We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retiro no Rio

GreenLeadersSilver level
EM635 | Quinta da Malhadoura, Povoa de Midoes, Povoa de Midoes 3420-136, Portugal
Retiro no Rio
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

our stay was nice and peaceful at this wonderful place with kind and helpful owners. We recommanded Retiro no Rio if you are looking for a place to relax, chill and explore the region. Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RetiroNoRio, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to host you. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

I stayed in one of Elena and Ruurds caravans which was located right near the lake with beautiful views and surroundings. It is a very relaxing environment and perfect for 'getting away from it all'. The caravan was clean with all the equipment I needed for cooking and food storage as well as a machine for making hot drinks. With... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RetiroNoRio, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for appreciating what Retiro no Rio has to offer ! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Ruurd and Elena are very friendly people. We had couple dinners together and I gotta say I really enjoyed the conversations we had. As for the staying they make you feel like home and everything is ready and clean. Their approach for doing things is very fair and straightforward which is a enjoyable thing when you're travelling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RetiroNoRio, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to get to know you and to see how much you enjoyed all the things Retiro no Rio has to offer. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. More 

Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ruurd and Elena are extremely friendly and can't do enough to make their guests feel welcome and at home. Reaching the converted farm at the bottom of a winding steep track is in itself an adventure. The surroundings are superb with the accommodation situated on the banks of a glorious river. Ruurd even lent my 11 year old son fishing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Retiro R, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at our quinta. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!! Best regards, Ruurd and Elena More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Retiro do Rio is a fantastic location for a peaceful holiday in central Portugal. Away from it all but with all the required comfort and facilities. We had a good appartment/studio (Canela) with terrace and there is a beautiful swimming pool above the river, The local baker comes every morning with your order. Supermarkets are 10-15 min drive away. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Retiro no Rio in September 2012. What a beautiful part of the world. The accomodation was clean and comfortable, the location on the river with lovely views absolutely stunning. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating and the evening meals that they provided as an optional extra were superb. We enjoyed a canoe safari down the Mondego... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at Retiro no Rio during my roadtrip through Portugal. When I arrived i was amazed about the beautiful views from anywhere on the property. The appartments all have terraces with river views. There is a short walk private road to the river side. It's beautiful to walk along the river and just sit on the rocks and enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I had a great time in Retiro no Rio. I stayed there with my friend in a really nice room B and B - Dahlia. We enjoyed all the time there. The area around was always clean and the swimming pool outside was just great. We also had a dinner and BBQ with the owners and other guests of Retiro,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The first time I went for a holiday at Retiro no Rio with some friends it had only just been opened and, as was explained, a lot of work still had to be done. Nevertheless, the apartment was clean and cosy and the owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Needless to say I went back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've stayed at the B&B Erica room. The only window in the whole room (located in the the bathroom) had a view to the garage. We don't know the conditions of the other rooms/apartments, but that specific room was awfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RetiroNoRio, Owner at Retiro no Rio, responded to this review

Dear Imogdi, We are sorry you did not like the room. We have since then redecorated the room, retiled the bathroom and the room now has extra windows. However, B&B Erica is our low-budget room and we assure you the other accommodations are of a higher quality. We would like to give you the opportunity to find out for yourself... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities