We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Gretna B&Bs / inns

Surrone House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Surrone House to your Saves list
Surrone House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
93%
Ranked #3 of 5 Gretna B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014
ColbaggerDave Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely old farmhouse kept by friendly and professional hosts. We 2 mature ladies were on an end to end cycle trip and as soon as we arrived our bikes were locked in the shed and we were shown to our very comfortable en suite room. Our hostess offered to cook us a meal, which we were very grateful for as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine R, Manager at Surrone House, responded to this review

Congratulations on finishing your cycle ride, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, these are very much appreciated, John and I are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both in the future. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights while we explored the region. The owners Christine and John could not do enough for us from planning our trips and a great breakfast and Dinner at night. We had a beautiful room that had every thing one needed just a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time during your holiday to write your review, this is very much appreciated. We both enjoyed meeting you and hope one day our paths will cross again. More

North East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A lovely little guest house with pleasant staff and a very enjoyable breakfast! would definitely stay here again, very clean and friendly and accommodating with my gluten free dietary needs. No complaints at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future More

Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

6 of us stayed here overnight and were delighted with our stay. We were welcomed with tea on the lawn whilst we cleaned our bikes whichever ere then locked securely away. Good food and good breakfasts on top of good sleeps in clean,comfortable beds. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review, these are always very welcome We hope you reached your destination safely and injury free. we look forward to welcoming any of you again in the future. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 6 staying in 2 family rooms, both spotlessly clean & comfortable rooms, Christine cooks a great breakfast and was very accommodating with our 4 children. Great hosts and would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Surrone House for three nights whilst visiting the local area. The welcome was excellent and our spacious room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate on our first night, the menu was varied and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked to order and served by the ever helpful Christine. Surrone House offers excellent value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here while we were on our way to Aberdeen. It is a lovely spot. The people are lovely and the guest house is beautifully clean and fresh. The only blot on the land scape was that we were awoken by a couple coming back from a wedding at 02.30. So if you are there for a wedding please... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
curlerGretna, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back, we always appreciate reviews. We apologise for the wedding party who were noisy, as you will appreciate we have no control over this. More

Hants UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed overnight last weekend - excellent hosts - lovely rooms - including family room for my daughter and family. Amazing bathrooms. Excellent breakfast. I asked to keep some chilled Scottish beef in their fridge overnight - not a problem - definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for one night to break our journey to Yorkshire. This was an excellent choice for a stopover. we received a very friendly welcome and had a nice cosy clean room. A nice quiet location well away from traffic noise with plenty of parking space. Very good evening meals and breakfast. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I'm a hotel person really, and until recently havent stayed in.B&B's much- if they were all nearly as good as Surrone House I wouldn't hesitate! The welcome and service throughout were second to none, and my room.was perfectly well equipped, with a good clean en suite and very comfy bed. I had an evening meal there too and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surrone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surrone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrone House

Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrone House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Surrone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gretna with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surrone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer