We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gimo Herrgard

4.0 of 5 Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimo Herrgard
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gimo Herrgard
Gimo Herrgard
Gimo Herrgard
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
12
38
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Gimo Herrgard is a very cozy place in a village Gimo, which is not far from Uppsala. This is an old mansion which is a very nice hotel now and is apperantly was visited by several members of the Swedish Royal Family. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The must to do at the hotel :... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Flower53_10, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our countryside surroundings. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Gimo Herrgård. Kind regards, Mathias More 

Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Gimo Hotel with another couple during this summer. The overall experience turned out to be a disaster. The rooms were a joke - it reminded me of a 90's motel that you'll see in the movies. The rooms didn't have air conditioner and since it was like 90° F (32°C) that day the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear hansalbertisaksson, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I was the one who checked you in on this day and I was also working at the front desk on this evening and the following morning. I acknowledge the fact that this reply... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gimo hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

this place has history and amazing location by the lake, BUT, the restaurant serves so bad food its not really worth eating. straight out of the fridge sandwich topping as starter. and you can tell by the attitude and the manners of the staff that they do not like what they doing, who they work for and what they represent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Nicklas W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In all honesty, I am surprised by your comments and as I would personally handle any written guest complaint I would like to know where your e-mail was sent. Please send it to me... More 

Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice and idyllic hotel middle of the countryside, which ambience was really nice. Service was good, nothing to complain about and I would see, that value for this hotel is also rather good. Sleep quality was excellent at least for me, though the air in the rooms was quite warm (25-26 degrees). Cleanliness was also good and location and surroundings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear inexact, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Feedback from our guests is vital in our continuous effort to become one of Sweden's premier hotel resorts. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be an honor to have you with us again. Again, thank you and let me take this opportunity... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When I booked 3 double rooms I informed Gimo that 2 of the people in our party do not drink alcohol and requested that non-alcoholic equivalents to the wine we would be drinking would be offered. And we needed 1 room we could have our dogs in. No booking confirmation arrived so when I rang to check I reminded them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Joanna F, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. However, as I informed you after you contacted us I believe the waiter acted according to our standard operating procedures when he offered you non-alcoholic red and white wine, soda, mineral water and various fruit... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The mansion is beautifully and the surroundings are nice. Out room was spacious, clean and very cosy. The staff was friendly and welcoming but the servant for our dinner service seem to be new and a bit lost. We asked for two glasses of different kinds of wine but came with a whole bottle. The food was okay but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Försäljningschef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Evelina S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room. I appreciate your comments on the food and I have forwarded them to our chef who will investigate this further. It is our ambition to be Uppland's premier resort... More 

New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am not reviewing the main building of the hotel, i have no idea if that is good or not. My review is specifically about going to the hotel with a dog and staying there. We wanted a weekend get away during easter, to be out in the country and relax. We had looked at the website of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear orwellthemaltese, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our ambition to ensure all our guests enjoy a magnificent stay in our hotel and hence our guests' opinions are vital for us. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to your expectations. It is correct that we do not allow... More 

Verbier, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

It looks amazing online but is nothing that it makes itself out to be sadly. Hugely over priced & really not worth it. Stunning setting on the lake with nice grounds but the cost really detracts from that. We had a triple room for one night, I couldn't move the following day as the bed was SO soft it screwed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa B, Thank you very much for sharing your opinions about your stay. We strive to be one of Sweden's top hotels and feedback from our guests is vital in our continous work to stay on top of things. I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I often hear very good things... More 

Tampere
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a quite part of the countryside. It is an old building which is great and I am sure filled with history. The gardens I imagine must be great in summer as the total property is very large and boarders onto alake. I stayed in one of the 'other' buildings, which is not connected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear clcroux, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing from you. You are absolutely right; the gardens are really beautiful during the summer and walking between the different buildings, the boathouse and the parks is a most enjoyable walk. It may, however, not be the same during winter and we are currently looking for solutions that are in... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked a romantic weekend with dinner and afternoon tea and got a very low price, so I would say it was definitley good value for the money. HOWEVER there were several things that would have infuriated us if we had paid full price; - The four course dinner was very average. The soup was fantastic but the main dish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gimo Herrgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimo Herrgard

Address: Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Gimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gimo Herrgard 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gimo Herrgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay