We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    193
    79
    37
    33
See reviews for
401
748
20
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1548)
  • Mar-May only
    (408)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (361)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (455)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (324)
All months
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I booked to stay here for our first wedding anniversary, a big treat given its reputation! The hotel is impressive and they've kept the decor in the original castle style. The drive up is fabulous. The staff were brilliant, so courteous & friendly. The service was excellent. We had food in the restaurant on the first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aoifs I am glad that your stay with us for the most part was enjoyable, you found the staff, service and food to be excellent. I am disappointed however that you felt we were not value for money. Wifi is complimentary in the hotel and we have a business centre for guest use with our compliments also, however we... More 

Nenagh, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Overnight stay in May 2014. Stayed for a wedding, so not able to judge the restaurant, but the standard of the food supplied to us was excellent (probably a good sign for the a la carte). We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, but even so the room was spacious, clean, modern and tasteful. The staff were extremely helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Will-Rym Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Dromoland for a recent wedding celebration. I am delighted that you found the staff you encountered to be professional if a bit rushed. I will be sure that your feedback is brought to the attention of the banqueting team. We always welcome constructive feedback as we... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for one night in April. First impressions were great, the hotel is very impressive. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted to book a table for dinner that night, which we did in the main restaurant. When we got to the room (which was lovely) we noticed in the guest information book there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tourist198299 Thank you for your feedback which we take on board. I would hope that if you received a letter/email of confirmation from the hotel that the dress code for our fine dining restaurant was stated on that. Of course the dress code should have been reiterated at check in when making your table booking, I am very sorry... More 

Shelbyville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As my big splurge on my recent trip to Ireland we booked one night's stay at Dromoland Castle. It was absolutely amazing! We had a mini suite room with a view over the lake on the property and the golf course and there are just not words for the beauty. You receive 5 star treatment from the second you arrive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BeadeWhimsey Thank you for choosing Dromoland as your ‘big splurge’. I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to pass your comments to the entire team. I am very sorry that your husband fell off his bike, thank you for bringing this to our attention, I will certainly investigate your feedback and take... More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Arrived to Dromoland Castle and its impressive surroundings. We had a great room ( 312 ) which overlooked the lake. 2 nights B&B with an evening meal. Breakfast was amazing and the service was excellent, quick and efficient. The dinner was also first class, melt in your mouth. Anyone visiting definitely include an evening meal during your stay. The whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rambo45 Thank you for your wonderful reivew and recommendation, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and of course that you will return in the near future. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes Mark Nolan & All The Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we booked in for one night & stayed 2 now that says it all--the bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the little extra touches of little notes & chocs being left on our pillows in the evening was delightful---the fishing on the Lough was at no cost to the guests staying there (now THAT is not the norm) the Fig Tree... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lesleya887 Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Dromoland. We are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay with us and of course thrilled to hear that you will return to us in the near future. Best wishes Mark Nolan and All The Team More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wow! We really enjoyed our stay at Dromoland Castle Hotel. Had a beautiful 3rd floor room with a lake view and a very comfortable King Bed. Breakfast was on the first floor, at the bottom of the lovely double staircase, and we felt like royalty making an entrance walking down each morning! The bar was wonderful and we enjoyed drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LoveAllThingsDisney Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your recommendation. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager More 

Bowie, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A a girl's vacation through Ireland we wanted to splurge on a castle, who doesn't want to a be a princess! We were not disappointed. The castle and grounds are lovely and the staff exquisite. We had a queen anne room and it was lovely, with large windows looking out on a courtyard. The grounds are beautiful, and took walks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NewsgalBowie_TX Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your 'girls vacation' with us and had time to avail of some of the estate activities. I am very sorry that your mattress was 'thin and lumpy' which is not our usual standard as all our mattresses are high quality pocket sprung King Koil brand. I will... More 

Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sadly, due to our family's busy travel schedule, we were only able to spend one day and night at Dromoland Castle. What a spectacular property! The structure is amazing as are the enormous grounds. The staff was very attentive, polite and helpful. Our three daughters loved being treated like princesses in the castle and our son loved the structure itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear socialsix Thank you for your comments and indeed for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and have lovely memories of your visit to cherish. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager More 

Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were only scheduled to stay one night at Dromoland Castle and wished we had booked more! The accommodations were luxurious and the staff marvelous. We walked a bit around the grounds, but also took the horse and cart tour with Sean and Paddy. Sean was very informative regarding Irish and the Castle's history. Dinner was fantastic. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gjones754 Thank you for your feedback which I will be sure to pass on to Sean, Paddy the Pony and indeed all the team here. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Ireland. Best wishes Mark Nolan - General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

743 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (720)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (314)
Viewed
Room/suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question