We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street - Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 06, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rokna to your Saves list
Rokna
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Saint Julian's
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jmjm_17 Zurich, Switzerland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (174)
  • Photos (64)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    75
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
74
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has a nice location in St. Julian's which is famous for its night life. Therefore I think the location is great. we were not very happy with the cleanliness of the rooms though. It could have been better. The staff was helpful for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed in the Rokna for a week in May. The hotel was not as modern as I had expected but as i was really only using it as somewhere to sleep as out diving every day this was not an issue. What was really good was how clean it was, the really comfortable bed, and the freindly and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Please do yourself a huge favour and stay well clear. This place is not worth €100 euro a night. It is a basic 2 star in a good location with old rooms and in need a lick of paint. That I can deal with but dirty I can not! The room had insects crawling on the floor as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ROKNA, Front Office Manager at Rokna, responded to this review

I personally was at reception when Mr xxx and Mr xxx checked in. The check-in time was approximately 13:35. Two triple rooms had been reserved however we allocated 2 larger quadruple rooms with balconies as we knew you had young children and would appreciate the space. I gave the keys to Mr xxx and Mr xxx for both rooms and... More

istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My sister, my husband and I booked an apartment with a balcony. It was on the third floor with a kitchenette. We had free wifi and a continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect to visit anywhere on the island. You are already in St. Julian's: the most popular resort for its nightlife. There are lots of clubs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, mid April for €100. This included a continental breakfast (with the worlds slowest toaster!) and free wifi. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready as the previous people had only just checked out but we only had to wait 15 minutes and it was ready. We booked a double but got a double and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Book here - you won't be disappointed. €6.50 for a weekly bus ticket can be bought at the airport, directly opposite arrivals. Get on an X2 and stop at "St Julians" or "Ross" - the hotel is a 5 minute walk from either stop...Downhill from "St Julians" as far as you can go, then turn right. From "Ross" go down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights.Really good location with a bus stop and taxi office just around the corner.Very helpful staff.WiFi,safe and good sized fridge included in our spacious room. Great food in the adjoining restaurant and you get a 10% discount .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed 7 nights at end of March. All staff were polite and helpful. Continental breakfast was adequate including a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, breads, ham, cheese and jams, tea/coffee and fruit juice. The restaurant is very popular as well and offers very good food. The pizzas are lovely. The room was clean and maid service provided daily with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, for a short family break. We had a standard double room and a triple room for the extended family. Nice and friendly hotel, really good value for money. Bathrooms were ok, cleaned daily and new towels given. There can a really strong smell of bleach, but once you've open the massive windows, this can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed with a friend during March 2014 and we enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and we were able to both shower at the same time as we had a shower plus a shower over bath that worked fine when used them at the same time (bonus!). The staff were friendly and very helpful. It's good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rokna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street - Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta.ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer