We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Sogndal

3.5 of 5 Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
19
36
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, good service. Breakfast has unlimited choice, a perfect start of the day. It is really a place where you feel at home. The restaurant with local specialty was fantastic. Do not miss the "the grilled mutton of wild sheep"

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Jorpeland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Perfect hotel with nice and tidy rooms. Recommend restaurant La Pergola with the best pizza in Norway, must be tried. The hotel has a perfect location for excursions in the area, sognefjorden , glaciers , fishing , hiking and similar. Price is acceptable compared to standard and cleanliness.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

+ parking near the hotel, decent rooms, good restaurant, computer in the lobby. Location is also very convenient, as it is near to all most everything (I mean Fjords and the way to the Glacier) - I don't remember, It is a good place for one night like all Quality Hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Location and service was ok. The room was ok, nothing special. but the restaurant was a bad ecperience. Do not eat here ! The service in the restaurant was terrible. We ordered steak and got 3 overly fried steaks and one raw. Waiter had such bad time and was simply not interested indeed.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in giving every guest a good experience, and we therefore feel sad when a guest is unhappy. Your comments will help us improve and move on to better service. Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Harstad, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

On the outside the hotel looks very new and trendy, and the reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming. But once you get beyond the reception area it's revealed that this is an older hotel which has been refurbished. I stayed here for two nights in the beginning of November. The bed was good and I slept well, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your comments about possible areas for improvements will be noted and taken in to consideration. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I stayed in the Quality Hotel in Sogndal due to a conference. The staff was very well organised, so that the conference run very smoothly. Tasty breakfast, great italian restaurant, fast WIFI & a good overall experience!

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you for your good review of our hotel! Welcome back! Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The rooms standard is OK but the bathroom streams to be a bit old. Cleanliness is not good enough there is lots of dust on the table and window's. There is also and ugly and incredible uncomfortable chair. Beds at OK. Breakfast was very good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always have work in progress in our strive for perfection, and your comments will help us achieve this. Welcome back! Best Regards, Erlend Fardal Lunde Hotel Manager More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We couldn't really avoid staying here as there are not many options in the area and Sogndal is a convenient stopover and base travelling from Bergen to Alesund and visiting Sognefjord along the way. The hotel and room were very dated, uncomfortable and much too hot (no aircon). Parking was also a problem - there aren't enough spaces for all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have. Regarding the air condition this is a problem we are working to solve before next summer. However it was extremely hot in Sogndal around the time when you stayed with us. This is not the typical... More 

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is very pricey for what you get. Rooms are very basic with no amenities. We paid over 1700 Kroner for no shampoo in the room or tea or coffee service, which has become quite basic in most hotels . Mattress was quite soft, maybe that is European style. However the location is excellent. Very close to the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that our style did not suite your expectations. As you have pointed out we do not have complimentary shampoo bottles in the rooms, other than those that are installed in the shower. We do have complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby for all guests. We hope you will... More 

Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were part of three tour groups that checked in to the Quality Sogndal within two hours of each other. It had a nice appearance on the outside and the inside lobby was spacious. Once we got to the room we knew we were facing another day and night in Norway without A/C. Norway and northern Europe were suffering through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry about the temperature in the room. Unfortunately it was very hot in the area those days and we were not able to keep the temperature as low as we would have liked. We are working on solutions to improve this for next summer! Thank you for nice compliments about our bed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel Sogndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sogndal

Address: Gravensteinsgata 5, 6851, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Sogndal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Sogndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal Norway/Western Norway

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay