We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Gretna hotels

Garden House Hotel

Sarkfoot Road, Gretna G16 5EP, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
Garden House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    62
    39
    17
    24
See reviews for
44
95
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the honeymoon suite for our 12th wedding anniversary, was slightly alarmed that there were only 2 cars in the car park but headed on inside, reception wasn't too bad and the young man was very nice we headed up to our room, there was a nasty smell in the corridor which was a bit off putting and overall looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night on the 18th March 2014. We booked a deluxe room and were allocateded room 111 on arrival. The mattress underneath the plastic incontinence sheet was soiled with what appeared to be dried blood. The bed appeared unmade, the room was grubby. In the bathroom the tiles were mouldy and a hatch had been left unlocked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Sunday for the carvery, staff were useless wandering about like lost puppies. Eventually got a table and drinks, got a good plate full of food that LOOKED good BUT every part of it tasted disgusting, the veg had not been washed enough and had gritty soil in it, the cauliflower cheese tasted of burnt grease. Left feeling hungry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The price of the room when booked was extraordinarily low. When checked in I found out why. The bathroom on close inspection required disinfecting, didn't dare get in the jacuzzi bath, chose shower instead. Only 3 jets of the nozzle worked (sort-of) - didn't want to touch sides due to mould. Having accepted and overcome this challenge I got into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as we new of it a few years ago, the outside still looks inviting but when you enter it feels neglected and tired, the room was very large and comfortable unfortunately the bed looked as though it had not been made, breakfast was very nice but the staff looked as tired as the hotel. Something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stopped here for coffee on the way back from a weekend ,had to send the cups back as they were grubby !! couldn't drink anything thereafter. . I was appauled by the dust and general lack of cleanliness ,dusty ,musty even the windows were dreadfully dirty on the inside. not a good advert for the Scottish Borders .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel looks lovely from the outside and we stayed there many years ago. We were booked here for one night on our way south. We booked an executive room and after walking up the stairs carrying our own luggage found a very grubby looking room with bedcovers that looked like they hadn't been washed in years. I pulled back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GardenHouseGretna, Manager at Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lotusflower, We are sorry you did not stay with us, i can assure you that all our beds and bedding are changed after each and every guest, and if we find any linen which has been blood stained, as you have mentioned, is certainly not re-used. We do not have a porter services to help with luggage. Kind Regards,... More

blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night break at the garden house hotel, on arrival we were impressed by the size of the car park,and we managed to get parked close to the hotel entrance,we were also very impressed as we entered the hotel and into a very large open planned room which hosted the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GardenHouseGretna, Manager at Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Fergiebear, Thank you for your review, it was lovely to read. Glad you have had an enjoyable stay, and hope you stay with us again when your in the Gretna area. All the best, Garden House Hotel More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely weekend.Stayed in this hotel 10yrs ago on our wedding day Feb 14th 2004.and promised ourselves that we would go back .Different staff and leisure facilities no longer there but new staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble.We had a spacious honeymoon suite which was very comfortable clean and excellent value for money.Very close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GardenHouseGretna, Manager at Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raffles. What a lovely way to spend your 10th anniversary, you must have felt very special when you were witnesses to another wedding. I will pass your comments onto the housekeeping team. All the best for the next 10 years! Kind Regards Garden House Hotel More

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I usually try and go to small B&Bs but I was a bit later the night when I stayed at Garden Hotel. I was doing a meeting at the hotel the next day so it was a good idea to stay here. It was the dead of winter but the staff were well up to giving good service and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GardenHouseGretna, Manager at Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Itsbob. The winter months are usually quite slow, and we always try to give an exceptional service. Will be nice to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Garden House Hotel More

Been to Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hotel

Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Gretna Green
Address: Sarkfoot Road, Gretna G16 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Hotel is more than just a fabulous wedding venue with large affordable accommodation, the Garden House Hotel is The Perfect Spot to meet for business meetings, to take a break on longer journeys or to simply relax in our beautiful gardens.Whatever your reasons for visiting Scotland why not stop off and enjoy the relaxing surroundings of the Garden House Hotel in Gretna Green?The hotel already has a fantastic reputation as a great romantic location for couples who want to get married in Gretna Green.But the Garden House Hotel is also a great place to stay if you’re going on holiday and want to break the journey or just to recharge your batteries if you’re on an important business trip.The hotel’s location, just off the M6, is ideal for a short comfort break, with affordable hot food, tea and coffee and free wi-fi to check those important email messages.And while your phone recharges you can wile away a couple of hours in the beautiful and relaxing Japanese gardens. Or guests can make use of the superbly equipped conference facilities.And for those wanting to stay a little longer the rooms are huge but the prices are reasonable.In short The Garden House Hotel is a great place to get married or hold a civil ceremony, is ideal for business meetings, to break a longer journey or simply to chill out and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.