We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Shirley hotels

The Regency Hotel Solihull

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Regency Hotel Solihull to your Saves list
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
47%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Shirley
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mrbr34 Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (363)
  • Photos (44)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (67)
  • More
true
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    106
    79
    55
    68
See reviews for
52
81
24
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were friendly and helpful but the dining experience left a lot to be desired. Breakfast on the first few days was tepid and served in a separate room away from the main restraunt. The same applied to the evening meal. The TV in the room had a mind of its own changing channels as it felt fit with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Although the staff were very friendly, I am most disappointed to learn of the issue you had with your TV and that the breakfast and Dinner service did not meet your expectations. Perhaps you would like to give me a call to discuss your experience further as I... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here just a couple of days ago for business purposes, and had a brilliant stay. The rooms are lovely, so much bigger than what I expected considering I was on my own! Even had a room that overlooked the dining patio which was lovely. Used room service for dinner and the food is superb, I would definitely recommend taking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am extremely pleased you enjoyed the standard of your accommodation, room service and breakfast. Also I am delighted that we provided such a high standard of customer service during your stay. The Regency Hotel Solihull has recently had an extensive refurbishment of all public areas, meeting rooms, wedding and event... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I spent one night at the Regency last week on a deal. We were very impressed by the room and the friendly staff. We were welcomed by Amy, who was very helpful. We caught the bus into Solihull, which runs along the road in front of the hotel. The food was very nice, at dinner and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We work hard on ensuring we provide a high standard of customer service throughout all areas of the hotel including the restaurant, coffee lounge, meeting rooms and wedding and event facilities. I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodation, the food and the service... More

Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We parked our car at this hotel whilst we went on holiday for two weeks. The hotel was easy to find and there were plenty of parking spaces. Once your car is parked, that is where it stays! You don't have to leave your keys and the car is not moved which was great. The hotel ordered us a taxi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team are delighted to receive such positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed the friendly service, the standard of your accommodation and the quality of our breakfast. We have worked very hard to improve the standard of our breakfast... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Am a regular user of this Hotel (3rd time). Heartening to witness the Hotel having transformed from a shabby and non guest centric property to one that is now focussed wholly on the guest's experience and needs. Right from the point of placing my enquiry to actually using the meetings/events space - the entire experience was non cumbersome and professional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you are a regular guest of the hotel and have noticed the hard work put the team have put in to increase the standards of our products and services. Both Peter and Laura will be pleased to hear your comments... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here and had my wedding here. I can not fault the hotel staff or hotel itself. We had an amazing day that ran smoothly thanks to all the staff there. They could not do enough to help you in anyway. The food was amazing as well everyone complimented the food. Kiya is an amazing wedding planner and would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Payne, Firstly, congratulations! Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback on Trip Advisor following your wedding. We were delighted to host your big day and my team and I are so pleased you enjoyed the day. I have passed on your comments regarding the food and service to our Head Chef and Operations Manager.... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a wedding. Given a ground floor room with a little patio which was perfect since was somewhere for us to escape to while our baby settled to sleep. Room was clean and towels big. Free entry to leisure centre meant we could swim next morning. Breakfast buffet nice but did have to ask for quite a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with Trip Advisor and providing us with your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay while attending a wedding. The Regency Hotel Solihull is an ideal wedding venue and it is important that guests attending a wedding enjoy all aspects the hotel including our bedrooms, leisure... More

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from one or two of the staff there isn't a lot positive I could write about this hotel We had a so-called 'executive' room and paid extra for the privilege.... the privilege of bedside lights that didn't work...... ...the privilege of bathroom extractor fan not working either. One lift in the part we stayed in - and that seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am very sorry and disappointed to learn of your poor experience. Although I am pleased to hear that our team members were the highlight of your stay, I am concerned that the standard of the bedroom and evening meal did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used the Regency again because of it's close proximity to the conference venue. It is also a good place to stay for other reasons. The room i got was clean neat and tidy..No problems but it was a little hot ,with the weather we are having i am not suprised.I might add that at some stage the hotel is going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradley S, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor, I’m glad that you had an enjoyable stay. As you suggested, we have having extremely warm weather currently however I do apologise that your room was hotter than would have been ideal. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team, I will pass these... More

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Back from another conference and another stay at The Regency. It remains so convenient for the venue. But more than that I really like the consistency that the place deliver now that it has decent management. The staff are not consistent because I think they are improving all the time.. You could get a better room for a lot more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil B, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with Trip Advisor Following your visit. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your conference and stay with us. We have invested heavily on improving the meeting and event facilities and the service we provide to our guests. We have also reviewed the service we provide to our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Near The Regency Hotel Solihull

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
112

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Regency Hotel Solihull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer