We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Dromoland

3.0 of 5 on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Inn at Dromoland
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    193
    110
    43
    36
See reviews for
260
98
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (522)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed here on 2/12,13/2015 & were so delighted ! The room was the cleanest we had in 5 Irish hotels; it was spotlessly clean. The room was lovely; it was one of the redecorated rooms; as an interior decorator, I can attest to the quality of the renovation. Fashion meets form and the result is exceptional! The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a wedding close by in Knapogue Castle with children stayed one night. Room was nice and big enough for family of four. Breakfast next morning was as one would expect in a hotel with nice choice. The Gastro Pub rustic in nature recently renovated has ok food, kids were catered for. The hotel has a small playground which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Gerri O, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us while you attended the wedding in Knappogue. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights to attend a series of meetings in Dromoland Castle. I was among the unlucky little group of people that could not accommodate at the castle. We were told that we were going to stay at the "sister" hotel but it is definitely not the "sister" but kind of a distant cousin :) The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear karayazlik, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to read your review and to see that you were unhappy with your stay with us. Had you mentioned you found your room cold we would have tried our best to address this... More 

County Clare, Ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate here two weeks ago and as this is advertised as a Gastro Pub, we expected more. We shared crab claws and for main course, my wife had a beef burger and I had Beef Strogonoff. The Strog. was made with fillet steak so a big plus for that but the crab claws were small and slightly tough. Burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear blackandwhitefatfred, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to our Gastro Pub Shannigans. I am disappointed to read your review especially as Shannigan's has received very positive feedback since we opened last April. I will speak to the chef regarding your feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review,... More 

Galway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We were attending a wedding in castle. Our first room was awful, it stank of mould or stale carpet so we immediately asked to be moved. Our next room was so clean and modern it was like a different hotel. I would guess some parts of the hotel have not be renovated so change rooms if not happy. Basic hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear biddybaxter, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologise that the first room you were in was not suitable. I am glad that we were able to rectify that for you. I hope you enjoyed... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Myself and my family had a lovely Christmas break here.wev 3 children under 5 years and it was their first experience in a hotel. Highly recommend for families jungle gym on site gives children freedom and space. Little acorn staff give parents some welcome free time. My children played happily here. Plus with swimming pool and leisure centre on site.they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear chiarrai, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to read your review and to see that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a benefit having activities for the kids to keep them entertained. I hope we will have... More 

Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

we rang in the new year in the Inn at Dromoland. It has plus-es and minus-es. The hotel looked lovely and the music on the night was excellent. It was full but we found seats. There was a wedding on and also seemed to be large family groups from Dublin. We spoke with one man who comes every year-he says... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Mona31, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to The Inn at Dromoland. Thank you for choosing to ring in the New Year with us here at the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and also the fireworks in Dromoland. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We ate in Shenanigans and we will not be repeating the experience. Staff were pleasant as trained, but the service was slow. Food was average considering the price paid. The bathroom facilities were appalling and we had to wear our coats as we felt a little chilly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Janette M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to Shannigans. I am disappointed to read your review as Shannigans has gained such positive feedback since we opened last April. With regard to your feeback on our bathroom facilities we have just refurbished our gents bathrooms following on from our refurbishment of... More 

Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed with our two kids and we all enjoyed it plenty for kids to do with the play centre in the hotel, pool and the kids club. All the staff were friendly and helpful towards all of us. Its definitely a must if u have a young family! Food was lovely also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear mltina, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to read your review and I am so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the... More 

Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Food was very average and well below what you would expect restaurant standard to be. We ordered wine, had to sign for it, the wine came in a ice bucket already opened while the waitor stood there requesting payment there and then, dispite waiting for it after the meal had been served. We requested and thankfully kept the receipt as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review

Dear Darragh_11, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you didnt overly enjoy your stay with us and I apologise that we failed to live up to your expectations. I will however be sure to communicate your review with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay