We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Morritt Country House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Morritt Country House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    121
    70
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
50
112
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic we had a full day at spa which was absolutely fantastic and attention to detail was second to none. The room we where allocated was a cottage room "the crystal" it was personal and beautiful with everything thought of including a full range of the spa products we had used during day. The evening 3 courser meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've stayed here a few times. The hotel scores very highly on ambience and location for us - it's at a mid way point in a long return journey home from Scotland. The room was pleasant - strong on period detail but be aware - the price for that is a compromise on lack of child friendly windows , slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Took advantage of a lovely warm and sunny day, and had Sunday lunch out in the garden. Food was fantastic, and offered some alternatives to the standard Sunday lunch offered at most places (I had the lambs liver for my main course). Unfortunately I am unable to say the same for the waiting and bar staff. The wait for drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

An overnight visit. Room on the small side but OK for one night and spotlessly clean as you would expect. Dinner in the panelled restaurant.one of the most memorable I have had in years. superbly presented and cooked. If you dine I Hope you get the Tarte Tatin dessert (for 2) - You will see why when you get it!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Dickens Bar at the Morritt today for a quick spot of lunch, service was great but tables were a bit dirty and weren't wiped regularly it would seem. roast beef sandwich was good although the beef was bloody in part- a bit rare for a sandwich... Chips were of the generic frozen variety, not offensive but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We apologise that the tables were not wiped regularly and that your food was not up to our normally high standards – your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments - we always strive to improve the overall customer experience and without your feedback we... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding reception here on Saturday and it was absolutely amazing. Barbara, Michael and all of the staff at the Morritt could not have done any more for us. All of the guests thoroughly enjoyed the day and commented on how beautiful the venue was. The food was beautiful as was the breakfast the following morning. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your wedding experience with us, congratulations again from everyone at The Morritt! It was a pleasure to host your special day; All of your wonderful comments have been passed onto the relevant heads of department and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Morritt in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my fiancé stayed here for a 1 night break. When we arrived we went into the lovely spa. Followed by afternoon tea at 3pm which we upgraded in our packaged. Totally worth it was lovely. Then we went back into the spa for an hour. Loved the salt room. Although the music wasn't playing unlike last time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our indulgent spa, our relaxing salt room is a firm favourite with our guests. We are in the process of having the spa wired for sound in every area – with individual controls. We are very proud of our... More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First we had an early check in AND our rooms were not Even Ready .Food NOT So .Good staff Need Lots Of TrainIng NO Manager On Duty NO One Even Interested How Did They Get 4 Stars If They Are 4 Weddings and they don't even know what to do.This was a real let down and I would not recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zimbabwe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son got married at this venue in August, we had guests for all over the world attending this wedding. The venue was very disappointing, they did nothing in regard to assisting us in setting up the wedding. Our accommodation was completely incorrect even though I had been in the day before and checked that everyone was booked into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I will respond to each of the issues mentioned but would like to add at the beginning that this particular guest is no longer welcome at the hotel because of her patronising, rude and abusive behaviour to all of the staff. I found the report from the duty manager difficult to believe until I watched the CCTV coverage – quite... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed yesterday with my daughter c/o The Luxury Spa Overnight Break. Hotel interior slightly tired. Room on 2nd floor very small but adequate, furniture very tired certainly not 4star. All staff very attentive and friendly. Dinner was choice of their bistro or a la carte we went for the latter. Service was attentive and knowledgeable however my main of Marley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMangement, Front Office Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to read that our portion sizes were not to your liking and your comments have been passed onto Head Chef. Unfortunately because we are in the beautiful Teesdale countryside and away from the towns and cities our phone signal and WIFI connection are not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,193 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
21.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay