We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Sogndal

Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
37
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Forde, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was perfect with the breakfast outstanding. Best hotel breakfast ever. Very quiet with a nice view from our balcony.Centrally located right in the middle of Sogndal. Close to everything ! We will stay at this hotel again if we ever should need a bed in Sogndal !

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although not seemed at first, this hotel is huge ready to accumulate large number of people. Restaurants are good but rooms (i had connecting without balconies) a bit outdated and basic. All in all a good Base for sleeping especially when the staff is very attending.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fine review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Good location, good service. Breakfast has unlimited choice, a perfect start of the day. It is really a place where you feel at home. The restaurant with local specialty was fantastic. Do not miss the "the grilled mutton of wild sheep"

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Jorpeland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Perfect hotel with nice and tidy rooms. Recommend restaurant La Pergola with the best pizza in Norway, must be tried. The hotel has a perfect location for excursions in the area, sognefjorden , glaciers , fishing , hiking and similar. Price is acceptable compared to standard and cleanliness.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

+ parking near the hotel, decent rooms, good restaurant, computer in the lobby. Location is also very convenient, as it is near to all most everything (I mean Fjords and the way to the Glacier) - I don't remember, It is a good place for one night like all Quality Hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Location and service was ok. The room was ok, nothing special. but the restaurant was a bad ecperience. Do not eat here ! The service in the restaurant was terrible. We ordered steak and got 3 overly fried steaks and one raw. Waiter had such bad time and was simply not interested indeed.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in giving every guest a good experience, and we therefore feel sad when a guest is unhappy. Your comments will help us improve and move on to better service. Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Harstad, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

On the outside the hotel looks very new and trendy, and the reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming. But once you get beyond the reception area it's revealed that this is an older hotel which has been refurbished. I stayed here for two nights in the beginning of November. The bed was good and I slept well, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your comments about possible areas for improvements will be noted and taken in to consideration. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I stayed in the Quality Hotel in Sogndal due to a conference. The staff was very well organised, so that the conference run very smoothly. Tasty breakfast, great italian restaurant, fast WIFI & a good overall experience!

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your good review of our hotel! Welcome back! Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The rooms standard is OK but the bathroom streams to be a bit old. Cleanliness is not good enough there is lots of dust on the table and window's. There is also and ugly and incredible uncomfortable chair. Beds at OK. Breakfast was very good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always have work in progress in our strive for perfection, and your comments will help us achieve this. Welcome back! Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
103 hotel reviews
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We couldn't really avoid staying here as there are not many options in the area and Sogndal is a convenient stopover and base travelling from Bergen to Alesund and visiting Sognefjord along the way. The hotel and room were very dated, uncomfortable and much too hot (no aircon). Parking was also a problem - there aren't enough spaces for all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have. Regarding the air condition this is a problem we are working to solve before next summer. However it was extremely hot in Sogndal around the time when you stayed with us. This is not the typical... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question