We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Alfreton B&Bs / inns

The Crown Inn

Main Road | Higham, Alfreton DE55 6EH, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MOTO GP DONNINGTON
The Crown Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 4 Alfreton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Brian W Derby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As we go regularly to the Crown Inn, four of us decided to have our Christmas dinner there. What a delight, the pub is full of character and the trouble taken with the Christmas decorations was wonderful, as was the welcome extended to us by Tony and Angie two of the best and hardest workers in the business. The dinning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottinghamshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We decided to try this pub for a birthday meal with a couple of friends on Saturday but ended up leaving and going elsewhere else simply because at 7pm the list on the chalkboard of dishes left was pretty poor! No Mixed grills, 1 pork dish, about 4 steaks, I didn't bother counting the rest. 7pm and such a low... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

We are a small family run inn that has a good menu and dedication to customer service and old fashioned values We are sorry that you did not find our choices to you liking . our stock levels we keep low as we do not like to freeze our meat so you the customer get the freshest meal possible and... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Just spent 2 nights mid-week at the Crown and experienced the best atmosphere and food to date. I visit b&b establishments 3 or 4 times a year and the Crown provided one of the best experiences I have had. The staff made me feel as if I was a long-lost family member who they were only too pleased to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir We at the crow inn would like to thank you for your kind words, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again the next time you re in the area we are sure to have a warm welcome and a cold beer waiting on the bar again... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The exterior and interior decor was lovely and warm and welcoming. Such a shame it could not be said about the staff and carvery food. If the ladies spent more time looking after paying guests and the quality of the food being served, instead of whining behind their backs, it may have been an 'ok' visit. Meat was dry. Potatoes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

All at the Crown Inn Welcome Reveiws and love to hear from all that visit our little cornner of Derbyshire. But your review concerns me greatly please could you contact myself on 01773832310 so i may investergate your concerns more and make sure this dose not happen again. We served over 100 meals on the day you visited and received... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed at the pub over the weekend of 10/11/14. The staff we very friendly and a special mention for Tony the landlord. The room we stayed in number 1 was comfy and clean and cosy but is a dormer style so has a sloping ceiling. As mentioned in other reviews the pub has low ceilings and you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We used to come here all the time, then the carvery stopped :( my waist line was happy but my tummy not! Then we were told happily the carvery had resumed! We came back and it was just as good as before except the Yorkshire puddings! My favourite bit were now shop bought :( a little plasticky? The rest thankfully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We have never been to this pub before, we have lived about 15 minutes away from it for the past 18 years or so, so I don't know why we haven't. But now we have, we'll certainly go again. We popped in, almost impromptu, for a Sunday Carvery on the way to Chatsworth. What a treat, the staff were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Attended a retirement event here and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has an old world feel to it, its full of character which reflects its three hundred year history, and lots of nooks and crannies which help it maintain its traditional feel. A great little pub. We had a portion of the bar and a dining area allocated to us, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

I visited this pub due to a friend having her retirement celebration there. The pub is old fashioned style, not my personal taste but some people might like it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and cleared away plates and glasses efficiently to avoid tables getting full. We were all charged £10 each for the buffet which I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TONY S, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

We at the crown always welcome feed back from our visitors and Like the opportunity to address you review. The Crown Inn is a 15th century inn with a grade 2 listing, so to say it is old fashioned we would take as a compliment to knock walls out and modernise the building would be robing the public of the... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went on Friday night primarily to see a live band, 'Acoustica', so decided to go early and have dinner. What a lovely pub. Tony and his wife, and the rest of the staff, are all really friendly, welcoming and helpful. This pub does everything - it has a proper bar area and is a proper local pub, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Main Road | Higham, Alfreton DE55 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Alfreton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Alfreton
The Crown Inn Alfreton, Derbyshire

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay