We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Dromoland

Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Inn at Dromoland
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    202
    113
    45
    37
See reviews for
270
102
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Inn at Dromoland because of its proximity to Shannon Airport. It is a relatively low-cost hotel and the room was clean but basic. The staff was very welcoming. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant on site, where the food and the waiters were very good. The biggest surprise was the delightful breakfast: well-stocked buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear JudyandDon046, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to read your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about Maureen in our restaurant I will be sure to pass... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for the easter break with our 3 children aged 6, 4 & 18 months. On their website they mention their newly refurbished rooms. We did not get get what was advertised. Our room was very dated and after seeing one of the other rooms we were quite disappointed. There was no travel cot supplied even though I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear kerryfamily2008, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that there were aspects of your stay that you enjoyed and I am delighted the kids enjoyed all of the kids facilities that are here for them, With regards to your... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

brought the family here for a break as I had heard so much about it. We had 10 month baby with us an requested a travel cot had to go to reception 3 times before it arrived at the room. We booked what was supposed to be easy access to the room eg no stairs but we had to carry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear mick r, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am very disappointed to read your review and to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately our larger family rooms for a family of 5 people are in a wing... More 

Newcastle West, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in to this property on Easter Sunday for two nights, we were greeted with a great welcome at reception and all the amenities an activities were outlined to us including where to avail of food and leisure facilities. Our room was new with all modern conveniences you would expect from a modern hotel with free wifi and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear sescommunications, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to read your review and to see that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome... More 

Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here over the busy Easter break which was a big mistake but absolutely no fault of the hotel which is an extremely family friendly hotel which caters very well for the needs of young families. I was looking forward to a quiet weekend relaxing after a hard weeks work but it was not to be.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear CBADTA, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay even though it was extremely busy with families. We are very family oriented over the school holidays. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 1 night at the inn. There are many available activities on the grounds and the leisure center facility was very nice. No complaints about the room itself, but we could hear every sound from around us such as ringing telephones. The sound of kids running around and yelling kept me awake until 130am. Twice before 7am other people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear KateMinde, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Over the Easter period we are very family oriented and we do try to keep noise levels to a minimum but sometimes... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are 2 adults and 3 children. We stayed for 3 nights in July 2014. Room was a great size, could do with a lick of paint and decor a bit tired but clean, airy and big. Lovely food in restaurant, great breakfast and dinner. Great atmosphere in the bar and plenty to entertain kids. Ennis a lovely spot and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear dinnymac2015, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had the opportunity to experience the beautiful Dromoland Estate also while you were here. I hope we will have the opportunity to... More 

Limerick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a family break at the Inn at Dromoland. Having 3 children it is often difficult to get a hotel to accommodate family of 5 in 1 room - I was very happy with the size of the room a double and 3 singles. The room could do with a bit of a make over (new carpet, lick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear BredaLimerick, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the middle of a refurbishment plan here at the hotel which includes some of the family rooms which we have begun... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with a group of friends recently on a special offer which included an evening meal. The room that we were allocated was a wee bit dated, very cold and had four beds in it even there were only two of us but it was clean, had loads of towels and pillows and was comfortable (when the heating was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Twig49, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased for the most part you seemed to enjoy your stay. I do apologise about the experience that you had on your 2nd morning, unfortunately we did have a problem with our toaster in... More 

Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended a wedding at the Inn at Dromoland on Friday 27th March. Stayed elsewhere in Ennis and decided to try to check in before the wedding, arriving at 12.30pm. The pleasant lady at reception immediately allocated us our room. The room was nice, clean, and large as was the bathroom. The hotel is on a hill, with great views. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the experience of the wedding in the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question