We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Morritt Country House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    119
    66
    36
    22
    12
See reviews for
45
107
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Called here just out of nostalgia, really, to revisit their fine mural and let my partner see it for herself. The place has been considerably refurbished and redeveloped since years ago and has moved up-market, as the morsels of pleasant food we ordered in the bar demonstrated. We'd certainly consider a return visit and possible overnight, if the price were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hotel as I had a meeting nearby, I arrived at around 9.30pm and was a little disappointed to learn that it was too late to order any food, apparently last orders ate 9pm. The room, well....like a lot of hotels it needs a refurb. Perfectly clean, comfortable but pine bed and furniture, it was like waking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful location but somehow the hotel didnt quite come up to scratch. uninspiring food in the bistro/bar, but the breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and served with friendly professionalism. The lights in our room fused because a bulb went, which left us wondering if it might happen again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just had a 2 night stay here for a wedding. The hotel on the whole was beautiful although there is no lift and I feel it would have been nice to have known this I have slight mobility problems and didn't think to ask for a ground floor room. we were overall impressed with the hotel facilities bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to break our journey and stay for a night on our way north. I have seen this hotel from the A66 many times and thought it look good. It does from the outside but as soon as you enter through the flimsy doors things change. It is a country house but somehow it does not quite make the grade.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here tonight (tues) and it was utter rubbish from the start. The staff seemed bemused that we didn't want to pay £25 for a steak to eat it in the bar with drinkers (after all we weren't in Weatherspoon's, or paying Weatherspoon's process) staff weren't really forthcoming and after ordering starters which were just 'nice' we were brought the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We always strive to improve the overall customer experience and without feedback we would not be able to do this. Your comments have been passed onto our Front of House Manager and actions will be implemented to ensure this does... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently just stayed here for a wedding. The hotel itself is very clean and the room we stayed in called madeline was nice and spacious with a jacuzzi bath. The things letting this place down were the rude staff who looked like they hated working there which came across as the way they spoke and acted. Pints of Stella were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are disappointed to read that a few members of our team did not live up to your expectations. We apologise for this and will continue with more enhanced customer service training. Some of our younger staff are quite new... More 

Hutton Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just come back from my daughters wedding at the Morritt. Can thoroughly recommend them. Great for the ceremony, beautiful venue, really well managed wedding breakfast, good food, band and disco venue late into the night. Good wine and beers on tap. Other than letting us down a little with the provision of the colour sashes we wanted on the chairs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit; we pride ourselves on our customer service and are pleased that our team lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments have been passed onto Michael – we have been trying for many years to make him smile... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here recently on business with some colleagues and couldn't have been more disappointed with my experience, saved only by the high standard of the food in the restaurant (supper and breakfast). On arrival, the charmless receptionist recommended that we booked the restaurant as it was "quite busy", so I asked for a table for 3 at 8pm, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We would firstly like to apologise that your experience with us was not a positive one. You should have been informed on booking that we had a function on in the Ballroom – this will be one of the reasons you were placed in a room outside... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here in June with some friends and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Our room wasn't huge but it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The one negative was the shower which was within the bath and the pressure was slightly lacking. The best part of our stay, however, was the restaurant and the quality of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Morritt. We apologise about your shower experience and this has been passed onto our maintenance department so this does not happen again. We are also in the process of updating some of our bathrooms and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
13.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top