We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castletown Hotel

Main Street | By Thurso, Castletown, Thurso KW14 8TP, Scotland (Formerly St Clair Arm Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castletown Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Castletown Hotel
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
54
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Wick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing good to say about the experience the staff did not care the service was terrible the meal was awful. They ran out of spaghetti for the child and there is a shop next door to the hotel. Would not go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harvey873, thankyou for you taking the time to post your feedback, we are very sorry that you were disappointed, please rest assured we pride ourselves on our service, quality of food and attention to detail and and I would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you to get further details so we can investigate this fully, if you could... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a road trip round the coast of Scotland and it was a lovely little hotel to stop at after a long trip; the staff is friendly and rooms are reasonably priced. The room itself was cosy and quiet- very welcomed after a long journey and provided excellent breakfast for the day ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack W, Thank you taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that everyone feels welcomed and comfortable during their visit. We hope that you enjoyed your trip around the coast of Scotland and we are happy that the breakfast you received was a... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit - almost a year to the day after the first. Improvements are being made, the food is excellent (fillet steak fantastic) and the staff just could not be more friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable. What more could you ask?The location is great for exploring the far north. We will be staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FionaMacd, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel is continuing on its improvements but it is heartening to be told that these improvements have so far been a worthwhile investment. Our food is of great pride to us as it is locally sourced,... More 

woodsetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We travelling to the Orkneys on our way home and found this hotel on the Internet. This hotel is welcoming and comfortable, and the staff are lovely. It has the warmest and most comfortable beds. The room was spotless and the taps were shined like new pennies!! We ate the steak pie for our evening meal, I have never eaten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helnb112, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be accommodating and welcoming. It is very important to us that guests are welcomed into a warm and comfortable environment. We take great pride in our... More 

Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Sunday carvery is exceptional and great value for money ! I would definitely recommend to everyone The dining room is lovely decorated very modern and simple the tables would maybe look better with a table cloth on but otherwise décor is lovely The service is very good we were served by a young lass with brown hair called Sarah... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tudan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your meal and have done so in the past as well. We take pride in our food and it is encouraging to hear that they continued to be received positively. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

It had been a year or so since we had last been on a sunday for their carvery. We found the dining room had been redecorate for the better. We have been to a few carveries in our time but none better than here. Three courses for £13 odd is excellent value. So much so we don't have a starter.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We take pride in our meals, having our food locally sourced. It is important to us that all customers, no matter how brief or long their visits, are welcomed into a friendly and comfortable... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Staying at this hotel was like going back to the 1960's especially as far as the decor was concerned. The room was very small i.e. only one person could walk around the bed at any time. The shower was small (i could get in the shower, but couldn't do much once I was in it). The toilet cistern was noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony M, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are delighted that the staff were friendly and accommodating during your visit. We are currently working on updating the hotel, including making a central lounge area for guests to enjoy and making improvments in the bedrooms to better accommodate the guests. So far this has been... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Sunday carvery after a very long journey the day before. The hotel is tired and run down, all the other customers eating the carvery were aged 70+. It wasn't cheap and the service was very poor. We were kept waiting for our drinks which we had ordered for at least half an hour whilst many other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are currently working on improving our hotel, including moving the updated reception to create a central lounge area and refurbishing bedrooms. This will be a long project but one will be worthwhile. I must also apologise sincerly that you were disappointed with various aspects of your... More 

Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The customer service is top notch the young girl with brown hair was brilliant very polite and helpful ! the older staff also very good. The food is excellent all 3 of us really enjoyed each course . i had lasagne and i must say it was exceptional defo best one yet ! The soup was lovely only thing i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanya M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our food is something of pride for us and it is always positive to hear such great feedback. If ever you find yourself back again please do not hesitate to ask for more sauce or any... More 

scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on buisness, first room was obviously part of the hotel that is yet to be renovated, Contacted the ladies in reception asking for an alternative room, Was given a newly furbished room upstairs which was delightful quiet and warm. Ate here at night, food was excellent and good value. My ferry trip was cancelled the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tudan, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are currently working on refurbishing more of the bedrooms, it will be a long but worthwhile project which is already being met with optimisim. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you recieved was accommodating and friendly. It is important to us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities