We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manhattans

85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manhattans
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Manhattans
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Lisburn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a hen weekend. Matthew is fantastic, friendly and an amazing bar an hotel owner. The hotel is so clean, fresh towels everyday. the nightclub down stairs is even better with DJ Matthew absolutely hilarious very good at what he does don't need to leave this place for anything cheap drinks with brilliant flash promotions, Also the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Omg cud not fault this place..... cheap booze,absoulutely fantastic bar staff and fun to be in. Me n the girls had grrrreat crack the whole stay. Rooms clean n fresh. Have da say the manager was sooo friendly,funny and great banter from all. Cant wait come back thanks for a smashin hen weekend xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed in manhattans hotel in may for my sisters 21st.. forget all the reviews you have read about manhattans because there not even true! Very clean, brilliant warm, welcoming, fun, cheerful staff, very welcoming hotel, close to newcastle city centre. Perfect hotel for weekend stays! I will definitely be back! Loved every second of it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
crewe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at Manhattans after a party, the rooms are very nice and tidy. bar downstairs reasonably priced and Dj music was spot on. great value budget accommodation i would recommend it not to far from city center £7.00 in taxi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived at 1am technically the day after we were suppose to check in. Luckily the bar downstairs was still open and a nice young guy helped us to our room. The room is quite spacious (3 beds when we only expected one). The rooms are very tidy and new. Obvious amount of restoration has taken place since the change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Where to start. Wow this place has got it all, amazing staff and manager, beautiful rooms and a nifty club underneath (sound proofed) I cant believe the service and help we received, were not from Newcastle and need help with places to go as it was my birthday and wanted a great night out and thanks to the staff that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Our second vist to this bar/nightclub it really is a great party venue. This time we had a large en suite room it was well worth the extra money £25 for two people. Basic room with tv and tea and coffee but also nice and clean. The staff where great as usual. The nightclub below is open till 2am so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a septic weekend in newcastle. Three of us booked into one room in manhattans. We really enjoyed our stay. Only £7 for a taxi from manhattans to the city centre. Very friendly staff. Matthew the owner is a top man, very friendly and helpful with regards to where the best places to eat and drink in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Manhattans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay