We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Sogndal

3.5 of 5 Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
35
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms standard is OK but the bathroom streams to be a bit old. Cleanliness is not good enough there is lots of dust on the table and window's. There is also and ugly and incredible uncomfortable chair. Beds at OK. Breakfast was very good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We couldn't really avoid staying here as there are not many options in the area and Sogndal is a convenient stopover and base travelling from Bergen to Alesund and visiting Sognefjord along the way. The hotel and room were very dated, uncomfortable and much too hot (no aircon). Parking was also a problem - there aren't enough spaces for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have. Regarding the air condition this is a problem we are working to solve before next summer. However it was extremely hot in Sogndal around the time when you stayed with us. This is not the typical... More

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is very pricey for what you get. Rooms are very basic with no amenities. We paid over 1700 Kroner for no shampoo in the room or tea or coffee service, which has become quite basic in most hotels . Mattress was quite soft, maybe that is European style. However the location is excellent. Very close to the bus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that our style did not suite your expectations. As you have pointed out we do not have complimentary shampoo bottles in the rooms, other than those that are installed in the shower. We do have complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby for all guests. We hope you will... More

Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were part of three tour groups that checked in to the Quality Sogndal within two hours of each other. It had a nice appearance on the outside and the inside lobby was spacious. Once we got to the room we knew we were facing another day and night in Norway without A/C. Norway and northern Europe were suffering through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry about the temperature in the room. Unfortunately it was very hot in the area those days and we were not able to keep the temperature as low as we would have liked. We are working on solutions to improve this for next summer! Thank you for nice compliments about our bed... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A business hotel in the middle of town such as it is. The renovated rooms are comfortable big and specious. Good breakfast spread. The town itself is small and the hotel is located on the edge of town but within walking distance to the pier and to the downtown area where there are restaurants and shops. Parking was chaotic. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our hotel! Regarding the parking issue we try to give all our guests free parking, but it is difficault when the hotel is full. Luckily it is nearby parking facilities which is free during the evening and night. We take great pride in serving our guests a good breakfast, and we are happy... More

Ulsteinvik, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel located in the heart of Songdal, is central, clean, up to date and comfortable. Indeed, the midnight temperature on almost 30 degrees was a tough fight. No Air-con. A must for hot summers..

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are working to solve the temperature in our rooms during hot summers. More

Alesund, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are a family of 4 people that had a one night stop in Sogndal. The reception was ok, the room was old style (80'ies) and very hot! This day was extraordinary hot, but the room was even hotter (above 30 degrees). There was no mechanical ventilation circulating the air in the room, so even after hours with a full... More

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, although your experience was not as you expected. We are working every day to improve our product, and we are aware of the issue regarding ventilation in our rooms. Unfortunately it has been extremelly hot in Sogndal over the past weeks and eventhough we have made improvements for this summer we could not... More

Stavanger, Norge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A good hotel in the city of Sogndal. Good location next to the busstation, where the airport expressbus stops and starts. I stayed in a single room and the room was big for a single room. The standard of the room was fine. Free highspeed WIFI included in the roomprice. TV with a few channels, mainly norwegian channels. Minibar with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More

SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just arrived room hot only small window, needs blockout curtains room is every sunny and with no sunset at this time of the year going to be extremely hard to sleep, has no floor towel had to ask for extra towel for floor, no soap at handbasin I prefer my own cake of soap, also like tissues in room,room clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. They will be considered. More

Kristiansand, Norway
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

its a Nice Place to stay , but not more than just over avarge . Rooms are normal sized like the rest of the hotel. But one thing was good , the breakfast . A tipical good Norwegian breakfast With all the side engreedience a breakfast should have

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and the kind words about our breakfast. Welcome back to Sogndal! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel Sogndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sogndal

Address: Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Sogndal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Sogndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal Norway/Western Norway

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay