We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gimo Herrgard

Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gimo Herrgard
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gimo Herrgard
Gimo Herrgard
Gimo Herrgard
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
15
44
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My girlfriend and I attended a wedding at Gimo Herrgård over new years eve. Our room wasn't in the main building but in a nearby building (maybe 5 min walk?). The rooms interior seemed dated, not very well lit, and large windows facing the parking lot where everyone could see straight into our room. The food was very good though,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej lendai, Tack för att du tog dig tid att recensera oss på Tripadvisor. Det var ett mycket vackert bröllop... More 

Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Gimo Herrgard is a very cozy place in a village Gimo, which is not far from Uppsala. This is an old mansion which is a very nice hotel now and is apperantly was visited by several members of the Swedish Royal Family. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The must to do at the hotel :... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Flower53_10, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our countryside surroundings. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Gimo Herrgård. Kind regards, Mathias More 

Stockholm
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Gimo Hotel with another couple during this summer. The overall experience turned out to be a disaster. The rooms were a joke - it reminded me of a 90's motel that you'll see in the movies. The rooms didn't have air conditioner and since it was like 90° F (32°C) that day the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear hansalbertisaksson, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I was the one who checked you in on this day and I was also working at the front desk on this evening and the following morning. I acknowledge the fact that this reply... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

this place has history and amazing location by the lake, BUT, the restaurant serves so bad food its not really worth eating. straight out of the fridge sandwich topping as starter. and you can tell by the attitude and the manners of the staff that they do not like what they doing, who they work for and what they represent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Nicklas W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In all honesty, I am surprised by your comments and as I would personally handle any written guest complaint I would like to know where your e-mail was sent. Please send it to me... More 

Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice and idyllic hotel middle of the countryside, which ambience was really nice. Service was good, nothing to complain about and I would see, that value for this hotel is also rather good. Sleep quality was excellent at least for me, though the air in the rooms was quite warm (25-26 degrees). Cleanliness was also good and location and surroundings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear inexact, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Feedback from our guests is vital in our continuous effort to become one of Sweden's premier hotel resorts. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be an honor to have you with us again. Again, thank you and let me take this opportunity... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When I booked 3 double rooms I informed Gimo that 2 of the people in our party do not drink alcohol and requested that non-alcoholic equivalents to the wine we would be drinking would be offered. And we needed 1 room we could have our dogs in. No booking confirmation arrived so when I rang to check I reminded them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Joanna F, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. However, as I informed you after you contacted us I believe the waiter acted according to our standard operating procedures when he offered you non-alcoholic red and white wine, soda, mineral water and various fruit... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The mansion is beautifully and the surroundings are nice. Out room was spacious, clean and very cosy. The staff was friendly and welcoming but the servant for our dinner service seem to be new and a bit lost. We asked for two glasses of different kinds of wine but came with a whole bottle. The food was okay but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Försäljningschef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Evelina S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room. I appreciate your comments on the food and I have forwarded them to our chef who will investigate this further. It is our ambition to be Uppland's premier resort... More 

New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am not reviewing the main building of the hotel, i have no idea if that is good or not. My review is specifically about going to the hotel with a dog and staying there. We wanted a weekend get away during easter, to be out in the country and relax. We had looked at the website of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear orwellthemaltese, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our ambition to ensure all our guests enjoy a magnificent stay in our hotel and hence our guests' opinions are vital for us. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to your expectations. It is correct that we do not allow... More 

Verbier, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

It looks amazing online but is nothing that it makes itself out to be sadly. Hugely over priced & really not worth it. Stunning setting on the lake with nice grounds but the cost really detracts from that. We had a triple room for one night, I couldn't move the following day as the bed was SO soft it screwed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa B, Thank you very much for sharing your opinions about your stay. We strive to be one of Sweden's top hotels and feedback from our guests is vital in our continous work to stay on top of things. I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I often hear very good things... More 

Tampere
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a quite part of the countryside. It is an old building which is great and I am sure filled with history. The gardens I imagine must be great in summer as the total property is very large and boarders onto alake. I stayed in one of the 'other' buildings, which is not connected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathias S, Director of Sales at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear clcroux, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing from you. You are absolutely right; the gardens are really beautiful during the summer and walking between the different buildings, the boathouse and the parks is a most enjoyable walk. It may, however, not be the same during winter and we are currently looking for solutions that are in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question