We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castletown Hotel

Main Street | By Thurso, Castletown, Thurso KW14 8TP, Scotland (Formerly St Clair Arm Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castletown Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Castletown Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    50
    54
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
56
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel located 5 miles off Thurso. Food is really good and free wifi available. My room was pretty nice, maybe a bit small. No elevator available. It is few minutes on foot from the coast and located close to some shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 weeks on and off due to work commitments. Good food, evening meals and breakfast were above average. Friendly and welcoming staff. Requested a change of room due to the configuration of 2x single beds. I was relocated to a double suite, with no hassle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had lovely meal here, chips are home made not from a packet, staff lovely & polite, fast service.. Price is very good value for what you get. Cosy little pub which was warm & inviting.. we will return ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Nothing good to say about the experience the staff did not care the service was terrible the meal was awful. They ran out of spaghetti for the child and there is a shop next door to the hotel. Would not go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harvey873, thankyou for you taking the time to post your feedback, we are very sorry that you were disappointed, please rest assured we pride ourselves on our service, quality of food and attention to detail and and I would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you to get further details so we can investigate this fully, if you could... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We were on a road trip round the coast of Scotland and it was a lovely little hotel to stop at after a long trip; the staff is friendly and rooms are reasonably priced. The room itself was cosy and quiet- very welcomed after a long journey and provided excellent breakfast for the day ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack W, Thank you taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that everyone feels welcomed and comfortable during their visit. We hope that you enjoyed your trip around the coast of Scotland and we are happy that the breakfast you received was a... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This was our second visit - almost a year to the day after the first. Improvements are being made, the food is excellent (fillet steak fantastic) and the staff just could not be more friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable. What more could you ask?The location is great for exploring the far north. We will be staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FionaMacd, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel is continuing on its improvements but it is heartening to be told that these improvements have so far been a worthwhile investment. Our food is of great pride to us as it is locally sourced,... More 

woodsetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We travelling to the Orkneys on our way home and found this hotel on the Internet. This hotel is welcoming and comfortable, and the staff are lovely. It has the warmest and most comfortable beds. The room was spotless and the taps were shined like new pennies!! We ate the steak pie for our evening meal, I have never eaten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helnb112, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be accommodating and welcoming. It is very important to us that guests are welcomed into a warm and comfortable environment. We take great pride in our... More 

Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Sunday carvery is exceptional and great value for money ! I would definitely recommend to everyone The dining room is lovely decorated very modern and simple the tables would maybe look better with a table cloth on but otherwise décor is lovely The service is very good we were served by a young lass with brown hair called Sarah... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tudan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your meal and have done so in the past as well. We take pride in our food and it is encouraging to hear that they continued to be received positively. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

It had been a year or so since we had last been on a sunday for their carvery. We found the dining room had been redecorate for the better. We have been to a few carveries in our time but none better than here. Three courses for £13 odd is excellent value. So much so we don't have a starter.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We take pride in our meals, having our food locally sourced. It is important to us that all customers, no matter how brief or long their visits, are welcomed into a friendly and comfortable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay