We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Coopers Shoot B&Bs / inns

The Summerhouse

9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Coopers Shoot, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
The Summerhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Shoot
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
39
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have just enjoyed the most perfect weekend in the Summerhouse. We stayed in the luxury room and spent a lot of time on our beautiful balcony enjoying the extraordinary views, the pool area was very tranquil and again THE VIEWS were out were out of this world. Breakfast was delicious, the friendly girls and the chef working there told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is truly an amazing place to stay. The views are incredible and our room had a private balcony where you could relax and take in the expansive view. The staff were friendly and professional during a busy long week end. We were able to relax in the beautifully appointed lounge where you can enjoy the Dedon furniture and sumptuous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your experience at The Summerhouse. I was delighted to read that you had an amazing time with us. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mark Wood More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Words do not express how abominable our stay at the Summerhouse was on the weekend of June 6-9 2014. However, I will try my best to share with you the myriad reasons for why you should NOT stay here. I booked this place for my husband's milestone birthday thinking it would be a five-star B&B and make a nice change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

I as General Manager read your letter and take full responsibility. Each criticism will be attended to where we can and each item will be addressed. Thank you for taking the time to review. Mark Wood More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

unlike what all the below people are saying, my husband and I (25 & 27 years of age) had the absolute most amazing stay. there was another couple there one of the night but did not even know. the breakie of fresh fruit, musli, local yoghurt, honey, organe juice and coffee was stunning and all you need. the ladies who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read your stay was amazing and that you enjoyed The Summerhouse Breakfast experience. Appreciate your kind words about the service you received from our team, it is truly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived at The Summerhouse and were booked in a room which was next to the common kitchen and loungeroom and pool area on the ground floor. Later that night, there were several guests having a gathering in the common area outside our bedroom which made it very noisy and difficult for us to enjoy ourselves. The fact that our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to The Summerhouse. Please accept our apologies for other guests causing you undue discomfort. Privacy is paramount and we would be pleased to offer you a Premium Suite when you return to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Expensive, noisy, cramped. Overpriced and not at all what the pictures of the property would lead one to believe. We both felt the place was like a high end backpackers. We were booked for the weekend but stayed the (Friday) night and left in the morning. We would never stay again. David H

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would hope you would contact us at your convenience on 02 6685 3090 or email us at stay@thesummerhouse.com.au We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t satisfied or afforded the usual high standard of service we provide. Mark Wood More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A bit disappointing. Too close to the Bangalow - Byron road, which is fast and noisy. The rooms were clean and comfortable but without a single item of decoration. The view was great and the breakfast pleasant. Overpriced and not the quiet country retreat we were hoping for. Would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive comments on The Summerhouse breakfast and room cleanliness. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay and we will improve our standards, wishing you the very best. Mark Wood More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A couple of days R&R at the Summerhouse was definitely not enough! Gorgeous location perched up on the hill, with a view of the sea, the lighthouse and the green countryside, this delightful oasis was perfect. The pool was gorgeous, and relaxing with friends on the terrace divine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your experience at The Summerhouse. I was delighted to read that you had a terrific time with us. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Summerhouse Byron Bay. It is like staying in your own home, very welcoming with warm hospitality. The difference is, that it's perched on a ridge with spectacular views of the Byron lighthouse, the sea & the rolling hills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you did have a lovely stay at The Summerhouse. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed peak season which explains the price tag but I was a bit disappointed. The views are amazing but we weren't able to enjoy them from our room as the windows faced into the open aired dining area which meant that all the guests dining could see into our room. There was also seating right outside our window so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Summerhouse. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion however, New Years Eve can be a festive occasion. It is pleasing to hear that you did enjoy the views. Mark Wood - General Manager, The Summerhouse. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Summerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Coopers Shoot, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coopers Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Summerhouse to your Saves list