We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manhattans

85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Manhattans
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    8
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

What a fantastic time we had at manhattans the rooms were well presented spotless and clean good value for money can't fault it !! Staff all friendly and welcoming DJ matt started my birthday celebrations off in the bar down stairs before heading of into newcastel thanks for the free cocktails 😊 We have booked up again in august see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with friends for a birthday and we were all left disappointed. We payed £300 for two rooms, most certainly not worth the money. There was broken lights in the room and uncomfortable beds. The cups had not been washed from previous guests and the spoons were stuck to the cup, absolutely disgusting. The 'nightclub' is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ros K, Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. What you forgot to mention in your review was that £300 was for 2 rooms for 8 people so your complaint about the pricing is utterly unfair considering that you cannot get a room in the city centre for 2 people for under £100 on a Saturday night. You also... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Four of us stayed for a football trip in Newcastle and I can't rate this place highly enough. Nice big spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Very close to a Metro line so easy to get around in the day. Best thing about it was that the owners were some of the nicest people you could meet and will do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Stayed here mid-week so it was nice and quiet as the nightclub isn't on . The rooms where very clean and plenty of space and very reasonable in price. The shared bathroom was massive with a bath and the staff are very friendly great bar downstairs as well. Will definitely go back when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Just returned from 2 nights at Manhattans!! Literally had the best stay great location, reasonable prices and the drinks in the bar downstairs are proper cheap too! Matthew was the perfect host, gave us the low down on the best places to go out! Ros and the rest of the staff were really friendly too! Rooms are clean and big!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from a hen weekend. Matthew is fantastic, friendly and an amazing bar an hotel owner. The hotel is so clean, fresh towels everyday. the nightclub down stairs is even better with DJ Matthew absolutely hilarious very good at what he does don't need to leave this place for anything cheap drinks with brilliant flash promotions, Also the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Omg cud not fault this place..... cheap booze,absoulutely fantastic bar staff and fun to be in. Me n the girls had grrrreat crack the whole stay. Rooms clean n fresh. Have da say the manager was sooo friendly,funny and great banter from all. Cant wait come back thanks for a smashin hen weekend xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed in manhattans hotel in may for my sisters 21st.. forget all the reviews you have read about manhattans because there not even true! Very clean, brilliant warm, welcoming, fun, cheerful staff, very welcoming hotel, close to newcastle city centre. Perfect hotel for weekend stays! I will definitely be back! Loved every second of it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
crewe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
5.3 mi away
Metro Inns Newcastle
Metro Inns Newcastle
#65 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Holystone
2.2 mi away
Rosebery Hotel
Rosebery Hotel
#6 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
16.8 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay