We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Doolin accommodations

Aille River Hostel

Fisher Street, Doolin 1234, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aille River Hostel to your Saves list
Aille River Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
97%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
30
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me qualify this by saying we did not stay here but the review form forces you to enter some inforation. Here's what happened. We were really looking forward to staying at this hostel after reading the great reviews but after today's email from Robert we will not be staying there. The story goes like this. Earlier this week I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aille River was perfectly lovely, old style and very quaint, the exteriour is particularly beautiful. you could opt for a breakfast with one egg and two brown breads which was really handy, the lady at reception was helpful and pleasant. The mix of people in the hostel was great, the interior is quite dated but it works! its quite dark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After having flown into Dublin, my friend and I drove hours to Doolin in the search of the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. The sight of the Aille River Hostel was a pleasure in itself. Nestled on the banks of the Aille River, the hostel has a charm and warmth you don't find in hostels. Once we parked, Robert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were great and comfortable, we really appreciated the fireplace and the huge kitchen ! Perfect to rest after a day next to the cliffs. Owner is very kind and has good tips, thanks a lot ! Only 1 thing missing is a coffee machine ;) Otherwise PERFECT !

Was this review helpful? Yes
buffalo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Before arriving at the Aille River Hostel I had good communication with the staff. Very friendly emails and phone calls. Upon arrival the hostel is very charming and the scenery in Doolin is gorgeous. Inside the hostel is rustic and cozy looking. It was easy to book. Problems: Annoying staff. Amenities different than advertised. At the time we booked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ailleriverhostel, Owner at Aille River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. I'm very sorry to read that you had an unpleasant stay at the Hostel. I can only presume from your letter that you stayed around March/April 2013. For the record, we did at the time have a member of staff who we subsequently found out was not suitable to this position due to... More

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Travelled to Doolin for a night away with the Girls! met on arrival by Pete, who looked after our booking, showed us around the hostel and to our room. He answered any questions that we had about the locality and made himself available if we needed anything! Clean ben linen and spotless shower and bathroom. It was perfect for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was my first time staying in a hostel and I don't think we could have picked better one. It was an absolute postcard picture to look at beside the river. The rooms were lovely and clean. We had a downstairs dormroom with 4 bunks in it, and it was full on both nights. I would have liked more hooks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We didn't stay in the hostel but in our camper van out the back, obviously with the consent of the owner Robert.... and for little more than the price of a pint, who very kindly agreed to accommodate us when we arrived late and desperate last Friday evening! Although we didn't avail of the hostel facilities itself and therefore can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a cute and cozy little hostel, the staff was very nice and helpful as were all the guests staying there. This was my first stay in a hostel so I didn't know what to expect. My only complaints would be the bathrooms; no towels were provided and the showers are timed you only get about three minutes of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ailleriverhostel, Owner at Aille River Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Anna Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Aille River Hostel. As a hostel we dont supply towels (most Hostelers will have there own) but for those who wish to have one we supply towels for a very modest fee to cover laundry costs. It is with some suprise to me that you say... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Traveling as a couple we had pretty high expectations for the aille river hostel after reading some good reviews and taking in some great pictures of the place. We weren't disappointed at all. The building itself is quite beautiful, a converted farmhouse alongside a bubbling stream. The staff were all very helpful and the whole experience was excellent value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Aille River Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aille River Hostel

Address: Fisher Street, Doolin 1234, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aille River Hostel is a 300-year-old cottage lovingly renovated to retain its old world charm while offering modern comforts for our friends and guests. Located by the banks of the Aille River, the Aille River Hostel is a quiet oasis right in the centre of Doolin. Voted Best Hostel in Ireland in 2009 by IHH customers and Number 1 Hostel in Ireland in 2008 by Hostel World customers, Aille River hostel is recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guides as “The best of the bunch” and has been given the Thumbs Up by Let’s Go travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aille River Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aille River Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.