We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Dunfanaghy accommodations

Corcreggan Mill

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Corcreggan, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Corcreggan Mill

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 7 more sites!
94%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
maria t Holywood, United Kingdom
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    28
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
35
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have visited this magical retreat on a number of occasions and tried a variety of rooms and sampled the camping too. On this trip we had the chance to stay in the studio apartment which gave us the use of our own kitchen but still had the facility of the communal breakfast experience. This is a breakfast which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Menorca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've stayed in this hostel just for a week, at the beginning of April. At the very first time I arrived I felt so welcome. Brendan and the staff were so kind, helpful and friendly. The hostel itself is very cozy and the landscape is amazing. It's situated on the countryside, 3 min far by car from the next village.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your complimentary review of your stay with us and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed this beautiful part of Donegal. I wish more people would take the time, as you did, to spend so long here, so as to get the best possible holiday experience. I look forward to your... More

Narragansett
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

An unfancy but fine place to stay in Dunfanaghy to sample the incredible scenery, hiking, exploring and eating ooportunities all around. Knowlegable and genial host provides tons of information, maps and advice. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. The private rooms are small but cozy. You don't need to spend much time in the room! We had only a morning but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to make such a complimentary review. It's most encouraging that you intend to return and spend more time with us and exploring the area. There's no doubt that this area in particular requires (and you deserve), a minimum of three days here, to get the full benefit from it. I'm delighted, no... More

saint-nazaire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed there on two occasions with friends and really enjoyed my stays. The owner goes to great lengths to accomodate his guests. A very good and hearty breakfast is now included in the price. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. It's a very quiet area. The staff is also very pleasant. Brendan organised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Hello Anne-Sophie, Thank you very much for taking the trouble to make such a complimentary review of our service and setting after your visit here. I'm always a little hesitant about boring people with my stories and then sending them to such off-the-beaten-path places but most everyone agrees that Inis Bo Finne is a very special place ... completely natural... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hostel, b and b located just outside of the downtown area of Dunfanaghy is perfectly located for excursions and is set just out enough to be quiet and restful. The old mill area has a charm of its own. The main area for dining and relaxing is comfortable and clean. The owner goes out of his way to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed our setting, atmosphere and service and I'm very grateful for the very complimentary review. I hope I didn't bore you too much with my personal stories and history of the area. You'll have realised by now that it doesn't take much to start an Irishman talking and that there are very few short stories. I... More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Clean, cheery rooms Excellent staff Beautiful surroundings Cannot say enough about the owner Brendan...Knowledgeable, friendly, visits the breakfast room every morning to give a weather report and suggestions for hikes and sites in the area. A real historian. Great breakfast Wonderful Irish stew

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Hello Peg, You are very kind to go to the trouble to give us such a great review. I really appreciate it. Thank you very much. I'm not so sure my weather forecast were very accurate though! Glad you enjoyed your stay, the atmosphere and the food. Hopefully we'll see you back in Ireland and Corcreggan one day soon. Best... More

Plean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am an experienced camper, but prefer small out of the way campsites. This was very much a last minute booking and was no disappointment. I was made to feel so welcome and although Brendan was hard at work on developments for next year he even had a look at my broken exhaust. Corcreggan Mill is a fascinating site and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Thank you very much Anne for your kind and generous review of our property and service. I'm delighted and relieved that you got so much from your visit as I thought we left you very much to yourself. I'm sorry I couldn't have helped more with your broken exhaust, though. I really look forward to your return visit when you'll... More

Ile Des Chenes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed three nights as part our tour of Ireland. This place as well as Brendan, our host and owner, are full of character. This was our first experience staying in a hostel/b&b and we did not know what to expect. This is not a 5 star hotel and that's what is so great about it. It feels as if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Hello Wendy and family. Many thanks for the wonderful review you have posted here about your stay at Corcreggan. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and you are one of many who are confused by the Hostel/B&B/Hotel categorization (or lack of it). I prefer to say that we try to ensure you have a valuable... More

Bern
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A truly outstanding place....we had to wait a bit for the owner to arrive because we were to early. So we walked around the place a bit...there was loads to discover, my son loved it. It's like a big playground with a beautiful view.. I adored the way the house is done up. You can tell that all the wee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Many thanks Tamara, for your lovely review of Corcreggan. I'm really glad that you both liked it so much and that you felt 'at home' enough to go exploring all the little secret nooks and views. I'm also glad that you appreciate my eclectic mix of artwork, antiques and Aladdin's cave of memorabilia. I used to be 'quieter' about my... More

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited Corcreggan Mill, intending to stay 2-3 nights. I ended up staying for a week and returned twice more during my travels around Ireland. Corcreggan is a very special place, in a gorgeous setting. The Mill is full of character and Brendan and Marina could not have been better or more kind and generous hosts. The surrounding area has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrendanRohan, Owner at Corcreggan Mill, responded to this review

Hi Georgie, Thank you for the lovely review but, although I advise you that you needed to spend there days here to get any benefit from soaking up the culture and landscape, the peace and quiet as well as the madness that keeps us all sane, I also warned you that to stay more than three days means you run... More

Been to Corcreggan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcreggan Mill

Address: Corcreggan, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corcreggan Mill 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its tranquillity, warm hospitality (not just the turf and log fires), comfortable handmade wooden beds, organic garden and meditation sanctuaries, the sound of the Mill-stream by day and the crashing of waves on Tramore beach by night. We have no TVs or Radios for entertainment. We don't need them! We offer private ensuite rooms on the ground floor, dormitory and double rooms on the first floor. Set in a natural hollow, an old pre-Celtic site, on the N.56 beside New Lake, 3km southwest of Dunfanaghy, on the coast road to Falcarragh, overlooking the Atlantic and Tory Island. GPS posn, 55* 10.03 N 008* 00.22 W. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Corcreggan Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcreggan Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcreggan Mill to your Saves list