We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robertson Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 12 - 16 Main Street, Carnwath, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Robertson Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Robertson Arms Hotel
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you have read any reviews on here about the staff being grumpy...believe them! It beggars belief that individuals who quite obviously don't like people can end up working in the hospitality trade, but that has happened at the Robertson Arms. The building itself is quite old/interesting and the bar/restaurant should have a nice feel to it. That, sadly, doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Findon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This pub/hotel could do with redecorating and the male half of the husband and wife owners is miserable to the point of being rude, but don't let that put you off, his wife and the rest of the staff more than make up for him. My room, which was comfortable, was large and very clean with plenty of wardrobe space.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This small family run hotel is a gem - excellent! My wife and I got a very warm welcome from Barry who showed us to our comfortable and very well-appointed room and made sure we knew where everything was ( most hotels leave you to sink or swim). We slept very comfortably and next day enjoyed a very tasty full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

After a long day at work arrived at 20:30 to find they'd stopped serving food, but luckily it was quiz night and there were plenty of sandwiches leftover which I was made welcome to help myself to. Draught Guiness is the canned variety, rather cheeky considering the price. Rooms adequate, walls a bit thin, could here people snoring in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry our kitchen was closed when you arrived. We do state on our web site that we serve food all day from noon until 8.30pm except on a Sunday when last orders are 7.30pm Your Guinness was not a Supermarket can, as you implied. We serve "Surgers" as the turnover for draught Guinness is not sufficient to ensure... More 

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Robertson Arms for two nights and would definitely stay there again. Lovely comfortable and clean room. Excellent breakfast. No complaints. Carnwath very quiet and not much going on but great place to have a stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

After a long drive my partner and I stopped here for a drink and dinner. The staff were quite abrupt at the bar, asking cheekily if we had a reservation without even saying hello. because we hadn't, we were only allowed drinks, and were told to sit in a different room. When we left the staff did not say goodbye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we were unable to give you a table for dining on your recent visit. The staff have to ask if a reservation has been made as our tables are usually fully booked at the weekends. You would have been shown into our new and very comfortable lounge and offered drinks, however the tables in the "Cranny" lounge... More 

Larkhall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

i have been here 3 times for dinner and the food was out standing every time lovely hotel and very clean and really friendly staff and also good with children would defo recomend this hotel and hope to be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your meal here at the Robertson's. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jan & Ray. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. My room was more like a corridor than a room. Long and narrow with just enough room for a bed. However, it had everything anyone could need and was clean and tidy - ironing board and iron, vanity kits, repair kits etc. - you name it, it was probably there. Food and service was excellent. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just had an excellent weekend break at this hotel in Carnwath in South Lanarkshire, Very Tidy and the Staff are really Friendly. Food was excellent, new Coffee Lounge area is very good with nice comfortable Sofas. Can't really fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, guess all the large rooms were taken as both my husband and I and another couple we met had the smallest rooms ever seen, (even french ski lodges were bigger than this), personally feel £80 is far too much to charge for a room of this size. That said the staff were lovely and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Robertson Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Arms Hotel

Address: 12 - 16 Main Street, Carnwath, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar > Carnwath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Robertson Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay