We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Carnwath hotels

Robertson Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Main Street, Carnwath, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Robertson Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Robertson Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
85%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Carnwath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Deshima Sheffield, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long day at work arrived at 20:30 to find they'd stopped serving food, but luckily it was quiz night and there were plenty of sandwiches leftover which I was made welcome to help myself to. Draught Guiness is the canned variety, rather cheeky considering the price. Rooms adequate, walls a bit thin, could here people snoring in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry our kitchen was closed when you arrived. We do state on our web site that we serve food all day from noon until 8.30pm except on a Sunday when last orders are 7.30pm Your Guinness was not a Supermarket can, as you implied. We serve "Surgers" as the turnover for draught Guinness is not sufficient to ensure... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Robertson Arms for two nights and would definitely stay there again. Lovely comfortable and clean room. Excellent breakfast. No complaints. Carnwath very quiet and not much going on but great place to have a stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long drive my partner and I stopped here for a drink and dinner. The staff were quite abrupt at the bar, asking cheekily if we had a reservation without even saying hello. because we hadn't, we were only allowed drinks, and were told to sit in a different room. When we left the staff did not say goodbye... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we were unable to give you a table for dining on your recent visit. The staff have to ask if a reservation has been made as our tables are usually fully booked at the weekends. You would have been shown into our new and very comfortable lounge and offered drinks, however the tables in the "Cranny" lounge... More

Larkhall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

i have been here 3 times for dinner and the food was out standing every time lovely hotel and very clean and really friendly staff and also good with children would defo recomend this hotel and hope to be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your meal here at the Robertson's. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jan & Ray. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. My room was more like a corridor than a room. Long and narrow with just enough room for a bed. However, it had everything anyone could need and was clean and tidy - ironing board and iron, vanity kits, repair kits etc. - you name it, it was probably there. Food and service was excellent. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just had an excellent weekend break at this hotel in Carnwath in South Lanarkshire, Very Tidy and the Staff are really Friendly. Food was excellent, new Coffee Lounge area is very good with nice comfortable Sofas. Can't really fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, guess all the large rooms were taken as both my husband and I and another couple we met had the smallest rooms ever seen, (even french ski lodges were bigger than this), personally feel £80 is far too much to charge for a room of this size. That said the staff were lovely and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Celebration meal for family of 8. Lovely dining area. Tables well laid. Staff attentive and friendly. Variety of meals selected were all well presented and all tasted fantastic. All enjoyed and no complaints. Portion sizes were very generous and all tastes were catered for. Service was prompt and very attentive without being over the top. Was very impressed with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We found this hotel by pure luck as we had to cancel our previous accommodation. We were very lucky. The décor of our rooms was lovely and we had everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a one night stopover, and although conveniently located, not in the prettiest of locations arriving on a dull day in March. The Robertson Arms just got better and better. The service was excellent, the room was delightful, clean and extremely comfortable; and supper was great and breakfast fantastic. Well done for all your efforts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Robertson Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Robertson Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Arms Hotel

Address: 12 - 16 Main Street, Carnwath, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar > Carnwath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Robertson Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Robertson Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer