We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Greta Bridge hotels

The Morritt Country House Hotel

Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Morritt Country House Hotel to your Saves list
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
73%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Greta Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AlbertVictor Brighton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (184)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • More
true
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
29
77
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel on the internet as we wanted a place to stop over on our way back from Scotland. This hotel is in North Yorkshire just off the A66, about 6 miles from the historic market town on Barnard Castle. The hotel stands on the old road to Scotland. The hotel is an impressive Georgian style building with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have tried to keep the charm and character of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa in the near future. More

Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The trip was for myself and mum mainly as I'd read brilliant reviews and seen the Garage spa advertisement. The hotel is in a lovely, pretty location and looks really quaint. We started off in the spa as we were booked in for a treatment package. The spa facilities are brilliant. Don't miss the indoor and outdoor hot tubs, sauna... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with the service received from our staff. We have passed your comments on to the relevant head of departments. Thank you for your recommendations, this means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here is a list of things I didn’t like at The Morritt: • Being charged 5* prices for a hotel that is 3* at best(despite its accreditation). • Very dated rooms (cheap Argos-style pictures, pine furniture, cheap plastic kettle, cheap TV with only freeview). • Clear windows in the bathroom. Everyone can see what you’re doing, so you have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant Heads of Departments. We have addressed the unfortunate overcharging incident with you directly; again please accept our sincere apologies for this error. If you... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last week with my partner's family, and I have to be completely honest and say that the experience was a completely mixed bag. On the plus side was the wonderful (but awfully named) spa and the friendly staff who work there, and the main dining room which is producing some really exciting food. The down side was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Public Relations Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. Your comments have been taken on board and have been passed on to the relevant Heads of Departments. The Garage Spa name is to reflect the fact the building used to be a working Garage, we tried to keep part of the history in the modern building. The... More

Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked for somewhere to stay overnight after a days cycling around Richmond area.The reviews for The Morritt Arms sounded good,so we were pleased to discover how right they were.Our superior double room was very comfortable and had a view over a lovely garden and countryside.Our bar meal in the evening was really nice and reasonably priced.We don't normally write... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. This is a lovely area to cycle in and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa in the future. More

Sheffield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this place because I wanted to take my partner to Barnard Castle for a couple of nights and either couldn't get a room in, or didn't like the look of, the other hotels in the area. The Morritt was a great choice. Really handy for the main road so not difficult to find, yet the traffic noise doesn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Unfortunately we have no control over the weather, but we will always try to keep a cosy atmosphere inside the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and The... More

Halifax England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a wedding, as the wedding was being held here it made sense. The only problem was the wedding started at 2pm and we couldn't get into the room until 3pm. The actual wedding ceremony and wedding room was beautiful and very well organised. We were lucky with the weather for taking photos in the lovely gardens.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay for the wedding and we wish the happy couple every happiness in their married lives together. Our policy is that check in is from 3pm every day with our Housekeeping department working as efficiently as possible to make this happen. We... More

Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are just back from our son's wedding and the reception was held at the Morritt. The arrangements were all fantastic, the room was perfect for 100 people, the meal really excellent, the staff great. We stayed in room 15 and our other son and his girlfriend in room 11. Both spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated. Lovely breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your son’s wedding and wish the happy couple every happiness for their future lives together. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa in the near future. More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for my birthday with me boyfriend and we did the country lane spa break. Overall i would recommend the break to any couples or small groups of friends. The spa is done to a high standard and is a lovely setting. I think we were extra lucky though as there was only 3 more couples in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad that you had a lovely day overall and are sorry to hear you were not happy with all aspects of our customer care. We do aim to enhance all of our guests’ visits with excellent customer service. Your comments have been taken on board and... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this Hotel and attended a wedding that was also held there. I found the hotel quite pretty but in need of a good thorough clean especially the toilets behind reception. The worst aspect of this hotel are the staff - they all need training in customer service. The receptionist seemed irritated to be interrupted from her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Here at The Morritt Hotel and The Garage Spa we pride ourselves for exceptional customer service; however we would like to sincerely apologise that you felt the front of house team did not deliver this during your visit. Please be assured that we have passed your comments to the relevant... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Morritt Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Morritt Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Greta Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Morritt Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer