We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
| Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Avon Ri to your Saves list
Avon Ri
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Blessington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
BelfastMargaret belfast
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    38
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 days in July 2014 and took two houses for two families. There is a lot to commend this village. The location was fantastic and it appealed to all ages ..the children really enjoyed all of the activities and the adults could explore the beautiful countryside; it is also within easy reach of Russborough House which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location we just used it as a base to see Wicklow from. Houses were lovely very spacious and spotlessly clean, nice quiet complex. We did use the pool which was nice and cool given the outside temps this July. My only complaint was the ladies changing rooms were manky! I assume this was an oversight on the day as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen201405, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort, we greatly value our guests feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our houses and found them quiet, spacious and clean, I am sorry however that you found our ladies changing rooms in the pool area not up to standard. I have passed on... More

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending a week at the Avon Ri hotel in Blessington I came away with very mixed feelings about the hotel. On positive side. I loved the location of the hotel. The scenery is beautiful and the hotel is with a easy distance from Dublin City, Glendalough, Russborough House, Wicklow Gap etc My family really enjoyed the swimming pool, animal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear TwoSean, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort. We greatly value our guests feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed our bar food, pool and petting farm and found the bedrooms spacious. I am concerned however that you had some issues with our houses and our bar. I would like to discuss... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a 4 night stay with my parents husband and 15 yr old daughter. We had lovely break away. My view is simple... Avon Ri is lucky to be where it is , the lakes and mountains are amazing and for that I'm thankful. The house we stayed in wasn't great the carpet was dirty the light shade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Nollag265, Thank you for taking time to write a review of our resort however on this occasion I am saddened to read that you did not find our houses up to the standard by which we pride ourselves on and even more that you have not been contacted as requested by you. Please can you email me on laura@avonri.com... More

Wexford
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from staying at the Avon Ri for a friends wedding. Over the three days all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the place was kept clean and tidy. The house rental costs are really reasonable the only negative would be the size of the downstairs bedroom (it's quite compact and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear C-98629867, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort! We are delighted you enjoyed attending your friends wedding, found our team friendly and helpful and our food delicious - that's always our goal! I have passed on your lovely comments to our team and we look forward to seeing you again in the... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avon Ri is a resort of holiday homes located beside Blessignton Lake (called a lake but is actually a reservoir so no water skiing is permitted) and near to Blessington village. The scenery around the resort is beautiful set as it is in the Wicklow Mountains with a range of walking and cycling paths around the lake. My trip was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Andrew M, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, that you had fun doing the activities, found our team friendly & helpful and thought our location was beautiful! I am saddened however to read your review regarding the houses. I am... More

Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just come home from a long weekend stay in Avon Ri where we attended a friends wedding and cannot express enough how much we enjoyed our stay. Firstly,the location was breathtaking,the views from the venue and the walks around the lakes would rival any of the great tourist attractions of Ireland. Every member of staff we met throughout the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear LiviaC74, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending your friends wedding! Thank you for your lovely comments about Avon Ri, our team and our food, I have passed them onto our team. We hope to see you again in the... More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Did the kayaking on the lake. Sublime. Very reasonable rates and super friendly service from the american girl on reception and the 2 guys that kitted us out for the kayak session. thoroughly enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear frjoe77 Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our Activity Centre, I have passed on your lovely comments to our team and they are delighted! We're pleased you enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind regards, Laura & The Avon Ri Team. More

Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avon ri is a haven for all ages, there is lots to do for the kids with all the activities from archery to canoeing, great walks for the walkers and great food for the foodies.....I have done the walk in Avon ri and you can tailor it to suit all, long, short, adventurous whatever your needs. You can also try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear thirzawicklow, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort! We are thrilled you enjoy Avon Ri so much and use us regularly! Thank you for your lovely comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Laura and The Avon Ri Team More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a wedding party in one of the holiday houses. Superb location overlooking the lakes. Great food and Guinness in the bar. Plenty of activities for all ages. We did some cycling. The holiday houses themselves are nothing to write home about but perfect for a family or group of friends to stay in with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Portofella, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended and enjoyed our facilities and including our pints of Guinness! I have passed on your lovely comments to our team. Kind regards, Laura & The Avon Ri Team. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Avon Ri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Avon Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Ri

Address: | Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avon Ri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ri Hotel Blessington

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer