We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn

Main Road | Higham, Alfreton DE55 6EH, England
The Crown Inn
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A bit gutted really, my favourite Carvery for miles. We visited this Sunday just gone, the food was just awful, the meat was so dry, the potatoes were hard, very slim choice of veg, you even burnt the shop bought Yorkies.. This is the second time in a few weeks we've come and the food has been rubbish. What really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeds
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tony and Angie provided a very hospitable overnight stay in their characterful inn. I could have not been made more welcome by all the staff and regulars, a group of whom played guitar and sang in the bar during the evening. They included me and also gave me maps for local walks. The room was clean and comfortable and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Lovely evening. Angie obviously worked hard creating simple romantic table settings and the choices on her 3 course valentine menu were mouthwatering and hard to choose from, so being romantic we shared a little of each others choices, they were delicious. We had a very enjoyable evening thank you Tony, Angie & all the staff. Mr & Mrs Claus xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

As we go regularly to the Crown Inn, four of us decided to have our Christmas dinner there. What a delight, the pub is full of character and the trouble taken with the Christmas decorations was wonderful, as was the welcome extended to us by Tony and Angie two of the best and hardest workers in the business. The dinning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottinghamshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We decided to try this pub for a birthday meal with a couple of friends on Saturday but ended up leaving and going elsewhere else simply because at 7pm the list on the chalkboard of dishes left was pretty poor! No Mixed grills, 1 pork dish, about 4 steaks, I didn't bother counting the rest. 7pm and such a low... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

We are a small family run inn that has a good menu and dedication to customer service and old fashioned values We are sorry that you did not find our choices to you liking . our stock levels we keep low as we do not like to freeze our meat so you the customer get the freshest meal possible and... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Just spent 2 nights mid-week at the Crown and experienced the best atmosphere and food to date. I visit b&b establishments 3 or 4 times a year and the Crown provided one of the best experiences I have had. The staff made me feel as if I was a long-lost family member who they were only too pleased to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir We at the crow inn would like to thank you for your kind words, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again the next time you re in the area we are sure to have a warm welcome and a cold beer waiting on the bar again... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The exterior and interior decor was lovely and warm and welcoming. Such a shame it could not be said about the staff and carvery food. If the ladies spent more time looking after paying guests and the quality of the food being served, instead of whining behind their backs, it may have been an 'ok' visit. Meat was dry. Potatoes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

All at the Crown Inn Welcome Reveiws and love to hear from all that visit our little cornner of Derbyshire. But your review concerns me greatly please could you contact myself on 01773832310 so i may investergate your concerns more and make sure this dose not happen again. We served over 100 meals on the day you visited and received... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed at the pub over the weekend of 10/11/14. The staff we very friendly and a special mention for Tony the landlord. The room we stayed in number 1 was comfy and clean and cosy but is a dormer style so has a sloping ceiling. As mentioned in other reviews the pub has low ceilings and you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We used to come here all the time, then the carvery stopped :( my waist line was happy but my tummy not! Then we were told happily the carvery had resumed! We came back and it was just as good as before except the Yorkshire puddings! My favourite bit were now shop bought :( a little plasticky? The rest thankfully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We have never been to this pub before, we have lived about 15 minutes away from it for the past 18 years or so, so I don't know why we haven't. But now we have, we'll certainly go again. We popped in, almost impromptu, for a Sunday Carvery on the way to Chatsworth. What a treat, the staff were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question