We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Buncrana hotels

Inishowen Gateway

Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Inishowen Gateway to your Saves list
Inishowen Gateway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kwhitesligo Sligo
  • Overview
  • Reviews (407)
  • Photos (54)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (134)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    143
    58
    26
    12
See reviews for
130
138
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here last Saturday night it's a nice clean hotel just 10 min walk from the town centre the staff were very helpful but I thought €109 a night was a bit expensive with no breakfast included I would stay here again if I got it a bit cheaper

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just finishing off a brilliant 3 night family funcation break at this hotel. We had been here a number of years back and we were looking forward to returning. We weren't disappointed as facilities have even improved since then. Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is good and dinner included in package is limited but cooked well. Pool is excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Do not go ........its similar to ones worse nightmare from hell. ...If you are a couple ...kids as young as 3 yrs in bar at 7.30 yelling and running around ...This continued to the restaurant and at 9.15 we just left and went to room ....We complained twice at reception ...no management available ....despite its not legal to have kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went to the inishowen gateway before and went back again because we loved it that much. Staff very friendly always smiling. Lots to do for kids and for adults especially the pool which we had to ourselves and the spa. The food was lovely and the bar had entertainment on which would get everyone up dancing. The rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bangor co.down
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic offer. Would recommend this to anyone. Great choice on all courses at Sunday Carvery and staff were very attentive. If you leave this carvery feeling hungry it's your own fault. Breakfast on Monday morning was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Rosietodd Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our Sunday Slumber is a fantastic offer for a stay with us to include Bed and Breakfast plus evening meal or Sunday Carvery, famous in Inishowen for its amazing food and service. All from only e40.00pps. We look forward to... More

Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this holiday last summer and enjoyed it so much returned this year with my sister and our families. Glad to say if fully met my expectations. Excellent value, nice clean rooms, great food and service and the kids and myself loved the pool. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear gordonlync Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We were delighted to welcome you back for another visit this year. Our team here in the Inishowen Gateway Hotel works hard to ensure our guests are well looked after and have everything they need to enjoy a well earned break away. We look forward to welcoming you and... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just back after a three day stay. staff were great. we arrived a day early by our own mistake and reception staff accomodated us with no fuss. bedrooms were fantastic and our 2 kids loved the camp beds lol. both breakfast and dinner were delicious and the hotel was spotless. We would definately visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear l_russell1979 Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review of our hotel. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to look after you all. Should you wish to return to us in the near future then please let me know. Don't forget we turn our Planet Active Kids Club... More

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to centre your break away around your children with a little time to yourself, then this is the place. The Planet Active kids club is fantastic my kids aged 6 & 9 had a great time. The play leaders are brilliant. Lovely, friendly girls & the kids really take to them. Facilities are quite basic, but provides... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Jullop Thank you for submitting your recent review. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us, especially the kids Club which we added onto this year with our nightly entertainment between a disco, quiz night or talent show followed by movie. Our family fun hours in the pool are also a new addition allowing kids time to... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was abit disappointing really. Staff were very friendly but I'm not sure how they called a very lumpy and uncomfortable camp bed added in the room, a family room. I didn't find it that clean, the shower curtain was pink with mold all along the bottom and the bathroom smelt of pee...... yuk! The restaurant wasn't much better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear crookies2014 Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit but please let me assure you that all your comments noted here will be addressed. We have never before received complaints about our bathrooms being dirty or broken crockery being used... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel for our bus trip types,very central for 'Derry,Giants causeway,Letterkenny,Marlin head. The Hotel itself is very comfortable,the rooms are excellent,large soft beds,plenty of room,big bathroom,1 drawback they have shower curtains as we all know wrap about you as you move. Breakfast..best in a long time..buffet,every thing hot apart from the fresh juice..we were on half board,the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review

Dear annoyed13 Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you all enjoyed your time here in the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. We are in the ideal location to base yourself for a tour of Donegal with so many wonderful day trips available and activities in Buncrana and Inishowen alone. We are also only a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Inishowen Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Buncrana with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inishowen Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer