We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
| Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Avon Ri to your Saves list
Avon Ri
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
76%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Blessington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MrsJeanieB Wexford, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (156)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Traveler rating
    81
    38
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
70
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was recently here for a bite to eat with my friend on a Sunday evening. We went upstairs to the bar as the lake and mountain views from the rooftop are simply stunning. It was raining outside though so we sat beside the window. We were had to ask to see a menu which we didn't mind too much.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent the weekend in one of the houses at Avon Ri. House was a bit grubby and in need of some fresh paint. A lot of food from previous guests under kitchen table. Only 1 dishwasher tablet, 1 tea towel provided, nothing to wash up with. Tiny fridge considering a family of 6 staying. Hotel could do with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear MrsJeanieB, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort. We greatly value our customers feedback and on this this occasion I am concerned to read some of your comments but I can assure you corrective action is taking place to rectify the negatives that you experienced. Please could you contact me on 045... More

Netanya
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Blessington lakes are beautiful and it's an added bonus to be able to enjoy a drink looking out over them fron the terrace bar in the Avon Ri. I had a lovely lunch there too. It can't be easy to run a big place like this as the summer season is so short. I for one hope this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Sharerez, Thank you for taking time to write a review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and drink sitting out on our roof top terrace, we really are blessed to have such beautiful views. We sure hope to that we are still here for your next trip! (",) But all being well we definitely... More

Irish Abroad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Avon Ri in house number 44 when in Ireland for a family reunion recently. The location is beautiful, the staff were very polite and professional and the facilities and activities were all brilliant. I cannot praise the place highly enough and we will return for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Duffy10, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed yourselves so much and chose Avon Ri for your family gathering. I have passed on your kind words to our team and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind... More

Kildare, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't normally write any reviews in any hotel or accommodation as we've been before. The place is nice and beautiful. But I am very disappointing what happen to us last August 4, 2014. We were booked in one house 3 bedrooms self catering for the celebration of my daughter's 4th birthday. We check in before 2 p.m, Because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Erlinda Z, Thank you for taking time to write your review however on this occasion I am very concerned to read your review therefore I am responding in exactly the same way as I did to your friend 'Danilo Z' who posted a very similar review a few days ago. My colleagues that you were dealing with at our... More

laois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

17 of us stayed for a hen night. From our first encounter to our last goodbyes we got 5 star treatment. We went canadian canoeing. A fantastic activity and would highly recommend. The instructors were brilliant and the fun endless. Well worth the drenching we gave the hen! We all had dinner in the resort, two courses. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear 'Themadhens', Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort, we greatly value our guests feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all of your hens had a great time, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting your weekend! I will pass your comments onto our team and also pass them onto the Bealins... More

Kildare, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were there yesterday August 4, 2014 to celebrate my daughters 4th birthday. We checked in at 2 o'clock. We brought in some food for the visitors and cooked some in the house that we stayed in. When some of the visitors started to arrive at around 3 and started eating, one of my visitor noticed that the occupant of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Danilo Z, Thank you for taking time to write your review however on this occasion we are concerned to read your comments. My colleagues that you were dealing with at our reception desk were only trying to follow our companies policies and procedures in relation to Health & Safety and if you perceived us as being rude then I... More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Currently staying in house 64 (the house of grime). Tried to have a shower this morning and nearly flooded the bathroom, have since removed a large quantity of black, smelly hair and debris from the plug hole and returned it to reception. Dishwasher works when on switch is forced down with a key (as instructed by the maintenance guy) make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you very much for taking my call this evening and thank you again for being so understanding. We greatly appreciate our guests feedback which is this case was constructive criticism and we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and your family due to our short comings. As discussed we have learnt a very valuable... More

belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 days in July 2014 and took two houses for two families. There is a lot to commend this village. The location was fantastic and it appealed to all ages ..the children really enjoyed all of the activities and the adults could explore the beautiful countryside; it is also within easy reach of Russborough House which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location we just used it as a base to see Wicklow from. Houses were lovely very spacious and spotlessly clean, nice quiet complex. We did use the pool which was nice and cool given the outside temps this July. My only complaint was the ladies changing rooms were manky! I assume this was an oversight on the day as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen201405, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our resort, we greatly value our guests feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our houses and found them quiet, spacious and clean, I am sorry however that you found our ladies changing rooms in the pool area not up to standard. I have passed on... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Avon Ri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Avon Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Ri

Address: | Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avon Ri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ri Hotel Blessington

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avon Ri staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer