonald, and we can honestly say that we have never experienced such a group of friendly, welcoming people. Brilliant! Our stay was just one night. We wished it could have been for longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and your comments regarding our team, I am very proud to share your comments with them. Hopefully you will be able to stay with us longer the next time you visit. Kind Regards Chris More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A group of us travelled up to East Kilbride from England to celebrate our friends 50th at East Kilbride Rugby Club which was a mile away. Nice big king bed ,excellent staff and a great Scottish Breakfast much needed after a night on the lash.. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest It sounds like you had a great weekend all round. Thank you for your comments which I am very happy to read and share with the team. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards Chris More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a spa overnight, use of spa, over night, breakfast and can't fault the staff or service. The room was lovely, clean and spacious... The only complaint was the heat! The room was sooo warm I couldn't get a good nights sleep which is why I can't give the review an excellent unfortunately! The food was also excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted you had the opportunity to use and enjoy all the facilities. I am sorry to read that the room wasn't comfortable which we are looking into the options to control the temperatue in the bedrooms Thank you again and hopefully we will see you... More 

Broxburn
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, with very friendly and efficient staff. The kids really enjoyed the pool, with the mum and dad enjoying the sauna and steamroom. The food was excellent and the hotel really made our family feel welcome!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words from your recent stay. I'm delighted to read that your family enjoyed the holiday. Hopefully we will see you back in the future. Kind Regards Chris More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a beautiful setting but only about 10 minutes drive from the station at East Kilbride meaning getting the train into Glasgow for shopping was very easy. Our taxis cost around £6 for the trip and the trains run every 30 minutes or so which made it far easier than driving into the city and trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am delighted to read that both David and the Chef went out their way to help you with any changes on the menu. I am glad that you had a very comfortable stay and look forward to you returning in the future. Kind Regards Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question