We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Carlisle M6

Moto Service Area | Southwaite M6, Broadfield Site, Southwaite, Carlisle CA4 0NT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    28
    62
    48
    91
See reviews for
67
86
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made a last minute booking and arrived about 11pm. Staff on duty really helpful and welcoming. The only reason I'm not giving top marks is the place is in need of a makeover and modernising. Very convenient place and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback Jim. We are so pleased to hear the staff were friendly and welcoming! We can see this Hotel is awaiting refurbishment, we can confirm that we do currently have an ongoing refurbishment programme. We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and do hope you will stay... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life!. The room was vile and disgusting and I left feeling completely sick and violated. Upon going to bed, I noticed (on the side nearest to the wall) there was half a dozen toe nail clippings on the floor. I noticed them after I stood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Jayson. We’re truly sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day, we understand you have since contacted Customer Services and would like to thank you once again for your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southwaite hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Travelodge is awaiting a refresh and it felt quite tired. Having said that, it is by the M6 (if you're heading south) and with Travelodge advance bookings you can get it for around £30 a night. My room was clean and looked okay. However, I wouldn't have liked to have spent more than £30 for it. I imagine once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just about good enough for the one night half way through a journey.. Functional and needs modernising.Bland and not really worth the money. If it wasn't on the motorway it would be completely pony less coming here

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel last night - my 3rd time staying there. Travelodge have really got the formula right for the budget traveller. As per previous stays: Reception staff - very helpful. Room/en-suite - quite large, simply furnished, spotlessly clean. Bed - very, very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

It's pretty much what you'd expect of a Travelodge - basic but clean and OK for a night en route to somewhere more exciting BUT (a big but) finding it is not easy, especially from the northbound carriageway. You have to disobey a NO ENTRY sign and then make a couple of left turns to get under the motorway. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Not the easiest lodge to find and seems to be obscured by the service station if you are traveling on the M6 north as it is on the M6 south service area. We initially landed up at the wrong Travelodge and were redirected. A map would have been helpful. The single beds (requested) are not an average sized single bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We are truly sorry to learn of your poor experience and we would like to be able to contact you to look into the issues you had further. Please use the ‘Contact Us’ page on our website so we can do so. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Web-site warns that a 'make-over' is coming soon. No escaping this is a tired motel but it was clean and tidy. I had phoned ahead and asked for a room at the back. On arrival I was given a room at the front. Receptionist quite disinterested and unhelpful. Not a showstopper but it just soured things a bit. Big plus... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

A quite difficult place to approach from the M6. When you drive onto the service area you have to be careful that you dont drive straight though and finish up back on the northbound carriageway. You approach along a pot hole ridden road and enter the service area, you must then disobey a 'No Entry' sign which is on your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Booked this Travelodge to break a journey overnight. Room was clean, is in need of a refurb, but was fine for one night. Room was spacious, only one chair though. Was overlooking the car park & petrol station, but was fairly quiet considering the location being next to M6. Bed was a bit on the firm side for me, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay