We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Doolin accommodations

Doolin Hostel

1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Doolin Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Doolin Hostel to your Saves list
90%
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Robert O Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
31
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent hostel in a great location. Anthony was friendly and helpful. Superb breakfast which is free. Spacious room and nice bathroom. Free wifi and everything else you need. Delighted with our stay! Thanks Anthony!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everything was clean but not a lot of amenities. Good suggestions on where to go for dinner and music, but there's not a lot to do in town if the weather is bad. The rooms can be a little noisy with people coming and going outside. We could control the temperature in the room or open a window which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Gwen Thank you for your review and sorry to hear the weather was a dampener for your stay and the room was too warm. Each bedroom has a thermostat control on the radiator ranging 0-4 with four been high and some of the windows have a button release on the handle (but I will double check to see that... More

Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed unfortunately just for one night in the Doolin Hostel. This is a great hostel! The owners are so warm and friendly- as well as being very helpful in regards to things to do in the area and general advice about the region! The room was very clean and comfortable and the communal areas equally so- I especially loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Mmbangester Thank you for your review and sorry to hear you made the same mistake as a lot of other guests. You really do need more than a day or two to really enjoy Doolin. Being a small village overlooking the ocean you maybe forgiven for thinking there may be little to do. But on investigation you would find... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Doolin Hostel was lovely! It's easy to find (off the main road), the service was quick and efficient and we were checked into our private room within a few minutes. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. They even start serving breakfast at 7:30am, which is great for people getting out of town early or needing to catch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Amy Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our healthy continental breakfast buffet. Thank you for noting that we open for breakfast each morning at 7.30am (8am on Sundays) so our guests have plenty of time to enjoy it and catch the first buses out of Doolin to Limerick or Galway or to get up to the top... More

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on day a family of 5 in one big room. It was immaculate felt more like a hotel, there was a lovely friendly feeling around it. The breakfast was great too good variety for a hostel. The guy at reception was very accomodating and friendly even gave us a bucket of ice to do the ice bucket challenge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Andy I remember you well and thank you for the great review and it was a pleasure to help with the ice as it made for an entertaining morning. Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre More

Galway,Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything at the Doolin hostel is top class! The hosts Anthony, Deirdre and David are very welcoming and full of great tips about the locality. Location could not be better. The hostel is spotless, bed really comfortable and breakfast has lots of choice. Common room is really cozy with a stove fire. Make sure to try out the coffee in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jessica It was a pleasure to have your stay over the weekend and great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came across the hostel by chance and stayed one night as we were travelling all over Ireland. Very welcoming , friendly staff. Very clean hostel. The cafe is lovely with the best scones we have tasted in Ireland although need to let me he butter out of the fridge as I was rock hard! This message s a part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Molly Thank you for taking time to write this review it was a pleasure to read it this evening. Great to hear you enjoyed Deirdre's home made scones and I will pass your praise on to all the guys as it is much appreciated. Warmest regards Anthony More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, I really think that hostel is good, rooms are clean..altough..I didn't see them! We booked a suite four month before coming to Doolin and when we came last week they said our room is occupied!! Also,they told us to go to other hostel (much worse looking then their) where they have a room for us. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Robert I read your review with great disappointment as we did our best to rectify and acknowledge the mistake. With regret we had to move you to another hostel in Doolin, which I was lucky to find as they had just gotten a cancellation and you literally got the last room in Doolin as there was a huge festival... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night as we were driving across the country. The room was newly painted and had new fixtures. We had a double room with a private bathroom attached. The bed was comfortable and the noise level was low. The staff is what made it great though. They were so friendly and helpful. Our car wouldn't start when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dianna I remember you well and it was our pleasure to help. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as well. Warmest regards Anthony and Deirdre More

Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had heard that this hostel was very good, but on staying there is was beyond our expectations, the very best. We were received with a great welcome and our room was spotlessly clean. The bed was most comfortable with crisp fresh linen and everything in the room was well co-ordinated. There was a great power shower in the en-suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review

Dear John It was a true pleasure to have you stay and I enjoyed our conversation in the morning and I hope you got back to Killarney safe and sound. Thank you for noticing all the small improvements we have made as we continue to strive and make our hostel a top class hostel and a great option of all... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Doolin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay