We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greens at Gretna

Sarkfoot Road, Gretna DG16 5EP, Scotland (Formerly Garden House Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Greens at Gretna
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    15
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here for 1 night and thankfully 1 night only. We had 2 rooms both stuck round the back area of hotel with lorries delivering right outside our windows so not much privacy. Both rooms were very old fashioned, had holes in the walls, cracks in mirrors, dirty curtains with holes in them, dusty tables and an extremely musky smells.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

It is always disappointing to receive negative feedback, however we do greatly appreciate this Cmck06. Over the past months we have invested greatly in the hotel, especially the main areas, and indeed, our room refurbishment is a working progress, it all takes time. However, we are a business, we do have to sell our non-refurbished rooms, which are dated, but... More 

Clackmannan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights as our base, whilst we visited various RSPB and WWT reserves all of which were within 30 miles of hotel, so it indeed served as an excellent base for us. We had asked for a ground floor room which was a good size with really comfortable beds, large TV, desk, 2 seats, tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest review Cbjb02. We are all pleased you have enjoyed your 3 nights with us. Our ground floor room refurbishment is currently on-going, hopefully to be complete within the next couple of months. Glad you enjoyed your meals and breakfast. Kind Regards, Greens. More 

Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As a residents of Gretna we were very pleased when this hotel was bought out by Gretna Green Ltd who also own Smiths Hotel in Gretna Green ( we are also enjoy meals there too). We often have a stroll down to Greens and the place is looking great since it was refurbished, very stylish and modern with a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback Tracey, it was a pleasure to read. As you know, living local, we have recently re-opened, and are trying out new ideas for the local area, all ideas are being considered. Call in soon, Regards, Greens. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The bar and restaurant areas are beautifully decorated. The bedroom was a good size. Seemed to be recently decorated. The bathroom looked if it had been updated slightly, new wall panels but old bath, toilet and sink still in place. The shower could have been better, it's wasn't very powerful. We had 2 amazing meals on the evening. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Thefenwicks, it is much appreciated. Will certainly pass your kind words on to the staff, I'm sure they will be thrilled you had an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, Greens More 

Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 2 night here, one on way to Scotland and one on the return trip. Currently being renovated. We had a great room on both stays and could not praise the room highly enough, 4 poster bed, sofas and more, it was excellent. The Japanese garden when completed will be magnificent so I hope the owners complete the work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review John, we are delighted that you have had 2 enjoyable stays with us during your time in Scotland. Certainly will pass your comments on to the staff. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Greens More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for first time with friends for bar supper. On entering we all thought wow a beautiful transformation inside - placed food order and after a wee while received our food. Two meals were fine and even hot plates- bonus. Caesar salad - no, no, no. 4 large lettuce leaves at each corner of plate, a small pile in centre... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for your time writing this review Talster, we do apologise you and your friends have left the hotel dissatisfied with your meal, it is not the outcome any business would like. We will certainly pass your feedback onto the Chefs and Restaurant teams. Please let us know if you decide to return, lets turn your Greens experience around.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gretna hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay since the Hotel was taken over by Greens, we were very impressed by the change, staff very welcoming, entrance so different, room had been up-dated and decoration of furniture and bathroom to a high standard, we also enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, breakfast was help yourself which was much better, price was excellent, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again Mawbey, it is a pleasure to have returning customers. We have had some big changes over the past year, especially in the main public areas - beautifully decorated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Greens More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night and had an excellent time. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and at home. The room was very spacious with loads of room, very quiet and excellent amenities. Even before we arrived the staff were great and even arranged some surprise flowers for my wife (our 10th anniversary). Went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Andy, thank you for such a lovely review, we are all thrilled you had an enjoyable stay during your 10th Anniversary. Such a lovely touch to have some flowers in the room for your wife, like you say, its the little touches, that count. Kind Regards, Greens More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a hotel that over the years has been run down but is now steadily being refurbished I booked three rooms and for the prices of £60.00 & £50.00 had no complaints. staff very helpful breakfast good meal in the evening average. Would use again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you PaulM for your time to reviewing us, it is much appreciated. We offer very competitive prices, and some great deals can be found. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Regards, Greens More 

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night on the way to Manchester. Bargain price for a double room and breakfast. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Lobby is beautifully decorated, love the modern look to it. Double room was extremely spacious and very clean. Lovely bathroom as well. Plenty choice for breakfast the next day. Was not expecting the hotel to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan A, Guest Relations Manager at Greens at Gretna, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review SJ, it is much appreciated. Look forward to you staying again the next time your in Gretna. Kind Regards, Greens More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.9 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay