We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hogs Head Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Awsworth Lane, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Hogs Head Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    40
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
55
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I, my husband and a freind stayed here whilst attending the cricket at Trent Bridge. We had a fantastic stay, the staff were warm and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and the food was amazing. The hotel setting is very pretty and there is an abundance of parking spaces. We would like to stay again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

although 10 miles to the venue journey time is quite short and the hotel is well worth it. The food at night is excellent all at bar prices, good selection of beers etc so there is no need to go out. Breakfast selection is excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great little place this is, it has professial and friendly staff, a breakfast that will last you all day and super accommodation. Really nice to enjoy a pint of excellent beer in the clean and spacious garden in the setting sun of the evening. Good value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A drop in lunch they serve most of the day . specialls board and full menu . All I would suggest you make sure you now if and what veg Is coming with your meal . You may want to add an extra side salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garstang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the Hogs Head for three nights in July on a bed and breakfast basis. We enjoyed the food served at breakfasts and evening meals. The room size was adequate although the decor was a little tired but that was more than offset by the friendly service and reasonable price of accommodation and meals. We will have no hesitation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hucknall nottm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We had a run out to ikea and wondered where to go for Sunday lunch our friend suggested this place was not sure as I had used it years ago when they used to do a brilliant steak night but it did drop off so thought we would give it a go ,so glad we did we all had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Last year our daughter got married and we had the reception at the Hogs Head Hotel, we had the carvery for the meal and everyone enjoyed it. They cater for the gluten free diner as well. Fantastic place fully recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

We've been to this restaurant / pub many times and it's always been pleasant. The Sunday lunch is by far the best day to go. We attended last Sunday and the meal was as good as ever with a generous offering of meat. Much better than the chain brands such as Toby or Crown. The only downside to our visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend. The pub was quite busy when we arrived. We were shown to our room. First impressions a positive. The bed was quite low but well presented. Mattress was medium firm. Free fast Wi-Fi. Food was from the pub menu. Quite extensive and reasonable. Price is no more than any other pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Frosty reception from a rude and unhelpful member of staff. (Not my fault if she was having a bad day). Room okay; clean, compact, initially no obvious issues. Unfortunately, I awoke to find something was evidently living in the bed and I had been bitten across the shoulders, back and arms. Not nice. Would never stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie, We are disappointed you feel the way you describe in your review, but are also deeply disappointed that you did not bring any of your concerns to us whilst you were here. We have investigated fully your claims regarding the room you stayed in and can report that nothing was found, Our housekeeper and both owners took the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West
Premier Inn Nottingham West
#5 of 56 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.0 mi away
De Vere Venues East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay