We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Dromoland

3.0 of 5 on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Professional photos View all
The Inn at Dromoland
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    188
    106
    42
    36
See reviews for
258
91
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (506)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Dromoland
See the most recent reviews
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in hotel over the weekend for 2 nites. Don't usually write reviews but felt I had to disagree with some of the comments on this site. We book 3 rooms , 2 double and 1 family. After reading reviews I was very worried about what hotel would be like especially heat in rooms. Our stay from start to finish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from this hotel. I stayed for two nights with my husband and 3 children. My friends also stayed with their 2 children. Having frequented a number of 4-5 star hotels in my time, I was expecting to walk into an episode of Fawlty Towers after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. My friend chose the hotel given its proximity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear monkeyduff, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit. We are in the process of refurbishment and other areas of the hotel will be completed in the New Year. Hopefully... More

Mass
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clare Inn is located near the Shannon Airport and was our first night stay in Ireland for our 7 day journey. Our stay was very pleasant. Our first impression was our check in and the thoughtfulness of the reception - she gave us our room at 8 am (after a red-eye in to Shannon) and she was more than concerned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear PilgrimBelle, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel should you return to Ireland in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Coughlan Assistant General Manager More

sorrento italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very comfortable and relaxing hotel with great views and wonderful staff. Its location makes it handy for the Airport and there is a great motorway into Limerick or Ennis. Lovely walks through Dromoland grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear neontube, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future Kind Regards, Claire Coughlan Assistant General Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The M18 runs straight past the hotel. Stay on it and go to Galway if u know what's best. Rooms cold and decor terrible, also painted paper covering walls was bubbling due to the poor condition and mold growing underneath. Old windows in rooms let cold air in causing rooms to be cold & radiators so old they haven't the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Dobger24, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie Kind... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel needs upgrading, rooms of poor quality, beds not comfy, carpets need cleaning and windows need renewing as the wind blowing through them makes the room cold. Heating cannot deal with cold as very old. Kids club adequate at best though Dennis's Den is good but cold. All in all hotel is poor but simple menus did produce nice food.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Dobger24, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie Kind... More

Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Welcoming, and helpful staff, do not quite compensate for the need for this hotel to undergo a total makeover. Signs posted around the hotel promise refurbishment is underway but the evidence is weak. At the moment the hotel is the sort that bolts the liquid soap dispensers to the walls - nicely out of reach if you are having a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear MichelDublin, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I apologise for the stay you encountered with us due to a feis in the hotel and we do endeavor for these events not to affect our guests so I apologise that this was not the case.... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night after a wedding in Dromoland Castle.The shuttle bus between this hotel and Dromoland was very convenient and the staff at reception were friendly. Overall our stay was fine as it only involved a few hours in the hotel but it is definitely not a hotel I would rush back to for a weekend break. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear ClaireL, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay and would be grateful if you contacted my on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie Kind... More

Wicklow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

just spent 2 nights in clare inn with wife 3 kids .was here 12 years ago with one child and things have not changed since then .I can understand that thing are bad but money should have been put into hotel when things were good. Room was fine good size .found the bed to be a bid hard on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear STINGERwicklow, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently been taken over by a new company so there is plans for refurbishment in the guest bedrooms,... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a small break today. We have stayed there now for 6/7 years at the same time of. Year. It's my wife's wedding anniversary. They fell in love with the place on our first visit and keep going back. The setting could not. Be nicer. And exit 11 on the m18. So easy to get there. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Mrmozer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about the check in and I apologise for the manner in which this was handled. It is company policy to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Inn at Dromoland

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby