We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surrone House

Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surrone House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a B&B at short notice and I had tried a few in Gretna, but they were all full. Surrone House, offered me a room although they were in the middle of decorating. My room was excellent and had everything that we regular travelers require. I will certainly use them again.

Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Our stay in the Surrone House was a quick overnight between Wales and Scotland on a family trip. The hosts were amazing. They offered us a change from the family room we reserved due to some roof work going on at the time. We had reserved through a service and they were unable to contact us earlier. Rain was expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank mom23kids2015
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

Pluses:- Room nice, bathroom lovely, breakfast adequate, bed comfy. Minuses:- Having to pre-order breakfast and stipulate a time! Only 4 milk portions on tea tray (however owners were happy to provide a jug of milk) We went to breakfast 20 minutes early and definitely felt we should have observed our stated time, owner wasn't rude but did not attempt to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsDoasyouwouldbedon
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry if you felt you were ignored at breakfast, we try to converse with all our guests, however, human nature being as it is errors do occur. With regard to your comment regarding a buffet table, we appreciate that this would be a good idea, but due... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the surrone house on the 22nd of August. If your looking for a place to stay whilst in gretna then this is by far the best value . For what we paid it was great value . Spotlessly clean and friendly owners and right in the centre of gretna. Beautiful place

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding. From the start we were welcomed & shortly after arrival a tray of tea & homemade cakes were waiting for us in the comfy residents lounge. Our room was spotless, great decor & very spacious. Lovely bathroom products & an excellent hospitality tray. A faultless breakfast from excellent hosts. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while going to a wedding. I found Surrone House to be excellent in every respect. I received a friendly warm welcome on my arrival. My room was comfortable, clean and luxurious. There was an amazing attention to detail and the room had all the extras you might find in a more expensive hotel. Every thing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank vivandscarlett
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I booked in here for one night only to attend a family celebration at a nearby hotel. I was delighted with the family room, which was spotless and huge.( I was alone but it was only room left, but dtill a good size for a family to share. The bathroom was fresh and immaculate with wonderful fluffy white towels. Ironically... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lochlake231
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Firstly the grounds are superb, nicely situated for Gretna, Gretna Green and the Outlet shopping centre. The hosts, Christine and John are really nice people, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is a really nice size and freshly cooked for you. We had an evening meal there one night and there is an extensive menu, again, all freshly cooked.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisman57
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Arrived after a stressful journey on the A1 , was greeted by John who gave us a warm friendly welcome, carried our luggage to our room and explained everything out the room etc . Cleanliness must be a holy word in this establiment , the room and bathroom was not spotless It was pristine, you could eat your dinner of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mick h
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

John & Christine, the owners, are very pleasant people. We opted for the home made evening meal, which no one should miss enjoying. The rooms are very nicely decorated, but more important, very clean. I can assure you a good night's rest at this quiet location. Enjoy the beautiful landscaping from your window, or stroll around the property. We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dcoder3
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. We are always happy when our guests depart happy. It was a pleasure meeting you all, and we look forward to welcoming you again to Surrone House. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay