We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Gimo accommodations

Gimo Herrgard

4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gimo Herrgard to your Saves list
Gimo Herrgard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Gimo
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
35
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my wife stayed at Gimo Hotel with another couple during this summer. The overall experience turned out to be a disaster. The rooms were a joke - it reminded me of a 90's motel that you'll see in the movies. The rooms didn't have air conditioner and since it was like 90° F (32°C) that day the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear hansalbertisaksson, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I was the one who checked you in on this day and I was also working at the front desk on this evening and the following morning. I acknowledge the fact that this reply... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this place has history and amazing location by the lake, BUT, the restaurant serves so bad food its not really worth eating. straight out of the fridge sandwich topping as starter. and you can tell by the attitude and the manners of the staff that they do not like what they doing, who they work for and what they represent,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Nicklas W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In all honesty, I am surprised by your comments and as I would personally handle any written guest complaint I would like to know where your e-mail was sent. Please send it to me... More

Travelers are raving about these Gimo hotels

Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice and idyllic hotel middle of the countryside, which ambience was really nice. Service was good, nothing to complain about and I would see, that value for this hotel is also rather good. Sleep quality was excellent at least for me, though the air in the rooms was quite warm (25-26 degrees). Cleanliness was also good and location and surroundings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear inexact, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Feedback from our guests is vital in our continuous effort to become one of Sweden's premier hotel resorts. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be an honor to have you with us again. Again, thank you and let me take this opportunity... More

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When I booked 3 double rooms I informed Gimo that 2 of the people in our party do not drink alcohol and requested that non-alcoholic equivalents to the wine we would be drinking would be offered. And we needed 1 room we could have our dogs in. No booking confirmation arrived so when I rang to check I reminded them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Joanna F, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. However, as I informed you after you contacted us I believe the waiter acted according to our standard operating procedures when he offered you non-alcoholic red and white wine, soda, mineral water and various fruit... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The mansion is beautifully and the surroundings are nice. Out room was spacious, clean and very cosy. The staff was friendly and welcoming but the servant for our dinner service seem to be new and a bit lost. We asked for two glasses of different kinds of wine but came with a whole bottle. The food was okay but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Försäljningschef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Evelina S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room. I appreciate your comments on the food and I have forwarded them to our chef who will investigate this further. It is our ambition to be Uppland's premier resort... More

New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am not reviewing the main building of the hotel, i have no idea if that is good or not. My review is specifically about going to the hotel with a dog and staying there. We wanted a weekend get away during easter, to be out in the country and relax. We had looked at the website of the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear orwellthemaltese, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our ambition to ensure all our guests enjoy a magnificent stay in our hotel and hence our guests' opinions are vital for us. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to your expectations. It is correct that we do not allow... More

Verbier, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

It looks amazing online but is nothing that it makes itself out to be sadly. Hugely over priced & really not worth it. Stunning setting on the lake with nice grounds but the cost really detracts from that. We had a triple room for one night, I couldn't move the following day as the bed was SO soft it screwed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa B, Thank you very much for sharing your opinions about your stay. We strive to be one of Sweden's top hotels and feedback from our guests is vital in our continous work to stay on top of things. I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I often hear very good things... More

Tampere
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a quite part of the countryside. It is an old building which is great and I am sure filled with history. The gardens I imagine must be great in summer as the total property is very large and boarders onto alake. I stayed in one of the 'other' buildings, which is not connected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear clcroux, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing from you. You are absolutely right; the gardens are really beautiful during the summer and walking between the different buildings, the boathouse and the parks is a most enjoyable walk. It may, however, not be the same during winter and we are currently looking for solutions that are in... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked a romantic weekend with dinner and afternoon tea and got a very low price, so I would say it was definitley good value for the money. HOWEVER there were several things that would have infuriated us if we had paid full price; - The four course dinner was very average. The soup was fantastic but the main dish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Bad service, long queue at check in. broken floor heating in room, Disgusting outdoor tub. Our appetizer was champagne from on old bottle=no gas left. When we complained our drinks where given to the next guests :-( and we got two new glasses from the same old bottle. Appallingly slow service, rude waiter. Ice cold starter and wine too war...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gimo Herrgard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gimo Herrgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimo Herrgard

Address: Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Gimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gimo Herrgard 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gimo Herrgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gimo Herrgård is Sweden's first Gustavian Manor and was built in the 1760's - the iron work heydays. Today it is a four star hotel featuring 88 rooms and suites with ensuite bathrooms, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 4 meeting rooms for up to 110 persons and five different dining rooms and chambres separées. Gimo Herrgård also features an on-site tennis court, a rope course 14 meters up in the air, a 100 meter zip-line and the Sjöstugan SPA. Several golf courses are within a few minutes' drive.Gimo Herrgård is a member of Chaine des Rotisseurs, Historic Hotels of Europe, Countryside Hotels and Svenska Möten. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
88

See which rooms travelers prefer