We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gimo Herrgard

Bruksgatan, Gimo 747 02, Sweden
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gimo Herrgard
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We booked a evening here to end our summer vacation. We came on a monday, spent the day by the pier next to "spa" house. Not to many things to do by the spa, you have 2 out door jacuzzis with heated water. and the possibility to swim in the lake, sauna indoor. There is a quite big bar in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToPi03
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear ToPi03, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and took the opportunity to visit Sjöstugan and enjoy the surroundings. You are absolutely right about The Sjöstugan bar which is closed on Mondays. We are, however, always able to arrange drinks and snacks... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We went there with my job for a conference and it was a rather nice experience. The hotel is located by a lake so one can take some nice strolls. The rooms were large and comfortable with a jacuzzi. I liked wondering in the rooms and corridors at night as they are decorated like an old castle with heavy furniture,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Asterixos
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Asterixos, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you hade a pleasant stay with us during your conference. And you are absolutely right, the hotel is haunted by old Lady Sofia who wanders the corridors at night making mischief directed at married men (whom she cannot trust) that are... More 

Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Main building is an old catle, well keeped, with long stairs, big vintage saloons on the first floor. At ground floor the reception and the restaurant, very elegant. The food is very well prepared, tasty, original and expensive. As usual in these cases you don't eat a lot! At the wall in the restaurant room you can watch really original... More 

Helpful?
Thank paolo m
Mathias S, Hotelldirektör at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear paolo m, Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us during your business trip. I wish you all the best and should you visit northern Uppland or the Roslagen region again then we would be thrilled to have you as our guest. Kind regards, Mathias More 

Odense, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Worst food experience in a long time… Four courses and none of them were eatable, we actually left the restaurant hungry, as we had to send all 4 courses back in the kitchen untouched - disgusting. Breakfast was lousy, no fresh bread, nor fresh fruit. Don´t go there - as in EVER!!!!

Helpful?
Thank sandraS7467CD
Mathias S, Chef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

This review has been reported to Tripadvisor for investigation of fraud. The hotel has no intention to respond to this review and awaits Tripadvisor's decision whether or not to keep this review published. More 

Travelers are raving about these Gimo hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

My review of Gimo Herrgard is mixed. When we first arrived, we were shown to dated rooms on a high floor -- with no lift and we had many bags being five people staying in Sweden for a week -- one of which was exceedingly hot. We politely asked to switch rooms on the ground that the people in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mom_to_Zoe
Mathias S, Chef at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Mom_to_Zoe, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Gimo Herrgård. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that my colleagues promptly handled your request for a room change. A standard room with extra beds was requested and hence you were given that first room. All four buildings at... More 

Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

We (9 people) were very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. We also had very good dinner and breakfast and were very pleased with the service. The place is very charming and very well maintained near to a lake and in the middle of a park. The rooms are clean and welcoming, but remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grand_Polet
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Grand_Polet, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay at Gimo Herrgård and enjoyed professional and friendly service in a charming and well maintained setting. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

This is a very well kept country estate with plenty of options ranging from standard rooms to exclusive suites. We stayed in a standard room which was, well, standard for the price we paid. Be advised that not all rooms are in the main building, but in other buildings spread around the grounds. The standard room we lived in was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Andreas B, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had the opportunity to sample some great food in the restaurant. I agree that the whitefish ceviche is really something extra. You are absolutely right that all rooms are not... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We had a lovely stay with our extended family in celebrating a birthday in style. Excellent food and hospitality, friendly and professional staff, comfortable rooms. Warmly recommended for family and group visits, conferences or romantic getaways.

Helpful?
Thank Hallonorn
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Hallonorn, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us at Gimo Herrgård and enjoyed both excellent food and hospitality. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest and on behalf of the team I would like to welcome you back to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

Despite intermittent rain, we have really enjoyed our time at Gimo Herrgord. We booked a romantic package and had a character room in the mansion, complete with a half bottle of champagne on arrival. The meal in the restaurant was excellent; the best hotel food we had in Sweden. I'm really looking forward to this evening's menu. You can walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aint_Momma_Happy
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Aint_Momma_Happy, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your time here at Gimo Herrgård. It's been a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again. On behalf of the entire team I would like to to wish you an enjoyable continuation of your summer... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I was trying to find a unique spot where to propose my wife. I researched and found Gimo Herrgard. I arranged everything through email and the staff was so so so helpful. They helped me arrange a great weekend and dinner to propose my wife. The connection was such that it seemed like a movie. Just with a simple wink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alberto F
Mathias S, Manager at Gimo Herrgard, responded to this review

Dear Alberto F, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to arrange your wedding proposal and wedding. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and many facilities. We are blessed to be able to offer so many activities in the area surrounding the hotel and I am glad that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimo
22.7 mi away
Hotell Havsbaden
Hotell Havsbaden
#1 of 1 in Grisslehamn
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hooks Herrgard
Hooks Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Hok
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
18.2 mi away
No photo provided
Langers Hotell
#1 of 1 in Hallstavik
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Pensionat Ankargarden
Pensionat Ankargarden
#3 of 5 in Oregrund
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
8.5 mi away
Norrskedika Hotel - Gamla Jarnhandeln
10.3 mi away
Villa Rosenberg
Villa Rosenberg
#3 of 7 in Osthammar
4.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay