We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glencairn House

Ramelton Rd R245 | Letterkenny Co Donegal, Letterkenny, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Glencairn House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 24 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Theresa H Delanco, New Jersey
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Delanco, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment Maureen opened the door and until we left, our hostess was very warm and also very helpful, she recommend a excellent place for dinner . Our room was very clean and bed was comfortable! Breakfast was served in a lovely dinning room and was excellent tasting . When we were leaving Maureen recommended that we go see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had come down from Northern Ireland on a recommendation from the owner of Valley View Country House, and she didn't disappoint. It's a very nice, quiet, and clean place. The owner is very kind and pleasant. We had a triple room with a bathroom. The lounge and dining room are pretty and very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay hope holiday is good for you and enjoy your day in Dublin to day Thanking you Maureen & Joe More 

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Our host was the sweetest ever. We had a fantastic time just chatting with her. Her house was charming and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had a lovely time. She has great advice as to where to go and what to do in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review we really do appreciate you taking the time happy to hear you enjoyed your stay Wish you a happy christmas Thanking you Maureen More 

Anderson
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

From the minute you get to the front door, Maureen makes you feel like family. She gives you time to get settled, time to enjoy your tea and treats and then time to enjoy talking to her. The house is spottless and comfortable and all on one floor. We totally enjoyed our stay at this lovely home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for to post a review we really do appreciate them it was very nice to have you stay and hope we will see you another time Many thanks Maureen More 

Sindey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Just spent 2 weeks in Ireland on the NW coast. Irish B&B hospitality was good throughout, but this one wins the overall prize, whether you consider the host's friendliness, the food, the room size, the shower. At other places there were often minor things that were not as good as we'd have liked, here everything was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to our home and delighted to hear you were happy with your stay we enjoyed having you Thank you for taking the time to post a review Many Thanks Maureen More 

Ames, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Of all the B&B's we stayed in during our time in Ireland, this was undoubtedly the most beautifully decorated. The landscaping, too, is gorgeous. All rooms are on ground level, which we appreciate from a luggage-hauling perspective. It was a bit difficult to find without a house number to enter into the GPS. It is not in the heart of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for posting a lovely review We really do appreciate them It was a pleasure to have you stay Thanking you Maureen More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Arrived late and immediately welcomed by Maureen. Made to feel welcome and provided a comfortable room with a lovely shower and TV, just what we needed after a long drive. Good selection for breakfast and really well kept premises, would recommend it to any weary traveller

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review we really do appreciate it hope you have a long and happy life together enjoy honeymoon Best regards Maureen More 

Kongsberg, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We started our trip in Ireland with one night here. Maureen was welcoming, and served us tea as we arrived, she called the restaurant we wanted to go and made reservations for us, The rooms were big airy and clean, and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs we were served for breakfast were excellent! The house and surroundings were wonderful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post such a lovely review we really do appreciate it we hope to see you back again in Donegal Thanking you Maureen and Joe More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed 1 night, which started our holiday off brilliantly. Maureen was very helpful, we had a restaurant in mind where we wanted to eat and she helped us with directions and also rang ahead and booked a table for us. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and the breakfast the following morning was great and really set us up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review and for taking the time we really do appreciate your comments Hope we will see you back in Letterkenny another time Thank you kindly Maureen and Joe More 

Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had one overnight stay in this lovely B&B as part of a 10 day tour of Antrim and Donegal. Maureen made us so welcome in her beautiful home and made us tea and cake on arrival. Our room was furnished to a very high standard with an extremely comfortable bed, and breakfast was simply delicious.There was lots of information... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
81132, Owner at Glencairn House, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review we really do appreciate it Best wishes Maureen and Joe More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question