We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Sogndal

3.5 of 5 Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location and service was ok. The room was ok, nothing special. but the restaurant was a bad ecperience. Do not eat here ! The service in the restaurant was terrible. We ordered steak and got 3 overly fried steaks and one raw. Waiter had such bad time and was simply not interested indeed.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harstad, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the outside the hotel looks very new and trendy, and the reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming. But once you get beyond the reception area it's revealed that this is an older hotel which has been refurbished. I stayed here for two nights in the beginning of November. The bed was good and I slept well, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the Quality Hotel in Sogndal due to a conference. The staff was very well organised, so that the conference run very smoothly. Tasty breakfast, great italian restaurant, fast WIFI & a good overall experience!

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The rooms standard is OK but the bathroom streams to be a bit old. Cleanliness is not good enough there is lots of dust on the table and window's. There is also and ugly and incredible uncomfortable chair. Beds at OK. Breakfast was very good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We couldn't really avoid staying here as there are not many options in the area and Sogndal is a convenient stopover and base travelling from Bergen to Alesund and visiting Sognefjord along the way. The hotel and room were very dated, uncomfortable and much too hot (no aircon). Parking was also a problem - there aren't enough spaces for all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have. Regarding the air condition this is a problem we are working to solve before next summer. However it was extremely hot in Sogndal around the time when you stayed with us. This is not the typical... More 

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is very pricey for what you get. Rooms are very basic with no amenities. We paid over 1700 Kroner for no shampoo in the room or tea or coffee service, which has become quite basic in most hotels . Mattress was quite soft, maybe that is European style. However the location is excellent. Very close to the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that our style did not suite your expectations. As you have pointed out we do not have complimentary shampoo bottles in the rooms, other than those that are installed in the shower. We do have complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby for all guests. We hope you will... More 

Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were part of three tour groups that checked in to the Quality Sogndal within two hours of each other. It had a nice appearance on the outside and the inside lobby was spacious. Once we got to the room we knew we were facing another day and night in Norway without A/C. Norway and northern Europe were suffering through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry about the temperature in the room. Unfortunately it was very hot in the area those days and we were not able to keep the temperature as low as we would have liked. We are working on solutions to improve this for next summer! Thank you for nice compliments about our bed... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A business hotel in the middle of town such as it is. The renovated rooms are comfortable big and specious. Good breakfast spread. The town itself is small and the hotel is located on the edge of town but within walking distance to the pier and to the downtown area where there are restaurants and shops. Parking was chaotic. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our hotel! Regarding the parking issue we try to give all our guests free parking, but it is difficault when the hotel is full. Luckily it is nearby parking facilities which is free during the evening and night. We take great pride in serving our guests a good breakfast, and we are happy... More 

Ulsteinvik, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel located in the heart of Songdal, is central, clean, up to date and comfortable. Indeed, the midnight temperature on almost 30 degrees was a tough fight. No Air-con. A must for hot summers..

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are working to solve the temperature in our rooms during hot summers. More 

Alesund, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are a family of 4 people that had a one night stop in Sogndal. The reception was ok, the room was old style (80'ies) and very hot! This day was extraordinary hot, but the room was even hotter (above 30 degrees). There was no mechanical ventilation circulating the air in the room, so even after hours with a full... More 

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, although your experience was not as you expected. We are working every day to improve our product, and we are aware of the issue regarding ventilation in our rooms. Unfortunately it has been extremelly hot in Sogndal over the past weeks and eventhough we have made improvements for this summer we could not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel Sogndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sogndal

Address: Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Sogndal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Sogndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal Norway/Western Norway

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay