We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Carlisle M6

Moto Service Area | Southwaite M6, Broadfield Site, Southwaite, Carlisle CA4 0NT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    30
    63
    48
    92
See reviews for
67
88
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

New improved travelogue apparently. Rooms were clean and newly decorated but a bit slap dash obviously been upgraded in a rush. Kettle and tea/coffee facilities etc. Reception was in car park due to renovations. The only problem about this place is that if you want a taxi to the nearest pub it's £20! Each way! If I had thought about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the room was very old and tired, desperately in need of updating and way too expensive for what you get. I couldn't have the window open on a very hot night because of the noise from a lorry park behind.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to learn that external noise and the temperature of the room spoiled the comfort of your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible, our rooms are provided with fans and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler. We hope that there will be another... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southwaite hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff made for a very positive sray. Painting and renovations were underway and the only negatives were the strong smell of paint and poor water supply to the shower. Our room was spacious and the bed seemed new too. We slept well and recommend the experience to others needing clean and comfortable 'no frills' accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a night here on our south from Scotland and had a very good night. Comfortable beds and very clean accommodation. Helpful cheerful staff too and the retail facilities remained open unlike those at Gretna 30 miles north on the same evening. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Made a last minute booking and arrived about 11pm. Staff on duty really helpful and welcoming. The only reason I'm not giving top marks is the place is in need of a makeover and modernising. Very convenient place and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback Jim. We are so pleased to hear the staff were friendly and welcoming! We can see this Hotel is awaiting refurbishment, we can confirm that we do currently have an ongoing refurbishment programme. We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and do hope you will stay... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

This was by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life!. The room was vile and disgusting and I left feeling completely sick and violated. Upon going to bed, I noticed (on the side nearest to the wall) there was half a dozen toe nail clippings on the floor. I noticed them after I stood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle M6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Jayson. We’re truly sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day, we understand you have since contacted Customer Services and would like to thank you once again for your... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

This Travelodge is awaiting a refresh and it felt quite tired. Having said that, it is by the M6 (if you're heading south) and with Travelodge advance bookings you can get it for around £30 a night. My room was clean and looked okay. However, I wouldn't have liked to have spent more than £30 for it. I imagine once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

just about good enough for the one night half way through a journey.. Functional and needs modernising.Bland and not really worth the money. If it wasn't on the motorway it would be completely pony less coming here

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Stayed in this hotel last night - my 3rd time staying there. Travelodge have really got the formula right for the budget traveller. As per previous stays: Reception staff - very helpful. Room/en-suite - quite large, simply furnished, spotlessly clean. Bed - very, very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

It's pretty much what you'd expect of a Travelodge - basic but clean and OK for a night en route to somewhere more exciting BUT (a big but) finding it is not easy, especially from the northbound carriageway. You have to disobey a NO ENTRY sign and then make a couple of left turns to get under the motorway. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwaite
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 42
6.8 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle - M6, Jct 44
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central
6.1 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay