We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Northam B&Bs / inns

Sundene House

Save Saved
You added Sundene House to your Saves list
Chope Road, Northam, Bideford EX39 3QE, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (76)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Sundene House
Ranked #1 of 3 Northam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northam
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
30
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My second stay with Louise and Harry, and it certainly won't be my last. They are both very friendly and helpful, and anticipate ones needs. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable, with the little extras that make the difference. I'm looking forward to my next pre Lundy stay :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Harry and Louise gave us ( 3 adults & a Westie) a very warm welcome back to their beautiful B & B, it was like staying with old friends. It was nice to have complimentary mints, biscuits, fresh milk and beers in the room along with a selection of magazines. The family room we stayed in was well equipped with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a lovely time at Sundene House, Harry and Louise were really friendly and made us very welcome. The breakfast was first class and we could not fault it. The B&B had everything you needed and more. We will definitely stay there again if we are in Bideford.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our second stay at Sundene House. The B&B is ideally located being close to Bideford and Westward Ho. Also it is close to the bus routes and its possible to catch the bus at the end of the road to Ilfracombe which goes via Bideford. Barnstaple bus station has very good connections to other locations. Harry also gave us several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was looking for a B&B for 1 night for my partner and I to stay at whilst attending a friends wedding. Having stayed at some traditional B&B's before and not been impressed I really wanted something warm and inviting but without being fussy. Sundene ticks all those boxes and more, Harry and Louise were so friendly and chatty -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our second visit to Sundene House and it was even better than I remembered. The warmest of welcomes greeted us by both Harry and Louise and that included our elderly canine friend. We had ground floor accommodation that gave us a double bedroom, a small lounge area with en-suite, but also the option to use a large lounge area. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. All my comments from the previous review stand. A very friendly welcome, a comfortable room, and a breakfast that won't leave you searching for an early lunch. This time however they stepped up to a new level. I had a fall in Bideford high street and broke my leg. Not only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review of Sundene House after all your adventures down here and we hope you are recuperating well. We were glad we were able to be useful at such a difficult time for you both.-it was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again fit and well More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a wonderful reception by Louise & Harry on the 31st may 2014. They have a beautiful b & b with fabulous rooms. We stayed in one of their family suites with 2 double beds with adjoining room, our 2 year old thought it was amazing to have such a big bed to himself. Children are made very welcome.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise S, Guest Relations Manager at Sundene House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Sundene House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you all again.Harry and Louise. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It would be difficult to overstate the quality of this B&B. Indeed it is by far the best we have ever stayed in during the last 25 years! The warm welcome and hospitality we received from Louise and Harry was second to none - nothing was too much trouble for them. We hired all three rooms (for ourselves and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review

It was really lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Devon. We hope all goes well with you and your family. Harry and Louise More

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really top quality bed and breakfast set close enough to walk to Westward Ho! beach and to pretty much everywhere in the local area. Great couple running it made us feel really happy and welcome, and cooked us a full English breakfast to order and waited on us in the morning! Perfect cleanliness. Would recommend to any families, couples or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review

We are really pleased to know you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the new room we have made available this year. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Harry and Louise More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sundene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sundene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundene House

Address: Chope Road, Northam, Bideford EX39 3QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford > Northam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 Lovely,spacious suites available as double,single or family rooms. New king size bedded en suite now available too. Free Wi-Fi, generous welcome tray with fresh milk and small fridge and microwave in suites. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sundene House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer