We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manhattans

85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manhattans
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Manhattans
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us stayed for a football trip in Newcastle and I can't rate this place highly enough. Nice big spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Very close to a Metro line so easy to get around in the day. Best thing about it was that the owners were some of the nicest people you could meet and will do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here mid-week so it was nice and quiet as the nightclub isn't on . The rooms where very clean and plenty of space and very reasonable in price. The shared bathroom was massive with a bath and the staff are very friendly great bar downstairs as well. Will definitely go back when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Just returned from 2 nights at Manhattans!! Literally had the best stay great location, reasonable prices and the drinks in the bar downstairs are proper cheap too! Matthew was the perfect host, gave us the low down on the best places to go out! Ros and the rest of the staff were really friendly too! Rooms are clean and big!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisburn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from a hen weekend. Matthew is fantastic, friendly and an amazing bar an hotel owner. The hotel is so clean, fresh towels everyday. the nightclub down stairs is even better with DJ Matthew absolutely hilarious very good at what he does don't need to leave this place for anything cheap drinks with brilliant flash promotions, Also the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Omg cud not fault this place..... cheap booze,absoulutely fantastic bar staff and fun to be in. Me n the girls had grrrreat crack the whole stay. Rooms clean n fresh. Have da say the manager was sooo friendly,funny and great banter from all. Cant wait come back thanks for a smashin hen weekend xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed in manhattans hotel in may for my sisters 21st.. forget all the reviews you have read about manhattans because there not even true! Very clean, brilliant warm, welcoming, fun, cheerful staff, very welcoming hotel, close to newcastle city centre. Perfect hotel for weekend stays! I will definitely be back! Loved every second of it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
crewe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at Manhattans after a party, the rooms are very nice and tidy. bar downstairs reasonably priced and Dj music was spot on. great value budget accommodation i would recommend it not to far from city center £7.00 in taxi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived at 1am technically the day after we were suppose to check in. Luckily the bar downstairs was still open and a nice young guy helped us to our room. The room is quite spacious (3 beds when we only expected one). The rooms are very tidy and new. Obvious amount of restoration has taken place since the change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay